Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(282 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Simonjw on 2/20/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Simonjw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great face wash if you get oily during the day but also suffer from sensitive and or dry patches. It leaves no traces of makeup on your face and is also fragrance free so you can ensure that you will not suffer any irritation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 10/29/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For the past year, I've been using Paula's Earth Sourced Cleanser (a gentle gel cleanser). But I switched to the Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing cleanser because it had good reviews and I thought the sunflower oil in it would help melt away makeup better than the Earth Sourced cleanser.

Not only did this cleanser do a poorer job of removing makeup, but this was terribly DRYING on my skin. It left my face tight and uncomfortable-feeling -- like I haven't felt since using harsh acne cleansers as a teen 15 years ago! Within 2 weeks, I had dry patches on my chin and forehead.

Back to the Earth Sourced Cleanser -- but I wish Paula would develop a makeup-removing cleansing oil like DHC's but without the irritating rosemary leaf oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 10/27/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been a PC devotee for years. I'm very disappointed in the decline of quality in some of the skin care line's more basic and essential products.

I've used Skin Balancing Cleanser off and on since about the late 1990's. It's been reformulated and this newest product doesn't do what it needs to do, which is gently and effectively cleanse the face without stripping, drying, or irritating skin.

The texture is almost a lotion and does not lather. If I don't SCRUB it into my skin it does not remove makeup. It also does not rinse easily off the skin. I don't use heavy makeup -- usually wear tinted moisturizer, blush, powder, and maybe mascara -- can't imagine comfortably removing more heavy-duty makeup with this cleanser.

I have suffered irritation in my eyes from leftover product despite lengthy, thorough rinsing.

I would only recommend this cleanser to people willing to thoroughly massage cleanser hard into their faces and massage just as hard under the shower to remove it all. AND be prepared to use separate makeup remover.

Won't be buying this again and regret my confidence in this company. I purchased the large (16 oz) size. WIll stick with Olay Foaming Cleanser for Sensitive Skin. No dryness, no irritation, clean rinsing, and no makeup residue. Something Paula's Choice cleansers USED to do quite well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cankcank on 10/27/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by cankcank

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is gentle on my sensitive skin. I have acne, rosacea, oily t zone and prone to dry patches. The pores on my cheeks have actually gotten larger since using this regularly (usually twice a day), and my t zone more oily. My acne and rosacea are slightly improved, however.

I might buy it again, but I want to try some other products first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helowe on 10/8/2013 5:52:00 AM more reviews by helowe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I discovered Paula's Choice when I was 25 - if I could turn back time I wish I discovered it when I waaaay younger at 15! I am from a small country so Paula's Choice is really unheard of here, but the day I discovered this cleanser was the day my face THANKED ME!!! It must have said to me 'you have now released us from years of suffering!'

I have oily skin and have struggled for many, many years to find a suitable cleanser, toner and moisturiser. I now swear by this Skin Balancing Cleanser, its associated toner and I use the Hydralight moisturiser (not a fan of the gel).

This cleanser is absolutely PERFECT - I loooove using it!! Doing the whole face regime morning and night, EVERY DAY and EVERY NIGHT is so non-exciting but I actually look forward to cleaning my face - because this cleanser makes my face so CLEAN, and refreshed and rids of all the oil and yucky stuff that has accumulated during the day (or overnight during my sleep). The best thing is, I know it's good for me because my face doesn't feel tight at all. It feels soft, clean and refreshed - and it just feels so much more healthy.

I can't believe I wasted all those years believing the stupid Clinique 3-step progam was good for my skin. It is my No 1 regret in life!!!! What a complete waste and I regret it so much now because all these pores and blackheads and uneven skin tone has resulted on my poor face from using bad products that actually do more harm :(

Paula's Choice is THE BEST skin care range - especially if you have oily skin. I am so thankful I discovered it!! It is not tested on animals and there are no harmful ingredients at all.

Thanks Paula!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikki2212 on 9/22/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by nikki2212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I suffer from redness/ rosacea that would never seem to calm down, but when I use this cleanser my skin never looks or feels irritated afterwards, such a difference from the red mess i'm faced with after using a lesser cleanser. When ever i have to use an alcohol infused face wipe on the go, the instant blotchyness reminds me just how perfect Paula's irritant free products are! I also have acne and blackhead prone skin, so I love how this takes off my makeup thoroughly and leaves no oil behind on my very oily T zone, all while not drying out the rest of my very dry face. I wear a full face of makeup almost everyday yet only a little amount of cleanser is needed. My first bottle has lasted over a year (in the 473ml size) considering I used it every night and used it in the mornings 60 % of the time (would be lazy and use toner the other mornings). With my new bottle I expect it to last a year or slightly under, as I am now more scrupulous with my cleansing and will use it morning and night whether I wear makeup or not.

I do not recommend this cleanser to be applied to eye lids to remove mascara or liner embedded in the lashes as it can sting, HOWEVER to remove eye shadow you can swipe remaining cleanser from your face over your eyes lids without stinging, just depends on the amount of cleanser in this area.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 9/20/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 Chinese, acne prone & oily skin.

If I had written this review a month ago, I would of given a much higher rating...I would pre-cleanse w/ Fancl or Boscia then double cleanse in the shower and really thought this was the new HG. Then I go on vacation... it became my sole cleanser for morning and night on a trip to Peru for 2 wks; I got to really see how this cleanser performed. The first portion of my trip was in the Amazon, and after a few days, I stopped wearing any foundation or powder altogether and... so that meant there was a remaining good 10 days of using this cleanser on a no-makeup but sunscreened face.

And my skin more and more clogged up. So the love affair is over... now going back to more clear based cleansers such as LRP Efflacar or Avene (blue goo version) for makeup cleansing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 8/29/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a fantastic cleanser. I would imagine this working across all skin-types, because it cleans deeply without stripping the skin - leaving your face feeling really clean and refreshed while still retaining quite a bit of natural moisture. For reference, I have combination skin - oily throughout the t-zone with dry patches here and there that get exacerbated by my salicylic/benzoyl regimen (I am also acne prone).


The last cleanser I tried from Paula's Choice did not impress me (the Pore Normalizing Cleanser as part of the CLEAR System). I didn't feel that it cleaned deeply and it did almost nothing to remove makeup. This Skin Balancing Cleanser is a knockout makeup remover and leaves skin feeling impeccably clean and miraculously, still incredibly soft! How many times have all of us bought cleansers on a whim hoping it will do the above? Too many to count in my case! I took a chance on this cleanser after reading the positive reviews and am so glad I tried it. I've been using it for about two weeks now and while I haven't noticed any change in my oil production throughout the day (however I'm not THAT oily - only a bit in the t-zone after 5-6 hrs w/ MU on), I am very pleased with how the cleanser works with the BHA and Benzoyl Peroxide treatment in Paula's original CLEAR System (my HG acne products). I truly feel like this cleanser is getting my face cleaner than any other I've tried (without leaving me feeling overly dry!) and my BHAs/AHAs are working better. My skin couldn't be clearer, and my wallet happier (the economical size rocks!). Way to go Paula!! Don't stop making your wonderful products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 8/14/2013 5:01:00 PM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am new to Paula's Choice and am actually more and more convinced that her stuff is THE bomb. For the price you get an amazing amount of product first of all and the customer service is incredible. I wish all of the companies would learn from them!
This cleanser, along with Hydralight moisturizer with SPF and 2% BHA liquid, turned me into saving some money and ordering a whole regiment for my oily/combo skin. This cleanser is mostly for oily skin but I loved how it made my skin feel. I dissagree with whomever says that this stuff doesn't rinse clean because I had not issues with it what so ever. I DO however remove my makeup first with a wipe or a micerall water and then wash my face with this cleanser.
In any rate, this brand is definitely worth a try because it truly delivers results. Just make sure to speak with a representative first in order to choose an appropriate routine for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 geeemm on 8/11/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by geeemm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I trialled this cleanser for a week using samples from Paula's Choice, hoping to find a gentle cleanser that was capable of removing stubborn sunscreen without irritating or tightening my skin. Unfortunately it failed on the latter rather badly for me!

I can't deny that this cleanser was very good at cleaning the skin; far better than my current product from Boots. It has a silky texture that immediately made my face feel smooth, and it quickly removed any sunscreen that I'd been wearing during the day. However, that's where the praise ends I'm afraid. I found the stuff quite slimy, and it never felt like it had been completely removed upon rinsing. I found this a bit disconcerting, and after a few rinses accepted that it must all be off. Having used the cleanser, I then found my face feeling progressively tighter; one day I had to re-wash my face half way through the day as it was feeling so bad. Considering the product's packaging preaches that no cleanser should make the skin feel dry or tight, I was hugely disappointed to see exactly this happening. Furthermore, I found that this "Oil-Reducing Cleanser" managed to, guess what, increase the amount of oil I produced throughout the day. I end up shiny by the afternoon on the best of days, but with this it was simply ridiculous. And then to top it all off, I found myself getting a number of uncomfortable whiteheads after a couple of days, which went soon enough after discontinuing use.

So in summary, at the end of the week, my skin was oilier than before YET dehydrated and uncomfortably tight. While my skin started off looking smoother and radiant after the first few uses, it became enflamed and dotted with blemishes. For something that was aiming to ease my oily, sensitive skin, it managed to do exactly the opposite of almost everything it claimed to achieve! I gave this 2/5 because, to give it some credit, it did remove dirt and sunscreen as I hoped.

Very disappointed as this was my first trial using Paula's Choice, and it has lowered my perception of her products. I thought about trying the Hydralight cleanser instead because it's marketed towards more sensitive, rosacea-prone skin like mine; but to be honest the ingredients in the Skin Balancing cleanser seemed more agreeable. I may try a few samples if I end up ordering any of her other products, but after this I can't say I'm expecting much.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products