Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(292 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 8/6/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A great cleanser. I purchased in combination with the skin balancing toner, 2% exfoliant and retinal moisturizer. This is by far the best line I have ever used - in fact the only line where I didn't break out after switching. I have been using this for well over a month and had no issues, my skin is clear and feels smoother and healthier. Expensive - but worth it as long as it works. I will be sure to look out for a sale next time I need refills.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jhenley on 8/6/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have the huge bottle of this. I used the Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser. It was nice, that one is more of a gel cleanser, this one has a thicker creamy consistency. I like it better! Paula's products are great value too, this was $24 (for the large bottle) and it's far better than the pricey department store cleansers I've used from other lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD A COUPLE OF SAMPLES AND MY BROTHER TRIED IT.
The labeling for which skin type should use is confusing. It may be too emollient for acnegenic skin but appropriate for combination skin ( even though you can't spot treat skin with a combination skin cleanser and ' Paula' knows this.) This did minimize the appearance of pores but the look was odd. If you are a male and have any facial hair this can be difficult to wash off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 7/11/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first Paula's choice products I ever used, and it really impressed me!

The feel of this face wash is amazing! I would definitely label it as a cream, and it does not foam, however it doesn't have that slick gross texture that other hydrating cleansers have (im looking at you Cerave hydrating). It has a pampering and luxurious feel and never left my face stripped!

I used this face wash for around 2 months and in that time span my skin became extremely regulated in its oil production!

Overall I would recommend this face wash, I've since moved on from it, however if someone held a gun to my head and told me this was the only face wash i could use from here on out I would not mind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 7/10/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just got this in the mail, but I already love it. I normally hate cream cleansers, but this feels really unique and good on my skin. It takes my makeup off with no problem and best of all, it has no scent. It doesn't dry my skin out, but makes it feel smooth and soft. Will be watching my skin, but I have great expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsSolangeKnowles on 6/8/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by MsSolangeKnowles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome cleanser, balances out my skin, doesn't leave it dry, and doesn't irritate it. Good price too. Will repurchase. It removes sunscreen well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ca_sent_beau on 6/3/2014 11:12:00 AM more reviews by ca_sent_beau

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very good cleanser. It cleanses very thoroughly, and while not moisturizing it does not leave skin overly dry and tight. But then this cleanser is intended for normal/combination to oily skin, and works very well for its intended skin type. Also note that it is very economical. A pea sized amount is all you need to get your face clean. It forms a cushiony lather and cleans makeup very well. A real pleasure to use EXCEPT it burns like hell if it accidentally gets into my eyes. And somehow it always happens when I get this cleanser anywhere near my eyes. A real bummer for me!
I use this cleanser in the mornings during the summer (sparing the eye area) and it leaves me with a clean canvas and definitely reduces shine during the day. My skin is normal which tends towards combination and shiny in hot and humid weather.
I would highly recommend this cleanser if you have normal to combination/oily skin, especially if your eyes are not very sensitive. I know many people can use this cleanser without the burning in their eyes. If it does not work for you Paula's Choice has great customer service and a great return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 GemmaBenge on 5/30/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by GemmaBenge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Didnt like this, was way too harsh on my nose/eye area. It literally hurt so much when using it! Was far too drying and made my skin flaky. Wouldnt recommend for sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 quickbrownfox on 5/27/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by quickbrownfox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an alternative for Dermalogica's cleanser and this had good reviews so I looked it up online and I couldn't believe the price, after years of spending a little fortune on cleansers. I ended up buying the gigantic bottle and haven't regretted it.

This is such a non-fuss, decent cleaner that simply works, I love it. I really like the texture, it lathers very nicely. I have acne-prone skin, it controls the oil on my face quite good. It has no artificial coloring or smell whatsoever. It's white and scentless. It works very well for clearing up little red pimples over the night as well. I have to say that it works pretty good with Clarisonic Mia too, because I believe its texture is very suitable for evenly putting on the surface of your face. I wash my face with this with Clarisonic at nights and just with a little bit of this during mornings and my skin is oil free all day.

Also it has been 5 months since I bought this huge bottle and it is not even close to finishing. I'm starting to think it's a magical bottle that fills itself up when I'm not looking.

I would say this thing is not for you if you are looking for an adventurous cleanser that smells exotic, has shimmering particles in it and for something that makes you feel like you are using a luxury item. It's very plain. Almost boring after using for months because it has no color or smell or anything but it works decently and personally that is the only part that I care about.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 corneliamarini on 5/26/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by corneliamarini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Good cleanser for my oily face and also didn't cause breakout. No fragrance which is good for me, but i like hydralight texture more. Skin balancing has a bit milky texture than hydralight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products