Desert Essence Lip Rescue w/ Shea Butter

4.2

84 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Glycine soja (soybean) oil, beeswax, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, ozokerite, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), ginkgo biloba leaf extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil, tocopherol, propyl gallate, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil.


on 7/3/2014 4:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I get chapped, raw lips every winter and this balm is a lifesaver. It's very rich, very moisturizing, and long-lasting. Best of all, it doesn't leave my lips feeling waxy, an issue I had with many other balms I used before finding this one.



on 5/25/2013 3:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Without a doubt the BEST lipbalm I have ever bought, and trust me, I have tried dozens over the years. I get really dry and irritated lips, especially in the winter. I bought this on a whim in a small "natural remedies" shop in the outskirts of Toronto when I was on holiday. The lipbalm got me through the harsh Canadian winter without any dry lips or complaints. It has a mild pleasant scent, and stays on for a while.

I am now tracking down other retail stores that sell this product outside of Australia, and am planning to stock up!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 3:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So I just got the worse cold ever and the fact that I was blowing my nose, licking my lips, and the 15 degree weather outside in Colorado, did no help my already dried out lips. They were cracking, peeling, and bleeding. I tried everything! eos, softlips, carmex, blistex, Vaseline, rosebud salve, etc. nothing worked as well as this one did within an hour my lips looked and felt better, and within a few seconds of putting on instant relief! Thank goodness I found this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2012 10:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love lip balms in all shapes, types, sizes, however my favorites are those that I don't have to dip my fingers into. This is the swivel type which satisfies that need. The formula is waxy, not hydrating at all, which means I need to make sure my lips are perfectly smooth and hydrated BEFORE applying this product.

Works great for an under gloss or lipstick because it's got zero slip in the texture. I don't like it for an over-night balm because it tends to dry out my lips overnight, don't really understand why. I wish the ingredients included more of an oil content and less of a wax. Not sure if I would purchase again, maybe in an emergency, but it's not my fave.


on 7/16/2012 4:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this lip balm. All the other more natural lip balms (burt's bee's, aveda, body shop) I used this past winter felt like they just sat on top of my really dry, almost scaly (yuck!) lips - they weren't able to work past the really dry patch. This was the only one that penetrated through the dry patch and made my lips soft again. Nice light scent and a light layer goes a long way on my lips.


on 7/7/2012 11:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the only lip balm I use - I've been using it for a few years now, every night before I go to bed. My husband and I each have one on our nightstand, and I have several backups! It's just perfect in every way - all natural, barely scented (very natural non-offensive, non-fake scent), moisturizes beautifully, and feels like silk. My lips are never chapped, dry or "peely", even in the winter. I hope they never stop making this!!!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm is awesome. It is a matte lip treatment. It is really moisturizing and it has a very subtle sweet scent (like cocoa butter and almond) It cost me $2.49 at drugstore.com. I would highly recommend it and would buy it again. I am looking forward to trying more products by this brand.


on 6/10/2012 2:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Now to begin with I'm a Shea butter junkie.
I really love this chap stick because it has some great natural ingredients no chemicals in it. So if you are very consicious on what you put on or in your body this is good product to at least give it a try. It is a little more expensive than your typical chap stick ranges from about $1.50-$2.00 at your local natural or organic goods store.
The smell is lemony doesn't really have a taste to it at all. Also it isn't thick unless you really try to press it on your lips, a little goes a long way.
The only thing I don't like is that I believe they might use refined Shea butter in it which means some of the beneficial qualities have been stripped away. Besides that it's a great little chap stick. I highly recommend giving it a try if you can find it.


on 2/9/2012 10:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great balm. I haven't tried it on extremely chapped lips, but it works at keeping my lips moisturized. I think it prevents it from getting dry. What interested me about this balm is the peppermint (LOVE the original Burt's Bees). But quite frankly, the peppermint is really subtle. Like if I didn't read the ingredients, I might not know there's peppermint in this. Despite not having a tingle, I still like this a lot and will keep using it. The scent is really unique- like creamy with a hint of citrus. I didn't expect it to work because the texture is lighter than I expected. I am really happy I bought this. Overall, this is a lip balm that works and is also petroleum-free.


on 1/17/2012 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

best natural lip balm ive ever used . It has saved my lips this winter, I use it every night before bed. Has a very light vanilla creamsicle scent and really moisturized my lips without feeling too heavy or sticky. I beleive its matte too so you can wear it with lipstick too for some added moisture. BEST part about this is its completely natural!
Update: i ran out of this ans bought the eos lio balm at drugstore it was horrible so i tracked this lip balm down at a health store and stocked up it brought my lips back to life and i will never stray again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1466 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3590 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
171 Reviews


Back to Top