Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(289 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 7/11/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first Paula's choice products I ever used, and it really impressed me!

The feel of this face wash is amazing! I would definitely label it as a cream, and it does not foam, however it doesn't have that slick gross texture that other hydrating cleansers have (im looking at you Cerave hydrating). It has a pampering and luxurious feel and never left my face stripped!

I used this face wash for around 2 months and in that time span my skin became extremely regulated in its oil production!

Overall I would recommend this face wash, I've since moved on from it, however if someone held a gun to my head and told me this was the only face wash i could use from here on out I would not mind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 7/10/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this in the mail, but I already love it. I normally hate cream cleansers, but this feels really unique and good on my skin. It takes my makeup off with no problem and best of all, it has no scent. It doesn't dry my skin out, but makes it feel smooth and soft. Will be watching my skin, but I have great expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsSolangeKnowles on 6/8/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by MsSolangeKnowles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome cleanser, balances out my skin, doesn't leave it dry, and doesn't irritate it. Good price too. Will repurchase. It removes sunscreen well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ca_sent_beau on 6/3/2014 11:12:00 AM more reviews by ca_sent_beau

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very good cleanser. It cleanses very thoroughly, and while not moisturizing it does not leave skin overly dry and tight. But then this cleanser is intended for normal/combination to oily skin, and works very well for its intended skin type. Also note that it is very economical. A pea sized amount is all you need to get your face clean. It forms a cushiony lather and cleans makeup very well. A real pleasure to use EXCEPT it burns like hell if it accidentally gets into my eyes. And somehow it always happens when I get this cleanser anywhere near my eyes. A real bummer for me!
I use this cleanser in the mornings during the summer (sparing the eye area) and it leaves me with a clean canvas and definitely reduces shine during the day. My skin is normal which tends towards combination and shiny in hot and humid weather.
I would highly recommend this cleanser if you have normal to combination/oily skin, especially if your eyes are not very sensitive. I know many people can use this cleanser without the burning in their eyes. If it does not work for you Paula's Choice has great customer service and a great return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 GemmaBenge on 5/30/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by GemmaBenge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is pretty good! Seriously cheap compared to clinque or any other store products and just as good quality! Btw I have acne prone and sensitive fair skin.

This is such a great make up remover, gets all the face make up off in one go. Didn't cause any acne nor did it irritate my skin and cause weird little bumps or anything! Awesome at keeping skin looking smooth and clear.

Although, I do find it a little bit drying though, especially on my eye and in between eyebrow area or on occasional spots. So i wouldn't recommend using with anything else drying i.e BP or salylic acid.

So would recommend using a good moisturizer and possibly mixing it up with a less drying cleaner in the morning or once every couple of days.

EDIT: had to stop using as was sooo drying on my nose/eyebrow area/upper cheeks. Was great at removing make up though,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 quickbrownfox on 5/27/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by quickbrownfox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an alternative for Dermalogica's cleanser and this had good reviews so I looked it up online and I couldn't believe the price, after years of spending a little fortune on cleansers. I ended up buying the gigantic bottle and haven't regretted it.

This is such a non-fuss, decent cleaner that simply works, I love it. I really like the texture, it lathers very nicely. I have acne-prone skin, it controls the oil on my face quite good. It has no artificial coloring or smell whatsoever. It's white and scentless. It works very well for clearing up little red pimples over the night as well. I have to say that it works pretty good with Clarisonic Mia too, because I believe its texture is very suitable for evenly putting on the surface of your face. I wash my face with this with Clarisonic at nights and just with a little bit of this during mornings and my skin is oil free all day.

Also it has been 5 months since I bought this huge bottle and it is not even close to finishing. I'm starting to think it's a magical bottle that fills itself up when I'm not looking.

I would say this thing is not for you if you are looking for an adventurous cleanser that smells exotic, has shimmering particles in it and for something that makes you feel like you are using a luxury item. It's very plain. Almost boring after using for months because it has no color or smell or anything but it works decently and personally that is the only part that I care about.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 corneliamarini on 5/26/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by corneliamarini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Good cleanser for my oily face and also didn't cause breakout. No fragrance which is good for me, but i like hydralight texture more. Skin balancing has a bit milky texture than hydralight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Simonjw on 2/20/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Simonjw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great face wash if you get oily during the day but also suffer from sensitive and or dry patches. It leaves no traces of makeup on your face and is also fragrance free so you can ensure that you will not suffer any irritation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 10/29/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For the past year, I've been using Paula's Earth Sourced Cleanser (a gentle gel cleanser). But I switched to the Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing cleanser because it had good reviews and I thought the sunflower oil in it would help melt away makeup better than the Earth Sourced cleanser.

Not only did this cleanser do a poorer job of removing makeup, but this was terribly DRYING on my skin. It left my face tight and uncomfortable-feeling -- like I haven't felt since using harsh acne cleansers as a teen 15 years ago! Within 2 weeks, I had dry patches on my chin and forehead.

Back to the Earth Sourced Cleanser -- but I wish Paula would develop a makeup-removing cleansing oil like DHC's but without the irritating rosemary leaf oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 10/27/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been a PC devotee for years. I'm very disappointed in the decline of quality in some of the skin care line's more basic and essential products.

I've used Skin Balancing Cleanser off and on since about the late 1990's. It's been reformulated and this newest product doesn't do what it needs to do, which is gently and effectively cleanse the face without stripping, drying, or irritating skin.

The texture is almost a lotion and does not lather. If I don't SCRUB it into my skin it does not remove makeup. It also does not rinse easily off the skin. I don't use heavy makeup -- usually wear tinted moisturizer, blush, powder, and maybe mascara -- can't imagine comfortably removing more heavy-duty makeup with this cleanser.

I have suffered irritation in my eyes from leftover product despite lengthy, thorough rinsing.

I would only recommend this cleanser to people willing to thoroughly massage cleanser hard into their faces and massage just as hard under the shower to remove it all. AND be prepared to use separate makeup remover.

Won't be buying this again and regret my confidence in this company. I purchased the large (16 oz) size. WIll stick with Olay Foaming Cleanser for Sensitive Skin. No dryness, no irritation, clean rinsing, and no makeup residue. Something Paula's Choice cleansers USED to do quite well.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products