Paula's Choice • Close Comfort Shave Gel • Skincare - Body

rated 3.6(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CobraRose on 9/2/2012 10:57:00 PM more reviews by CobraRose

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Got a good close shave with this. It feels cool on the skin, and while it has no added fragrance, the light scent reminds me of iris. However, PC claims the blue tint helps you to see which areas you haven't covered yet. I'm sorry, but it does nothing of the kind. Once spread over the skin, it's basically transparent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hpunkinway on 4/29/2012 5:25:00 AM more reviews by hpunkinway

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this as a present for a guy friend who has been having irritation on his face from shaving. I cannot comment on this from firsthand experience, yet, believe me, when this guy says he like something, it's a big deal. I have also noticed that his very sensitive fair-pink skin is much clearer and less irritated.

The only gripe he has with this product is that he cannot see the foam, which helps him to shave. Otherwise, he is truly happy with how his skin looks since I bought him this gel, and has commented on his satisfaction with the product.

UPDATE: My guy-friend is now only using his Gillette mainstay. He likes to see where he has shaved, and cannot do so as easily with Paula's product. I might request it back from him, and will update then. His skin still looks all right, though better with Paula's product..

2nd UPDATE: I took it back. My guy friend now wants it back, and I gave it back to him. He loves this stuff even though he can't see where he's shaved. I gave it back--I don't shave very often.

3rd UPDATE: Guy-friend asked me where he could repurchase it. i sent him Paula's web site. (Guess it's that good.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Fabo on 1/14/2011 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Fabo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The worst product i've ever tried. The razor don't shave anything because this product leave a rare film in the skin and the blades can't remove the beard. Made my skin very irritated.

Really this product is sickening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kade9990 on 11/12/2009 3:41:00 PM more reviews by kade9990

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is bipolar, like seriously unpredictable (think Britney circa 2007)... Under the EXACT same conditions, it gives completely different results... I'm a dude so I use this to shave my face/neck (I shave other parts too, lol, but use cheap drugstore aerosols for that) and I shave in the shower... I shampoo, then put in conditioner (which I let sit while I shave)... By that point my face (and facial hair) is usually pretty soggy and soft and that's when I used this stuff, at exactly the same point and in exactly the same way... Yet I got a smooth, irritation-free shave about 30% of the time and a stubbly, nick-filled, razor-burny shave about 70% of the time... Huh???... I do use cheap disposable razors, but I only use them once (I know, super wasteful) and they work fine with other products... As mentioned by previous reviewer(s), the blue tint serves no purpose, it disappears when you spread this stuff... It also stings/burns my lips a little (not unbearably, but noticeably) and since having to apply shaving cream meticulously enough to avoid ANY contact with the lips is a chore with which I'd rather not deal, it's annoying... If this stuff worked spectacularly, I prolly wouldn't even notice the slight discomfort, but since it doesn't, it's little flaws seem more apparent... It's price also seems inflated in light of it's performance (every Aveeno and Edge aerosol works better and you get more product for under $5)... A rare miss from Paula (not sure why she bothered given the glut of effective, cheap competition and not sure why I bothered, for the same reason)...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mollybad on 10/20/2009 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Mollybad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Price increase warning: Paula's Choice has significantly raised the prices of its product samples while SIGNIFICANTLY reducing their size. If you're thinking about taking these with you on a trip, then you'll pay a LOT for that luxury. It's terribly disappointing. I could see raising the prices on the same-size samples, but to then make the samples SO MUCH smaller (from 4.4 ml. to 1.77 ml., for example) is just agonizing. It's such a greedy move.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* janet1028 on 10/17/2009 10:03:00 PM more reviews by janet1028

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used shave gels on and off over the years. I do think they give me a closer shave but the scent has been overwhelming and/or the product doesn't wash off easily so I just give up and use water. (I've also tried hair conditioner - too slick!). Because it was unscented, I added this to my Paula's Choice order and...wow!...I like it! It gives you a smooth shave. It washes off fast with no residue. It spreads quickly without the aggravation of having to wash foam/gel off of your hands before you start shaving. It doesn't clog the blades of my razor. I can use it while standing in the shower without fear of breaking my neck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 8/22/2009 4:44:00 PM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

First of all, the blue tint is useless. Once the gel is on the skin, you can't detect the shade anywhere. Secondly, I find this shave gel just way too light and I don't feel it provides much assistance for shaving. Also, this is a needlessly expensive shaving product considering the pricey shipping charges to Finland. I only ordered two sample sachets and won't be buying more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FairyCelt on 9/7/2007 8:10:00 PM more reviews by FairyCelt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

My legs have always been super sensitive and dry (not to mention prone to massive amounts of ingrown hairs). This shave gel is a bright, robin's egg blue and doesn't have too much of a scent. It doesn't foam, but unlike other non-foaming shaving gels, it's easy to spread. It also washes off your legs and razor really easily (no worries about gunked up razors with this!) As for the results, I'm truly amazed. I didn't have ONE ingrown hair and NO burning after shaving. This coming from a girl who had bad experiences while shaving with just about every "sensitive formula" shave cream, gel, or lotion. I'm so happy with this! I recommend it to everyone, but especially to those who feel like they will never be able to shave without pain and unslightly bumps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 radsgirl on 7/24/2007 8:14:00 AM more reviews by radsgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Got some samples of this to try. It has a little too much "drag" for my razor. I prefer Kiss My Face shaving gel because the razor glides more smoothly.

EDIT 8/11/08: I tried this stuff again, and it's better than I remembered. I like that it is fragrance free, and it's nice on my sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Neodymium on 6/20/2007 3:53:00 AM more reviews by Neodymium

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Only a small amount of this gel is necessary, and it allowed me to get a very close shave, without any nicks or scraping. It stayed put on my legs while I was shaving, unlike the annoying habit some foamy shaving products have of washing away under the shower.

My skin felt softer than usual after using this, and the moisturising nature of the product meant I could skip applying lotion if I was in a hurry.

The squeeze tube is also handy, as you can squeeze out exactly the amount of you want (unlike a pump), and there is enough product to last months.

This is definitely several steps above using conditioner or shower gel.

My only complaint is the price for this product is unnecessarily high, especially in Australia where it is $24.80 for 277ml! and that is for members! The same product is only $10.95 on the American wesite, which I find very unfair. I would recommend people from other countries order products through the US website, but get an estimate of the shipping first, as that can also be quite high.

Despite the price hike, I will buy this product again because it is the best I have ever found, and the price isn't absolutely outrageous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Skincare - Body products