Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(296 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 10/25/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD THE SAMPLE
I'm actually impressed. I don't normally expect much from my cleanser - just get the dirt/oil/makeup off of my skin and don't leave me dry and tight or greasy. Other than that, I expect other products like serums to achieve major results with my skin. However, I had 3 samples as a GWP from the PC website, which was enough for about a week. This was a thick, creamy cleanser with a noticeable "non-smell" that reminded me of Murad's mattifier (kinda like Elmer's glue?). It can take a bit more effort to rinse clean than gel cleanser, but I found it to be worth it. I'm going through an enormous amount of stress in my life right now, and combined with TTOM, I ended up with my first breakout in months. I used this cleanser with my Clarisonic, and could see an obvious difference in the clarity and "glowiness" after a few days! My zits weren't entirely cleared up from this, but all of my other facial skin looked GOOD. Usually I'm quite satisfied with my Cetaphil, but I have plans to purchase the full size and start using this regularly. I'll update with results...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XangoAnnie on 10/21/2014 12:21:00 AM more reviews by XangoAnnie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

First let me say, that I am complete cleanser...junkie...I have combo skin. with pores that clog easily.I have never, ever, ever, ever liked creamy cleaners..am a gel girl...I am also pushing 80 yrs. but have been fortunate to have pretty decent looking skin...people have said I have beautiful skin...now, honestly think their eye sight is dimming..they obviously don't know anything about pores..and yes, I obsess over them, using a magnifying mirror..I know, I know..NEVER look in one..but, I digress.
I got a sample of it..expecting not to like it at all..and viola...lo and behold..this stuff is amazing. I have used it for a month so that I could give it a good test..since, I tend to think stuff is wonderful and then it's not.I makes my skin look, even, and more toned..and best of all, it practically makes my pores disappear. I do take my makeup off with Dickenson/s Witch Hazel..have for years..Hey, if it was Elizabeth Taylor's go to make up remover it's good enough for me!!! then I wash with the cleanser...you only need a teensy bit..I wet my face first..then put it on and "clean" with my Salux exfoliating nylon cloth..rinse off with lukewarm water then cool..I find my skin does not do as well with hot water. It feels luxurious, ..no tight feeling...but toned feeling..if that makes any sense at all.....
I have only one teensy complaint. the delivery system sucks!!!I have given up trying to use the cap.it.clogs, won't come out..etc. I end up, taking it off and turning it upside down to squeeze it out. am dreading getting down to the end..where it is going to be a pain to get out...
but for this amazing stuff..I shall....suffer....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Spiralunix on 9/23/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by Spiralunix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So many cleansers have irritated my sensitive skin, causing breakouts and/or redness. many even burn when I use them. This cleanser is gentle, doesn't burn, and the texture and tone of my skin improved after I began using it.

The cons:
leaves a filmy residue on skin
often felt that all makeup was not removed and had to use it twice.
Does not remove eye make up

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shylilsweety on 9/22/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by Shylilsweety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am loving how gentle this cleanser is while being strong enough to clean and rinse off most of my makeup, with the bonus of not irritating my sensitive acne-prone skin at all. Not only that, it leaves me feeling clean without that "tight" snug feeling you're NOT supposed to be feeling. Also, my face feels really soft without being dried out.

I'm not sure how much oil control this product has, since I do use other products that target my oily t-zone and can't separte which is the one keeping me oil-free.

I do plan on repurchasing when I run out, but I am almost tempted to try out the other cleansers from Paula's Choice since I'm really liking the brand.

Tl;dr edition:

-Pro: Gentle, non-irritating, cleans without drying.

-Con: Doesn't completely remove all makeup, price is a tiny bit high and it's too bad this product cannot be purchased from a local beauty store like Ulta.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 silviasandy on 9/18/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by silviasandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A great cleanser, removes all oil in my face without making it too dry. The biggest size last me for more than a year, so it's quite economist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 8/6/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A great cleanser. I purchased in combination with the skin balancing toner, 2% exfoliant and retinal moisturizer. This is by far the best line I have ever used - in fact the only line where I didn't break out after switching. I have been using this for well over a month and had no issues, my skin is clear and feels smoother and healthier. Expensive - but worth it as long as it works. I will be sure to look out for a sale next time I need refills.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jhenley on 8/6/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have the huge bottle of this. I used the Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser. It was nice, that one is more of a gel cleanser, this one has a thicker creamy consistency. I like it better! Paula's products are great value too, this was $24 (for the large bottle) and it's far better than the pricey department store cleansers I've used from other lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Eire1 on 7/27/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD A COUPLE OF SAMPLES AND MY BROTHER TRIED IT.
The labeling for which skin type should use is confusing. It may be too emollient for acnegenic skin but appropriate for combination skin ( even though you can't spot treat skin with a combination skin cleanser and ' Paula' knows this.) This did minimize the appearance of pores but the look was odd. If you are a male and have any facial hair this can be difficult to wash off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 7/11/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first Paula's choice products I ever used, and it really impressed me!

The feel of this face wash is amazing! I would definitely label it as a cream, and it does not foam, however it doesn't have that slick gross texture that other hydrating cleansers have (im looking at you Cerave hydrating). It has a pampering and luxurious feel and never left my face stripped!

I used this face wash for around 2 months and in that time span my skin became extremely regulated in its oil production!

Overall I would recommend this face wash, I've since moved on from it, however if someone held a gun to my head and told me this was the only face wash i could use from here on out I would not mind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 7/10/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this in the mail, but I already love it. I normally hate cream cleansers, but this feels really unique and good on my skin. It takes my makeup off with no problem and best of all, it has no scent. It doesn't dry my skin out, but makes it feel smooth and soft. Will be watching my skin, but I have great expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products