Alexis Vogel • The Alexis Vogel System • Tools

rated 2.9(66 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kimichanga on 9/11/2014 12:26:00 PM more reviews by kimichanga

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Just like other reviewers, I purchased this back in 09 and it's like playing with kids makeup. It felt very weird and different but it does look good when on, sort of like stage makeup. It feels too thick and looks it in person but in pictures it looks amazing. There are hit or miss products but I returned the whole thing because it just wasn't worth the price...you're better off purchasing MUFE. I did like the look but couldn't stand the smell of the makeup and how it felt...I guess to each their own.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alouise1 on 6/11/2014 10:10:00 PM more reviews by alouise1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After seeing the initial infomercial for the AVC makeup line a few years back, I decided to go out on a limb and purchase the whole collection off the new website. It took about 3 weeks for it to come, and when I finally got it, I was a bit disappointed. After spending roughly $400 for the set, the products are not all that impressive. The makeup is good quality, and the eye shadow colors I got are nice and well pigmented shades of maroon and purple. Things I'm not crazy about? The foundation is cakey and if you are between shades like I am, (I'm an NC42 at Mac), it's just not ideal. I'm not crazy about the blush for the cheeks, but it's a nice color for eyes. The brow products are ok at best, but I happen to love the brow stencils since I always have trouble getting them to look perfect. The lip products are great and are my usual go-to.

Overall, I'm pretty content with everything, but I don't think the whole set was worth $400. You are paying for the name at the end of it, I just don't think it's worth it. There are some products that I would consider buying again, like the lip stuff. I think it's great, but don't waste your money. If you are still curious to try some of her stuff, I'd say maybe try the lip products and the sparkle dust, but that's it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 14waiting on 11/29/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by 14waiting

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally got my hands on the Alexis Vogel system kit. Purchased the instructional dvd first on ebay since it's been many years from the infomercial, I got so excited by it that I started to do some of the looks shown by the models with makeup brands that I have at home and followed the instructions on how to make lipstick last longer and it surely does. Could not stop there and did my enquiry on obtaining the makeup products and found makeup connection, at first bought 2 lipsticks and I believe a gloss, love the quality of the lipsticks and the gloss makes my lips look absolutely sparkly and shiny, love it! went back on line and purchased some more products including the foundation which goes on real creamy and does offer coverage along with the pressed powder, some shadows with sparkle dust, the shammy that catches on to any eyeshadow fall out, lip liners and 2 Lustre lipglosses with 3D effect, love them! I was also lucky enough to find on ebay some of the products with the original packaging, as for the overall quality of the lipsticks, glosses and shadows could not tell you off hand if the formulation is the same as when the makeup first came out, however some of the finish on lipsticks and glosses vary, now.....would I continue purchasing this brand of makeup.....most definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Paolarosa on 10/9/2007 4:09:00 PM more reviews by Paolarosa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Regarding AnnRs excellent review below, I agree 100%! I was also fortunate enough to obtain some of the original Alexis Vogel Cosmetics back in 2004 and the quality was indeed excellent (except for the brushes, as AnnR also mentioned, but you can always get better brushes elsewhere). In March 2005 Alexis Vogel was no longer associated with the people who were running AVC because she did not like the direction the company was heading (one reason was that they apparently wanted to use cheaper ingredients). After Ms. Vogel left the company, the quality of the makeup was not as good as it was previously. There are numerous posts here of what happened to the company after the name was changed to Makeup Connection. In early 2006, Ms. Vogel created a new line called AlexisStyle. Again, the quality of the makeup was excellent, but the line was unfortunately discontinued less than a year later. The reason being was that apparently Ms. Vogel was experiencing similar problems like the ones she experienced when she was with AVC. Like the original AVC products, you may find some of the AlexisStyle products on Ebay. However, you can find similar AlexisStyle lip products on ilovemylips.com as well as on the valeriebeauty.com site. Hopefully Ms. Vogel will come out with another great line soon (perhaps the third time will be the charm)!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnR on 9/9/2007 2:52:00 PM more reviews by AnnR

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my first review ever!! I've been on MUA many years. I'm still amazed at how many negatives there are for Alexis Vogel makeup, as I am 52, and have tried LOTS of things, but the original Light Kit, not the reformulated products that have come about since the Alexis Vogel cosmetics were discontinued, well, some of the products are the BEST I've used and can be used to look VERY classy instead of TOO made-up!! . Some people think you have to apply Vogel makeup as if you wanted to look like Pamela Anderson, but these are HIGH quality cosmetics, and you can use them just like you would any other makeup for whatever look you want! I LOVE the Lipstain (it's moisturizing and lasts and lasts and doesn't migrate and is HIGHLY pigmented!) and the gloss in the original light kit, I've tried LOTS of high-end brands, and the texture and pigment is wonderful and it lasts well! The blush is GORGEOUS and so smooth/easy to apply and brightens my complexion. One of the best blushes I've tried. The brushes are NOT good, though. Everything else except the concealer I loved!! The lipgloss has been my favorite gloss as far as how it looks on me, the texture, the pigment, the long lasting power, and the beauty of it, it looks glamorous and pretty, not in a cheap way. The eyeshadows and sparkle dust are GORGEOUS, silky, smooth, pigmented, professional quality! I get kind of tired of the bad things people say about her makeup. Many of the products are such top quality, and celebrities still use her cosmetics and look wonderful, not cheap, but classy and glamorous and pretty. Wasn't she the makeup artist for American Idol? Everyone on there looked very pretty.
However, I am so disappointed at what happened with her company, it was not her fault from what I have heard, and I have "heard" that the "re-formulated" products that www.makeupconnection.com is selling are far inferior, but I don't know that for sure. I have also heard and read on MUA here that another company called www.valeriebeauty.com, I think, sells glosses and lipsticks exactly like Vogel's, so i will check out these products soon : )
I especially don't really like when some people say they hate her cosmetics line and they admit they never even tried anything from her line. I can tell you her "original" formulations of eyeshadows, blushes, lip products, are better than anything I've tried, and I've tried TONS of stuff, and yes, even Mac. Too bad you can't buy her original formulations anymore except maybe Ebay.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cocacolagirl on 7/6/2007 8:25:00 PM more reviews by cocacolagirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have never even tried this product and I already HATE the brand!!..LOL...I've read on here and on badbusinessbureau.com that they THEY ARE A SCAM! They take people's money and much more negative stuff!! I've never considered trying it because it always looked like a bunch of cheap junk on TV to me. The products still look like junk. They are NOW CALLED 'AVC CARE' ON MAKEUPCONNECTION.COM! I hope they go down because I AM PRETTY SURE THEY STILL ARE A SCAM!! DON'T SUPPORT OR BUY THEIR PRODUCTS! I HOPE THEY GO DOWN!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 smiling on 3/22/2007 12:22:00 PM more reviews by smiling

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Find more complaints like this about AVC on ripoffreport.com:

Company
Alexis Vogel Cosmetics - Makeup Connection
Address:
4735 Belpar St Nw
Canton Ohio 47418
U.S.A.
Phone Number:
330-492-9989 ext 104
Fax:


Paul Monea Owner of Alexis Vogel Cosmetics, and Makeup connection Knowingly charged customers for makeup kits, and goods that were not in stock, and did not ship the products for months if ever.

He discontinued Alexis Vogel Web site, and started Makeup Connection pretending that Alexis Vogel was purchased by another makeup company. It in fact was not he was the owner of the old company, and is pretending he was not.

He also has not been shipping the same cosmetics that customers think that they are purchasing. He has changed formulas, and is passing the cosmetics off as the same formula.

The owner can has laid off all of his employees except for his mother, Gayle Monea, and his girlfriend Gina.

His business is in jeprody due to the high volume of chargebacks he has received, and the fact that the credit card companies are now penalizing him for these chargebacks.

The last three employees that were let go were being paid under the table, since he could not afford to pay the pay roll company ADP to produce real legal paychecks.

Also the last three employees have yet to be paid for their final work week, and for the shortage on their paychecks.

Be ware if he can not pay his employees how can he provide the products he is supposedly shipping?

Charity
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
U.S.A.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 whitney83 on 1/10/2007 4:49:00 PM more reviews by whitney83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a few years ago...what a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamourdoll on 8/5/2006 5:38:00 PM more reviews by glamourdoll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this back in March. I've been into makeup ever since I can remember. The DVD will probably be useful for those who want to get the trademark Alexis-glam look. Although I've been wearing makeup for 18 years, I found the DVD helpful for making up my eyes. The bag is a great idea, but I already have something to store my makeup in, so it isn't that useful for me. The foundation did not match my face at all, and something about the smell put me off. The lip color also was not for me---it was an unwearable pink. The brushes are OK---fortunately I have a set of good brushes so these were not essential for me to wear. The chubby pencil, while a pretty color, turned hard and dry after a while, to the point that I couldn't apply it. In addition, the cap of the chubby pencil began to crack and it fell apart. I was disappointed b/c I actually liked the pencil, and now I cant use it. The cake liner is good and I like this almost as much as my BB gel liner. For those are interested in getting the Alexis Vogel look, I would suggest getting the DVD and using your own makeup in conjunction with it. It isnt necessary to purchase this entire kit to get the look. While I would not repurchase from the old Alexis Vogel line, I am interested in trying some products from the new Alexis Style line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aleigh0984 on 5/12/2006 11:13:00 AM more reviews by aleigh0984

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with what others said on here... the products are very hit and miss... I ordered from the new website that is now selling the original kit and it arrived in like 3 days, and they seem to have good customer service now. I had read on their message board that it seems as though they've changed some of the formulations and added fragrances, but it still seemed good quality to me. I did not like the brushes at all though. the buffer brush seemed like it should have been thicker and shorter. the blush brush was okay, and the total eye brush was horrible. the slanted brush (for eyeliner) was way too thick to be detailed enough; it just made a big sloppy mess... even when I blended it better with a q-tip it was WAY too thick of a line... I guess I expected much better quality for the brushes.

I had some better luck with the makeup. The foundation gives you great coverage with a very small amount, and the concealer is some of the best I have ever tried. It covered my undereye circles like nothing else has. The powder was also great. The blush and lipstain looked a lot brighter than they actually are on, but a little goes a LONG way (with all of the makeup actually)... I don't feel I can give a good review of the cakeliner because the brush sucked so much, but I think if I had a good brush it would go on a lot better! the eye crayon and eye shadow were both nice, but you have to put the shadow on over the crayon or it won't stay on very long.

I think the instructional video is more geared toward people who have never used makeup before, but it is a good idea to watch it at least once through to get the most out of her makeup.

Overall, I would buy certain things again, but not all of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alexis Vogel products

More Tools products