Desert Essence Lip Rescue w/ Shea Butter

4.3

87 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Glycine soja (soybean) oil, beeswax, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, ozokerite, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), ginkgo biloba leaf extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil, tocopherol, propyl gallate, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil.


on 4/18/2015 2:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I am a huge lip balm junkie. Always have been. I've tried Carmex, Blistex, Chapstick, Burts Bees, Nivea, Baby Lips, and a few others that I can't recall. I was displeased with all of them. I heard good reviews about this one, so I've been using it for about 2 weeks now. Here's my review:
I absolutely LOVE this lip balm!
Unlike all the others I've tried, I don't feel the need to reapply this every hour. I put a couple coats on my lips and I don't feel the need to reapply for about 4 hours. And then it's not always because I need more, I just like putting on lip balm.
Unlike the others I've tried, I feel like Lip Rescue actually FIXES my cracked, chapped, dry lips. It doesn't just mask the problem with beeswax or petroleum jelly (an ingredient it doesn't even have, yay!). It really heals my lips and hydrates them. And if I stop using it, my lips actually stay hydrated for a while, instead of instantly returning to chapped like they did with some other brands (Blistex).
I like the texture of this balm. It's not waxy like so many others are and doesn't leave that waxy film on my lips. The scent is nice too, though I can't quite figure out what it is. Almost lemony, but with a hint of something else...
The ingredients in this product are great. It's all natural, no chemicals or anything harmful.
I got 2 for $5 at Whole Foods, so the price is right!
I definitely recommend this lip balm.



on 3/24/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for years -- best lip balm I've ever used. Keeps my lips from getting dry in the winter, works great under lipstick and it's priced right. I always have 3: one at home, one at work, one in my purse.


on 3/18/2015 12:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It really is a lip rescue. It was love at first use. Before I bought this, I had the worst day ever because my lips are hurting so bad because I was out of lip balms and I was not able to buy a new one yet. Then I tried this lip balm and it totally made my lips feel better almost instantly. I love it. I love it i love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2014 4:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I get chapped, raw lips every winter and this balm is a lifesaver. It's very rich, very moisturizing, and long-lasting. Best of all, it doesn't leave my lips feeling waxy, an issue I had with many other balms I used before finding this one.


on 5/25/2013 3:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Without a doubt the BEST lipbalm I have ever bought, and trust me, I have tried dozens over the years. I get really dry and irritated lips, especially in the winter. I bought this on a whim in a small "natural remedies" shop in the outskirts of Toronto when I was on holiday. The lipbalm got me through the harsh Canadian winter without any dry lips or complaints. It has a mild pleasant scent, and stays on for a while.

I am now tracking down other retail stores that sell this product outside of Australia, and am planning to stock up!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 3:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So I just got the worse cold ever and the fact that I was blowing my nose, licking my lips, and the 15 degree weather outside in Colorado, did no help my already dried out lips. They were cracking, peeling, and bleeding. I tried everything! eos, softlips, carmex, blistex, Vaseline, rosebud salve, etc. nothing worked as well as this one did within an hour my lips looked and felt better, and within a few seconds of putting on instant relief! Thank goodness I found this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2012 10:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love lip balms in all shapes, types, sizes, however my favorites are those that I don't have to dip my fingers into. This is the swivel type which satisfies that need. The formula is waxy, not hydrating at all, which means I need to make sure my lips are perfectly smooth and hydrated BEFORE applying this product.

Works great for an under gloss or lipstick because it's got zero slip in the texture. I don't like it for an over-night balm because it tends to dry out my lips overnight, don't really understand why. I wish the ingredients included more of an oil content and less of a wax. Not sure if I would purchase again, maybe in an emergency, but it's not my fave.


on 7/16/2012 4:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this lip balm. All the other more natural lip balms (burt's bee's, aveda, body shop) I used this past winter felt like they just sat on top of my really dry, almost scaly (yuck!) lips - they weren't able to work past the really dry patch. This was the only one that penetrated through the dry patch and made my lips soft again. Nice light scent and a light layer goes a long way on my lips.


on 7/7/2012 11:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the only lip balm I use - I've been using it for a few years now, every night before I go to bed. My husband and I each have one on our nightstand, and I have several backups! It's just perfect in every way - all natural, barely scented (very natural non-offensive, non-fake scent), moisturizes beautifully, and feels like silk. My lips are never chapped, dry or "peely", even in the winter. I hope they never stop making this!!!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm is awesome. It is a matte lip treatment. It is really moisturizing and it has a very subtle sweet scent (like cocoa butter and almond) It cost me $2.49 at drugstore.com. I would highly recommend it and would buy it again. I am looking forward to trying more products by this brand.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1494 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
174 Reviews
Lip Balm
1024 Reviews


Back to Top