Mario Badescu • silver powder • Masks

rated 3.8(168 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 laurentaylor88 on 4/3/2014 3:17:00 PM more reviews by laurentaylor88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in desperation, as I was going through a time where my blackhead problem was at its worst. I used it a couple times, and I don't recall seeing any positive result. I gave it a 3 because it didn't necessarily do damage, it just didn't seem to improve anything. It was messy to deam with, it is what is says it is; a powder. It flaked off my face everywhere. It's totally possible that I didn't give it enough of a chance, so I wouldn't say it's not worth trying. But it didn't impress me any.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kyin on 2/5/2014 4:57:00 AM more reviews by kyin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This powder really does HELP remove your blackheads. But I can't solely rely on this to remove blackheads. After I put it on my nose, I don't notice a big difference. But I used Biore's pore strips afterwards, and wow I have NEVER seen so many blackheads come out all at once! Pore strips have always failed on me, but after reading reviews on here I decided to try it out, and believe me, MB's silver powder ~helps~ the blackheads come out! It also makes my nose really soft to touch :3

I would only recommend you buy this if pore strips don't work for you. This silver powder and pore strips work very well together!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/10/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is chalk (calcium carbonate) with titanium dioxide & zinc oxide. My sister bought this and after a few weeks her blackheads got a lot worse and she had clogged pores. She asked me if I wanted to try it out and thought maybe it just didn't agree with her skin.

I tried this a few times. Each time I used it, I would wake up the next day with small whiteheads. Nothing major or crazy - just annoying and then I would have to deal with trying to cover it up. I finally looked up the ingredients (my sister had this on her sink and the water had made the label illegible). Why in the world chalk would help remove blackheads is beyond me. . this has no research or reason to back it up. I can't recommend this when there are so many better proven and safe options out there. Plus the titanium dioxide is known to cause breakouts which likely explains the breakouts I had.

I just don't know with this brand anymore and all the issues they have been having with not following FDA labeling guidelines, adding ingredients (one of their creams contained corticosteroids and was not written on the ingredients list, product or box- I know other people have mentioned this too). I don't like putting something on my skin and not even being able to tell what is in the product. And if they can't even follow FDA guidelines what makes anyone believe they care about the health of a customer's skin?

This went sailing into the garbage can before it could cause anymore damage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missyjac on 8/31/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by missyjac

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Not cheap, but this powder lasts and goes a long way. After reading so many reviews and a gf telling me that it helped shrink her pores, eliminate blackheads, i decided to give it a try. Im not entirely pleased with the results, but I do notice the blackheads are gone, but would come back again a few days later. Maybe the powder lightened the blackheads? As for the pores I think I see a little improvement. Will continue using, hopefully to see more results!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Belapants13 on 8/23/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Belapants13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Can't live without this stuff. It's only 12$ and one jar lasts a long time. I've dealt with acne, blackheads, cysts, scarring, you name it, since I was 13. I'm now 30! When I get a breakout or feel one coming on this is my go to product. Only suggestion I have is to not quite follow the directions on the jar. You will notice a flaky powdery mess! I noticed that if I put less than a teaspoon of the powder in a small dish, and add a drop of water with a facial brush or cotton pad, and rub the paste onto my face, I get a perfect result. To remove I use a cotton pad soaked with toner, then rinse with water! Love this stuff!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mommydena on 8/23/2013 2:28:00 AM more reviews by mommydena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been dealing with acne for about 15 years now. Now that I'm older it's just hormonal acne, but there's still never a day that I don't have at least 5 active breakouts. This powder seems to help! I get my acne mainly on my cheeks and chin and this powder helps to absorb the oil that helps cause my acne. I don't really bother using it on my nose because I've used everything under the sun for it and nothing helps with the pesky blackheads. However, it does help prevent me from getting too oily during the day. I love dewy, but dewy and shiny are two totally different looks. Getting it on my face is a little irritating, but if you just experiment with it, you'll find a good balance of moisture on the cotton ball to how much powder ratio. It does flake off a lot when it starts to dry, but it's a very fine powder and I know that going into it, so I don't really let it get to me. Now I'm rambling and I feel like I've made no sense, but hopefully this helped a little :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bellajean2007 on 7/29/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by Bellajean2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hi girls

I had to review this product because I actually use it in a completely different way than advised on the package. Let me start by saying that I love Mario Badescu products. Their masks and anti acne product range are what I use for breakouts (only usually hormonal or stress related). They have never ever let me down.
Coming back to the silver powder, I had the most horrible stress related breakout last night, it put me in the saddest mood and I needed it fixed NOW! So instead of using the buffering lotion and waiting three days for everything to calm down, I used the silver powder instead. I mixed 1/4 tsp silver powder + ~ 1tsp water + 4 drops tea tree oil. I Left it on for 15 minutes and washed it all off with acne org face wash. Well this morning there is NO SIGN of breakout!!!!!! The mask calmed inflammation down and left no marks. It also exfoliated the skin nicely and left it baby smooth.

Anyway, I thought I would share. This may help someone and that would be great. Only negative is that it's really flaky but that's a minor issue really.... HG status here girls!!!!

IMPORTANT NOTE: please do not use this mask on sensitive skin or on skin that has had a chemical peel (even a mild one) within the last four days. It will cause a chemical burn-especially because of the tea tree oil.

Take care :-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shaughnessybby on 7/17/2013 1:41:00 AM more reviews by Shaughnessybby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have the most stubborn blackheads around my nose and I was so excited when I got this. However I don't see too much of a difference in the amount of blackheads after using this product. I was a little disappointed. I won't be repurchasing but I will continue using it because it does make your skin soft. So that's my only plus with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xkianax on 6/18/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by xkianax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have a lot of black heads so I was excited to use this! Especially after all the good reviews I read on MP.
I bought it at nordstrom and the lady behind the counter raved about it, saying how great it was blah blah.
I use a wet cotton pad and it's messy, but if it works for you then it's worth it.
I have not seen any significant changes in my black heads and overall skin at all. I've been using it for about 2 months now. Though I will continue to use it for the sake of using it. I hope I see some difference after continuous use because I'm very frustrated with my stubborn blackheads!
As for removing it, I don't see what everyones complaining about. I use a toner on a cotton ball and it comes right off. I give it a 2 because it atleast makes my skin smooth.

EDIT: I've stopped using this for a very long time now, but just wanted to mention how this never removed my blackheads or anything special. I have to admit my blackheads are kind of deep but I was still disappointed. I know you want to believe this, but let's be real. Powder isn't going to pull it out. It does clean the skins top layer though, and is drying, making it good for acne. If you want your blackheads gone, get an extraction facial!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovelyKk on 4/14/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by lovelyKk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product was a tough one for me. You dip a damp cotton ball into the powder and rub it on your face... But if your cotton ball is too wet it turns into a mess on your face and does not do anything, if your cotton ball is not wet enough you end up spilling all of the powder onto the counter. Then as you are sitting waiting for it to dry the powder will begin falling off of your face and all over your shirt, couch, dog... Whatever is around you. I still gave it the old college effort and tried this product a few times before nixing it. It just didn't seem to do anything positive for my skin. I can think of a few other masks that way outshine this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Masks products