Clinique • Super City Block SPF 25 • Sunscreen

rated 3.6(246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sugapie1 on 11/25/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by sugapie1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Was given as a present.

I have combination skin, the usual T zone, then cheeks, eyes are dull, dewy, lifeless ha, I also have very sensitive skin & eyes.

This can be used as a tinted foundation as it has a colour to it. Its a smooth texture, claims it's not greasy and a little goes a long way.

I have combination skin and sensitive skin & eyes. This product irritates my eyes even though I do not put it under my eye. My eyes run, go puffy and blotchy and eventually I get that awful red eye liner look. Also I am not sure if it blocks pores or not but after a while I break out in tiny spots which itch. My skin also looks shiny after a few hours and makes my foundation look awful then, even on my cheeks which are dewy, dull and not oily I get the odd spot there, which I never normally do. This product isn't for me at all. I need more of a matt sunscreen so will keep searching for it.

The positive side, my foundation went on so smoothly on top of this, it just glided on. So for others you would find this a positive. Just a shame my skin had a reaction.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 11/7/2014 11:44:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My most worn, most needed, most functional product. Love this...everything from the tint to the powder finish. It's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kermyth on 11/3/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by kermyth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought the US version. The coverage is great, but I'm into BB creams lately so this sunscreen seems can't beat BB and CC creams streams lately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeaP on 10/26/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by BeaP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I use the European version, which has only one active ingredient: titanium dioxide (no zinc oxide), otherwise I think it's basically the same. It's slightly tinted, but it has very sheer coverage. It's not visible at all, but it helps to avoid the white cast these types of products usually have. It's best for normal skin, but if your skin is drier you can use a moisturizer under it. I haven't experienced any irritation, and I'm satisfied with the protection this product gives.
Why not 5 lippies? I find titanium dioxide in any product uncomfortable to wear. During the day it sucks the moisture out of my skin and especially if the sun is very strong it stings. My skin reacts much better to chemical sunscreens, and Estee Lauders's DayWear SPF 50 is my HG. So, it's a great titanium dioxide product, if that's what you're looking for, but if your skin prefers other sunscreen ingredients, you can easily find something you'll like better somewhere else.
Note: Although this product is called 'oil-free', sometimes I find something that looks like oil separated when I push it out of the tube. I guess it's normal, and the tinted cream follows soon and blends well with the oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katiep729 on 9/2/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by katiep729

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For the life of me, I cannot figure out if this clogs my pores or not! I love it because I can throw it on in the morning before work with a little powder and I am done, with decent coverage & a natural look. I absolutely have to have a good SPF because of topicals. I used it forever and seemed to have no problems. Then I switced to something else just to try. Rebought this and started using it again, was fine for a while. Then after a few days, I noticed tons of little cysts under my skin & every pore on my face, especially my nose, was so clogged, if I smushed my nose, gunk would literally just ooze out! I do a face check every time I put this on now. Somedays nothing, sometimes blackheads everywhere! I just don't get it. Maybe they changed the formulation? Im going to stick with EL Day Wear BB. Never ever any issues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 canarydiamond14 on 8/11/2014 2:43:00 PM more reviews by canarydiamond14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this for years. It's great for a base under makeup, and I feel good knowing that it's protecting my skin from the sun. I apply City Block and then Clinique CC cream afterwards - that's my daily routine.

It absorbs quickly, does not deposit any color, but makes your skin look more even. It keeps my dry skin happy even in the winter.

A must-have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babycat1973 on 6/23/2014 7:58:00 AM more reviews by babycat1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is quite a thick consistency and gave me terrible blackheads. I stopped using it after a couple of weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 6/21/2014 9:06:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


I can't say I hate it but I don't really like it either.

It didn't give me pimples or cysts but it made my pores stand out and actually some grains of sebum were rolling out from the first time I put this SS on my skin! So that is gross honestly.
It is drying even for my oily nose BUT it makes it oily...uhh?
And it gives a sheen but it is not a big problem.
It is hard to spread even on moisturised skin and I need to use a lot and for the price is not worth it.
It made my skin looks nice with a tiny bit of coverage but it clinged on some dry spots even if I moisturised my skin before hand.

Not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laylaperdomo on 5/29/2014 7:55:00 AM more reviews by laylaperdomo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this product for nearly 2 weeks. So far I have determined this is best for my under eyes only because it is the most sensitive part or my dry-sensistive skin. on the rest of my face I use the other Clinique SPF moisturizer that comes int the yellow tube (love that one too) . This SPF in particular has a white cast that does not fade on my brown skin, so I make that white-ness work to my advantage and only place this under the eyes and center of my face. This is a very gentle SPF and has a matte finish. I will continue using and update this review if anything changes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 propagandaangie on 5/18/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by propagandaangie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for about 7 years and as a person who has hyperpigmentation (aka melasma) this product has been a godsend. As most people with melasma know, a physical sun blocker is the only thing that keeps it at bay, making most facial sunscreens useless. Cityblock goes on evenly, has just a bit of pigment to even out tone and make up for the ashiness that is caused by physical blockers, and has moisturizing properties. I feel like this is the proto-bb cream.
I have combination/oily skin and any time I have sampled other products (I have been aghast at the cakiness or how the product ended up sitting in my fine lines within 6 hours. Cityblock stays put and gives me a genuine no-makeup look and feel.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Sunscreen products