Aveeno • Skin Brightening Daily Scrub • Scrubs

rated 3.9(403 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 11/13/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been collecting more skin care products recently to have healthier looking skin now that I'm 23 years old. So far I have makeup removers, mild facial soaps and moisturizers but I needed something nice to exfoliate my skin since I ran out of my St Ives Apricot Scrub bottle a long time ago.
I came across this product at Walgreens and used it for the first time today. The consistency of it totally surprised me. It is very lightweight, liquidy, and has a milky white color to it. It has micro grains in it that don't feel harsh at all while you're rubbing your face with it; and contrary to what I first expected this doesn't lather up at all.
I massaged my face with this in the shower not expecting to see a great difference when looking in the mirror afterwards but this isn't bad at all. My face looked squeaky clean in the mirror and felt moisturized, not dry at all. It is so gentle my sensitive skin definitely approved of it. I followed with toner and moisturizer and my skin feels really soft now. If you have sensitive, acne prone, combination skin I really think you should give this a try. Unlike other exfoliators, this is super gentle on the surface of the skin so it can be used more regularly than other treatments. This is a thumbs up for Aveeno!
PS: This retails for about $9

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Megans258 on 9/7/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Megans258

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Really like this scrub! I would definitely buy it again and recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yingxiaodong on 9/7/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by yingxiaodong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Well, I love this. It prob the BEST drugstore scrub that I have ever been used.

Pro:
The beads are excellent! Just the right size, way smaller than the St. Ives scrub.
Smells nice
Clear up the acne that I have, make my skin feels smooth

Con:
No Salicylic acid so my face still break out, Aveeno Complex Scrub here did a better job.
A little bit dry so make sure to use toner after.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilikejuice on 6/25/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by ilikejuice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw this laying around my parent's place so I decided to use it. Within one week, I received complements from friends saying my skin looked extremely smooth and that I was glowing. I couldn't really tell, because I wasn't looking for those benefits while using it. However, I recommended it to two friends and their skins had transformed in just 2 weeks. One friend had very splotchy skin that was uneven toned, had acne scars, and various blemishes that made her skin look very uneven in color, tone and texture. 90% of those blemishes were gone and I have never seen her skin look so good in my life (and I've known her for over 15 years).

It's gentle enough for my sensitive, combination/dry skin. But if you find that it's too harsh, I would recommend using it only once a day or every other day while rotating with a regular face cleanser

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danielleeheart on 5/16/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by danielleeheart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this daily! Best face wash. The beads are nice because they're not too harsh so it's perfect for everyday. Also, this makes your skin feel so fresh and nice in the morning. Great for sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lr1336 on 1/29/2014 2:45:00 AM more reviews by Lr1336

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I liked how this scrub worked at first, but it felt like it wasn't working after a few uses. I know it's supposed to be a gentle scrub, but it's too gentle & runny and I couldn't even feel it exfoliating at times. Overall it's probably good for those with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 naturallyginger17 on 1/7/2014 8:46:00 AM more reviews by naturallyginger17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't like this stuff. It made me break out after the second use and it also made my skin feel unpleasantly tight, even after moisturising. The skin around my nose became sensitive and agitated whenever i used this stuff, it felt like i have blown my nose with a tissue made gravel then applied lemon juice ( maybe not quite that dramatic but very similar feeling I'm sure). I didn't notice any brightening effect but that may have been because i only used this maybe three times.
I relise that this a daily scrub but the little granules were so tiny that I barely felt them. This annoyed me because I like knowing that the product is actually doing something.
Never buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaigeAda on 1/4/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by MaigeAda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this scrub! I bought this (along with Aveeno Ultra Calming Cleanser) and I don't see myself ever leaving it. This scrub is super gentle and is great for everyday use, though my skin only needs it about every other day. The texture is a gel with tiny grains that you can feel, but they aren't too big or scratchy like most scrubs/exfoliators out there. This scrub isn't harsh for me at all, and I have moderately sensitive skin that usually reddens after exfoliating. With the Brightening Scrub, my skin has a glowy appearance afterwards and feels soft and smooth.

I gave the product itself a 5 because it's amazing. Additionally, the packaging is great and makes the scrub last forever! I bought my current tube back in September and still have at least half left. To use, you flip the cap and squeeze the scrub through a tiny hole and a dime size amount usually dispenses. You don't need anymore than this!

I gave the scrub's price a 4 because it's more expensive then some of your other scrubs (St. Ive's Apricot, Neutrogena). However, it lasts longer than any other scrub I've ever used and doesn't cost any more than $10 (I think I paid $8 and change).

I definitely recommend the Brightening Scrub to anyone with sensitive skin and those looking for a great daily exfoliator!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lonelyghosts on 12/11/2013 1:33:00 PM more reviews by lonelyghosts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product but unfortunately something in it is too harsh for my skin! It left my face so dry that parts of it looked like dried glue when I looked in the mirror :/ Also left it super itchy. I went back to using an Olay product the next day and the difference was drastic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lovelyvenice on 10/24/2013 12:41:00 PM more reviews by lovelyvenice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this scrub because of the good reviews. But frankly this did nothing to improve my skin on the long run. Yeah it made my face lighter and it made it glow, but all that lasted only about 5 minutes then it went back to being red as usual. I felt like this sucked all the moisture out of my skin, it made my skin so much dryer than it already is. I'm pretty sure this scrub would be great for oily skin, but for us dry skin sufferers this is awful! Definitely will not purchase this again. The only good thing about this product is its good to remove makeup. But that's it. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Scrubs products