Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

4.1

302 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate (gentle cleansing agent), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Sodium Trideceth Sulfate (emulsifier), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer and Ph-adjusting agent), Potassium Sorbate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)


on 3/27/2015 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE PC products; her BHA exfoliants cleared up my skin like nothing else. This cleanser however is terrible, it does not fully wash off and only serves to dehydrate my skin and cause MAJOR clogged pores. The whiteheads and blackheads I experienced while using this cleanser are a throwback to my teenage years as my skin hadn't been this congested for over a decade.

So if you are aiming for dry dehydrated yet super congested skin, this is your guy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/18/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is hands down one of the best cleansers I have EVER used for oily skin. It removes my makeup well, doesn't strip away moisture, and leaves my skin hydrated and happy. There's is nothing else I'd recommend that's better than this product. Thank you, Paula! The only thing that bothered me is that the cap to my cleanser broke.. I wish they would provide the product with a pump instead.
What prevents me from reordering this is the fact that it ships to Canada from the U.S. and can cost you a really pretty penny - especially during times of inflation. If this was available up in Canada, I would be repurchasing in a heartbeat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2015 9:51:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I could just kick myself for buying this cleanser. I bought it because it was supposedly oil-reducing, and I have a very oily t-zone. It is far from it. It made me break out like a teenager with her period. Even my normally dry cheeks have been oily from this cleanser. And I know this is the culprit because it was the only change in my skincare routine. Then a little research showed it contains sunflower seed oil, which is a cheap oil used in fast foods, packaged and processed foods and as an emollient in skincare products. I'm not sure whether a cleanser can reduce oil with continued use, but one with oil in it certainly won't reduce oil, even after each use. No more Paula's Choice products for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 4:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I found this cleanser to be creamy, but drying. It also didn't remove all my makeup. I had to either wash with it again or use another cleanser afterwards. The worst part about it was the fact that it really irritated my eyes. It made them, as well as the area surrounding my eyes, incredibly red, itchy and irritated. As a result of it not removing makeup and dirt effectively and drying out my skin, it created clogged pores and irritation. Definitely not a gentle enough cleanser for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 10:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This product's cleansing power is great. It's very gentle, but it manages to clear my skin and pores very nicely. Rich lather, doesn't leave my skin feeling dry. My facial oil has been reduced by a slight amount, but the cleanser is so good that it's now my HG (over non-cruelty-free Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser).


on 11/29/2014 10:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I usually don't hate or love cleansers. As long as they are gentle, I am fine with it. You really can't go wrong with Paula's Choice. I have combination skin with an oily forehead and nose, my chin is prone to dryness, and my cheeks are normal/slightly dry. I bought this without trying the sample, so I was surprised to see that it was a thick cream. It smells "creamy" (reminds me of an old Noxzema cleanser in the tube with the orange cap!). My skin doesn't feel overly dry after cleansing. I will probably try something else after this runs out, but it is certainly not a bad product at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2014 12:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE
I'm actually impressed. I don't normally expect much from my cleanser - just get the dirt/oil/makeup off of my skin and don't leave me dry and tight or greasy. Other than that, I expect other products like serums to achieve major results with my skin. However, I had 3 samples as a GWP from the PC website, which was enough for about a week. This was a thick, creamy cleanser with a noticeable "non-smell" that reminded me of Murad's mattifier (kinda like Elmer's glue?). It can take a bit more effort to rinse clean than gel cleanser, but I found it to be worth it. I'm going through an enormous amount of stress in my life right now, and combined with TTOM, I ended up with my first breakout in months. I used this cleanser with my Clarisonic, and could see an obvious difference in the clarity and "glowiness" after a few days! My zits weren't entirely cleared up from this, but all of my other facial skin looked GOOD. Usually I'm quite satisfied with my Cetaphil, but I have plans to purchase the full size and start using this regularly. I'll update with results...

EDIT 1/12/2015: I bought the jumbo 16 oz. size of this cleanser a few months ago and have been using it every day and LOVING IT. It's gentle, my face feels soft and clean afterwards (not tight or greasy) and it feels luxurious. I wish this would come in a pump - right now it's in a squeeze bottle - but that's just a little thing. Love this!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 12:21:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First let me say, that I am complete cleanser...junkie...I have combo skin. with pores that clog easily.I have never, ever, ever, ever liked creamy cleaners..am a gel girl...I am also pushing 80 yrs. but have been fortunate to have pretty decent looking skin...people have said I have beautiful skin...now, honestly think their eye sight is dimming..they obviously don't know anything about pores..and yes, I obsess over them, using a magnifying mirror..I know, I know..NEVER look in one..but, I digress.
I got a sample of it..expecting not to like it at all..and viola...lo and behold..this stuff is amazing. I have used it for a month so that I could give it a good test..since, I tend to think stuff is wonderful and then it's not.I makes my skin look, even, and more toned..and best of all, it practically makes my pores disappear. I do take my makeup off with Dickenson/s Witch Hazel..have for years..Hey, if it was Elizabeth Taylor's go to make up remover it's good enough for me!!! then I wash with the cleanser...you only need a teensy bit..I wet my face first..then put it on and "clean" with my Salux exfoliating nylon cloth..rinse off with lukewarm water then cool..I find my skin does not do as well with hot water. It feels luxurious, ..no tight feeling...but toned feeling..if that makes any sense at all.....
I have only one teensy complaint. the delivery system sucks!!!I have given up trying to use the cap.it.clogs, won't come out..etc. I end up, taking it off and turning it upside down to squeeze it out. am dreading getting down to the end..where it is going to be a pain to get out...
but for this amazing stuff..I shall....suffer....

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2014 2:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So many cleansers have irritated my sensitive skin, causing breakouts and/or redness. many even burn when I use them. This cleanser is gentle, doesn't burn, and the texture and tone of my skin improved after I began using it.

The cons:
leaves a filmy residue on skin
often felt that all makeup was not removed and had to use it twice.
Does not remove eye make up


on 9/22/2014 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am loving how gentle this cleanser is while being strong enough to clean and rinse off most of my makeup, with the bonus of not irritating my sensitive acne-prone skin at all. Not only that, it leaves me feeling clean without that "tight" snug feeling you're NOT supposed to be feeling. Also, my face feels really soft without being dried out.

I'm not sure how much oil control this product has, since I do use other products that target my oily t-zone and can't separte which is the one keeping me oil-free.

I do plan on repurchasing when I run out, but I am almost tempted to try out the other cleansers from Paula's Choice since I'm really liking the brand.

Tl;dr edition:

-Pro: Gentle, non-irritating, cleans without drying.

-Con: Doesn't completely remove all makeup, price is a tiny bit high and it's too bad this product cannot be purchased from a local beauty store like Ulta.


Back to Top