Nexxus • Humectress Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.7(400 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 11/20/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this on sale for $7 at my grocery store. It came in a combo pack with the finishing spray. $7 is unbeatable for two full sized Nexxus products! I absolutely love their heat protectant spray have tried a few of their other products in the past which I have also have enjoyed. While I love the finishing spray, which to me is worth the $7 on its own, I was tempted many times to throw this in the garbage. I don't know if it was on sale because it was old/expired, as I don't see any visible writing on the packaging indicating such, but I felt this product smelled a little funny (moldy?) and felt almost slimy in my hair. I tend to go a little heavy on the conditioner, as my hair is extremely long and more often than not visibly heat damaged from styling/not keeping up on my trims. After rinsing this conditioner out thoroughly, I would blow dry my hair and feel a residue which I originally believed to be too many products in general (smoothing cream, heat protectant, detangler, etc.). I cut back on the products and found the same results. Also, I often air dry my hair throughout the week on days where I'm only working and not doing anything requiring styling. I found with only shampoo and this particular conditioner with NO additional products whatsoever still left my hair feeling greasy, heavy, and looking overall yucky. I came to a compromise with myself and began using only a small amount of product and only on days where I knew I was only going to air dry. Needless to say, this was a total fail, but still like Nexxus in general!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katemvirginia on 11/7/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by katemvirginia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    







I just bought more of this because I'm almost out! I have dry,frizzy,coarse hair. I use this w/ my curly hair or straighten it & it works great! I was amazed something from drugstore wouldn't kill my hair. Leaves it soft & smooth & healthy. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pixelsicle on 10/13/2014 1:05:00 AM more reviews by pixelsicle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

The worst product I have ever used, period. Left my hair dried out, it felt like straw and I have never had a product produce these kinds of results. $35 completely wasted, I got halfway through the bottle and decided the damage it was doing wasn't worth saving the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shopah0lic21 on 2/23/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Shopah0lic21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

When I first bought this product my hair loved it, de tangled so easily, softened and really smelled wonderful. However after several months my hair just stopped cooperating with this stuff.. No wonder, it's loaded with silicones that just seemed to Coat my hair. I still have a huge bottle of this and I'm not sure if I'll finish it. No thanks. I'll stick to my shea moisture.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tori497 on 1/2/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Add me to the list of resounding "nays" on this one- I am not a fan AT ALL! If you want a conditioner that is easy to use, this is not it. I have received this a handful of times over the years, this Xmas included. I still had a full bottle from last year, so I dug it out and tried it (again) this AM. Now I remember why it's been under my sink, unused, all year.

To start, the texture is odd. I appreciate a thick, creamy conditioner. Heck, in the winter, the thicker the better!! But this is the consistency of wet toothpaste. It took me quite a while to work this through my hair. Maybe it's because my hair is long but I need a good slip to my conditioner. It seemed to absorb into my hair but leave a waxy film. I lost a ton of hair just finger combing it through and by the time I was done, I had a sizable wad of my poor hair in my hands. Even leaving on my hair for the full five minutes, my hair was the strangest combination of dry but oddly coated once rinsed.

The only positive I can say is I had no issues with static. My hair is in no better condition than before using and has zero bounce or movement (I also lost a bunch in the process). I checked out the ingredients and the list it SO long! And mineral oil is very high on the list. Whaa????? You know when you get cooking oil on your hands and try to wash it off and the water beads up and takes forever to rinse off?? That is on my head!! I cannot wait to wash this out.

The only reason I gave it two stars is because I suspect it will work well as shave gel and the tube packaging is nice. As far as high end conditioners go, I will stick with it's a 10 silk express. It works twice as well in half the time...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 11/2/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have 2b-c waves. Very fine in some areas, and coarse in others: wirey waves. High porosity, medium density, long hair.

I feel like this conditioner, although being well loved on the hair board, did nothing to hydrate my hair. Even when I saturated my hair with it, combed it through, and sat under a drier, then rinsed, it rinsed out and dried so dry... :/ This was a waste of $ for me. I noticed the second and third ingredients are alcohols, and in the middle of the list is coconut oil, which also dries out and strips my hair... Should have known better.

Note: the positive reviews for this product seem to relate to the old formulation. So many reviews describing this as horrible after 2010 reformulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 darlingfee on 10/10/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by darlingfee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff smells incredibly good, almost like I sprayed my hair with perfume. And that's the problem. I feel like this stuff has too many chemicals in it. It's a decent price for the big bottle it comes in but besides the great smell to it, it dryed my hair out ridiculously!! It felt like I had washed my hair with water when brushing my damp hair. Awful, I couldn't even finish the whole bottle. What a waste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 D2theork on 8/8/2013 3:46:00 AM more reviews by D2theork

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for months and while its a decent product it smells good but didnt do much for my hair. thick dry and frizzy. so its ok but i have moved on to a different formula

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyPorter on 8/5/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by LaceyPorter

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SAM'S CLUB MEMBER'S MARK COMPARE TO NEXXUS HUMECTRESS
I really love it! I have coarse hair with DRY DRY ends and this stuff is great. I have been using the shampoo and conditioner together.

IT DOES NOT HAVE ALOT OF SLIP which is sometimes what people think a good conditioner is all about. slip sits on top of hair and makes hair FEEL conditioned and slick. On my hair this stuff sinks right in which to me means it is going deep and really conditioning and moisturizing. My hair hasn't felt this soft and looked this good in months. You may need to use a product with more slip for styling or to condition with afterwards if you must have that slick feel. The shampoo doesn't bubble up which means it's not stripping my hair of moisture. I think this is good stuff that can only be appreciated by those who let go of the "slip" idea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elixmia on 8/5/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this product for a few years and I still love it. The 33.8oz bottle at Target is $4.99. For the amount of product you get and the length of time it will last you, it's absolutely perfect. Just a little bit of this stuff completely moisturizes my hair. It comes out smooth and shiny. Probably my favorite thing about the product is that it makes combing easy. I have yet to have trouble with tangles after years of use, which was a problem with almost every other conditioner I've tried. Additionally, it has a good smell, and I'm constantly complimented on how nice my hair smells.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nexxus products

More Conditioner products