Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

4.1

305 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate (gentle cleansing agent), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Sodium Trideceth Sulfate (emulsifier), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer and Ph-adjusting agent), Potassium Sorbate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)


on 7/4/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an ok cleanser, but not worth the price to me. I actually noticed when I changed to CeraVe foaming facial cleanser that the paulas choice one wasn't cleaning too well for I had less clogged pores. CeraVe is only 13 dollars for 12 oz, so that's a plus. The products that I do swear by from paulas choice are the bha and aha exfoliants and the pore reducing toner, those I love :)

if you want 10$ off a purchase from paulas choice click this link if you want: https://goo.gl/2s7eM6



on 7/3/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used this cleanser as part of a focus group, comparing products on the market to a new brand that is soon launching (no idea who the new brand is as all packaging was top secret!! Very exciting!!)

Anyway, not only is this cleanser your run of the mill standard type, it uses two highly sensitising preservatives.

Hence my skin blew up something rotten. Lots of small dry patches and deep red painful spots on my nose and around the nasal area.

I did a little more research into this brand and it appears that she started off critiquing other brands on a site called Cosmetic Cop, now Beautypedia, before launching her own brand.

Both are disappointing. First, with today's cosmetic innovations, to simply use the same old formulas, emulsifiers and preservatives, especially when more and more evidence is being produced that shows how sensitising they are, is nothing short of lazy. This is clearly about selling a brand name than about learning from all her research to produce innovative new products.

And secondly, how can she be trusted? Her Beautypedia reviews are damning to all the other brands and full of inaccuracies. On one product for example, she claimed they used more than the legal limit of fragrance. I contacted the brand and they confirmed this was untrue with EU approved certificates etc. And we know how strict the EU is.

And what is even more upsetting is to find out that the same people she uses to critique other brands, are the ones that review hers on sites such as this with glowing colours!! Who can you trust??!!

So, the product itself is simply too harsh to use and the brand ethics leave much to be desired. Avoiding both from now on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2015 3:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleanser. It gets my skin very clean, but gently and my skin never feels stripped or tight. I use this with my Clairsonic at night and by itself in the morning. It's affordable when you purchase the large bottle and a little bit goes a long way so one bottle lasts for forever. I have nothing bad to say about this stuff. I tried Paula's Hydralight cleanser, but immediately came back to this one. Will continue to purchase again and again.


on 6/15/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a nice gentle cleanser. Unfortuately I have a fatty alcohol sensitivity(clogs my pores) so I will not be repurchasing .


If you are interested in trying Paula's Choice, here is a referral code for 10 dollars off your first purchase!

http://goo.gl/8arjPl


on 3/27/2015 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE PC products; her BHA exfoliants cleared up my skin like nothing else. This cleanser however is terrible, it does not fully wash off and only serves to dehydrate my skin and cause MAJOR clogged pores. The whiteheads and blackheads I experienced while using this cleanser are a throwback to my teenage years as my skin hadn't been this congested for over a decade.

So if you are aiming for dry dehydrated yet super congested skin, this is your guy.


on 3/18/2015 7:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is hands down one of the best cleansers I have EVER used for oily skin. It removes my makeup well, doesn't strip away moisture, and leaves my skin hydrated and happy. There's is nothing else I'd recommend that's better than this product. Thank you, Paula! The only thing that bothered me is that the cap to my cleanser broke.. I wish they would provide the product with a pump instead.
What prevents me from reordering this is the fact that it ships to Canada from the U.S. and can cost you a really pretty penny - especially during times of inflation. If this was available up in Canada, I would be repurchasing in a heartbeat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2015 9:51:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I could just kick myself for buying this cleanser. I bought it because it was supposedly oil-reducing, and I have a very oily t-zone. It is far from it. It made me break out like a teenager with her period. Even my normally dry cheeks have been oily from this cleanser. And I know this is the culprit because it was the only change in my skincare routine. Then a little research showed it contains sunflower seed oil, which is a cheap oil used in fast foods, packaged and processed foods and as an emollient in skincare products. I'm not sure whether a cleanser can reduce oil with continued use, but one with oil in it certainly won't reduce oil, even after each use. No more Paula's Choice products for me.


on 2/19/2015 4:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I found this cleanser to be creamy, but drying. It also didn't remove all my makeup. I had to either wash with it again or use another cleanser afterwards. The worst part about it was the fact that it really irritated my eyes. It made them, as well as the area surrounding my eyes, incredibly red, itchy and irritated. As a result of it not removing makeup and dirt effectively and drying out my skin, it created clogged pores and irritation. Definitely not a gentle enough cleanser for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 10:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

pros:
- great cleansing power
- very gentle
- clears skin very nicely
- rich lather, but never leaves my combination skin feeling tight or oily
- reduces facial oil by a decent amount

cons: NONE
- ok slightly pricey

This cleanser is so good that it's now my HG (over non-cruelty-free Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2014 10:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I usually don't hate or love cleansers. As long as they are gentle, I am fine with it. You really can't go wrong with Paula's Choice. I have combination skin with an oily forehead and nose, my chin is prone to dryness, and my cheeks are normal/slightly dry. I bought this without trying the sample, so I was surprised to see that it was a thick cream. It smells "creamy" (reminds me of an old Noxzema cleanser in the tube with the orange cap!). My skin doesn't feel overly dry after cleansing. I will probably try something else after this runs out, but it is certainly not a bad product at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top