Nexxus • Therappe Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(266 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jencypark on 8/28/2014 1:43:00 AM more reviews by jencypark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I love the luxurious moisture shampoo. HOWEVER DO NOT PURCHASE THE ULTIMATE MOISTURE SHAMPOO! I bought this shampoo thinking it was the luxurious but no~ the label is most definitely different. The ULTIMATE moisture shampoo makes your hair feel crunchier and literally after you wash your hair you feel the product build up! Worst shampoo purchase of my life. I don't even know what to do with it...i can't finish it up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missixty5 on 5/17/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by missixty5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received this shampoo and conditioner as a gift which is why I rated it fair in price. I have been using it for a month now. At first I really liked it but my hair after a day after washing feels oily and greasy. I guess it did it's job my hair is very thick medium coarse and not colored, and it's no longer dry I live in AZ I will probably use it sparingly rather than as my regular shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 2/12/2014 8:03:00 AM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this shampoo! I have super fine hair and I'm letting the color grow out. I have about 8 inches of new brown growth and the rest is damaged, fried blond. I'm always looking for moisture shampoo and this is one of the best so far! It cleans my hair we'll without stripping it and leaves it super silky smooth and soft and doesn't weigh it down. I pair it with Pureology hydralight conditioner because the matching conditioner doesn't work well with the shampoo. Will for sure repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hyukluv3 on 1/15/2014 5:02:00 AM more reviews by hyukluv3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this shampoo quite a bit. Wasn't sure I would but it was in rebate at costco in a big bottle so I had to get it. I am pleasantly surprised because I am picky about shampoo. My scalp gets dry and my hair gets frizzy. It is color treated, long, medium/fine and wavy by the way. I LOVE the smell and texture and the amazing amount of lather. A little if this stuff goes a loooong way. I recommend rinsing very well so this doesn't leave residue or oiliness. It has not done so for me but due to the super silky nature I could see that happening. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lenkaru on 12/2/2013 5:24:00 AM more reviews by lenkaru

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product because of the good reviews but after trying it for a couple of weeks my scalp broke out in this horrible itchy rash,and my hair feels dry and rough. Will never purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 11/18/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great moisturizing shampoo, affordable price. I've been using this for years. Cleanses well without leaving my hair feeling coated. Tons of rich lather that rinses clean. What I love about this is that after shampooing, my hair is so moisturized that I can actually detangle it without using conditioner. That's really something. Love the coconutty scent too.
Definitely my favorite drugstore shampoo. Not as moisturizing as Joico's Moisture Recovery Shampoo or Philip Kingsley's Moisture Extreme, but it's a lot more affordable and an excellent product.
Have repurchased many times and will continue to do so in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CanadaGirlToo on 10/21/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by CanadaGirlToo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I liked the way the shampoo cleaned my hair, but the scent was so overwhelming that I had a constant headache. Once I figured out the headache started when I tried the shampoo (and conditioner), I stopped using it and the headache went away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachel76 on 9/10/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Rachel76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo is great...especially if you have very dry hair...but it does build-up. I love the coconut smell and how soft my hair feels after just one shampoo....it almost felt like I could skip the conditioner!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boara94 on 6/5/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by boara94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love the scent. It's kinda coconut like? It doesn't shed my hair like most other shampoos. It makes my hair feel clean without leaving it too dry. I will definitely repurchase. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 5/1/2013 11:07:00 PM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am trying to find a replacement for the old formulation of Redken All Soft shampoo and conditioner, which Redken changed last year (the new formula of that is terrible).

I have tried many product lines already, from cheap to expensive, but I haven't found anything even halfway as good as the All Soft used to be for my particular kind of hair.

About 20 years ago, for about one year, I used Nexxus Therappe Shampoo and the companion Nexxus Humectress conditioner. It was pretty good for my hair, but not great, and I moved on to other product lines. I have not used this brand since then, so last week I decided to give it a whirl.

Unfortunately, it was not good for my hair. Worse than it I remember it having been 20 years ago.

My chin-length dark blonde hair is "virgin" hair (not color treated, not chemically treated, not even been subjected to a hairdryer or heated styling tools in the last 2 years!)

The Nexxus made my hair:
-darker in color
-brittle and straw-like
-frizzy, rough-feeling
-dull in the light

I then looked up customer reviews of Nexxus Therappe and Humectress on Amazon, and I learned that Nexxus REFORMULATED this product line last year. Apparently the old formula, which was superior, had a grey bottle cap and the new, inferior formula has a black bottle cap.

Unfortunately, so many consumer goods companies are reformulating their products to make them cheaper to produce and cheaper in price. It's a shame, because the quality is taking a nosedive. And so many companies are doing this at the same time, which leaves few good product lines left for disappointed customers to migrate to.

If anyone knows of a good shampoo/conditioner product line that matches the effects of the OLD Redken All Soft line (before it was reformulated at the beginning of 2012), please send me a message via this site.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nexxus products

More Shampoo products