Marcelle • Clay Mask with Kaolin • Masks

rated 4.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.96%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/2/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to bring down a high rating for a product that is doing so well. And I also love Canadian products and Marcelle has some excellent products in their line but this mask isn't one of them, in my experience, unless I got a dud.

I've had this for a few months and have only used it 3 or 4 times as I don't find it pleasant to use. Perhaps I got a dud but the first time I used it, what came out was water or some liquid....not a clay mask product. I tried shaking the tube (useless) and kneading it to recombine the ingredients (more on that later). The mask has a weird consistency, even when it has been on the suggested 10 minutes. It still looks "wet" and sort of gluey/shiny/plastic-y. It also doesn't smell very nice - it smells like plastic (I wonder if perhaps mine was old product and had been on the shelf for decades, hence the separation and the product picking up the smell from the plastic tube). Last night, in the interest of using this up, I was applying it and the tube actually cracked - it just cracked in the middle (not even at the crimp) for absolutely no reason. I took this as a sign that this product wasn't for me (if it hadn't been for the tube cracking with 3/4 of the product still inside, I'd have given the packaging 4 or 5 lippies). The mask itself is only "okay". For a really "drawing" deep cleaning clay based mask at a reasonable price, I think Queen Helene, PUR Minerals or Formula 10-0-6 offer much better results and are much more pleasant to use. As I say, I may have got a dud but I'm not going to buy another tube just to see!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MikeyPwn on 8/11/2012 12:00:00 PM more reviews by MikeyPwn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this mask yesterday at Shoppers Drug Mart. I initially had gone there to purchase the botanics mask from Boots but they didn't carry that brand.

The mask has minimal ingredients and none of them are irritating.

I have used the mask twice now. I left it on for abou 20-25 minutes the first time. I might have put the layer of mask on too thickly, as the mask took quite awhile to dry, but I was also in a hot bathroom so it stayed moist longer.

(next time I do the mask i'll be trying a thinner layer, as I think the "drying" part of the mask is necessary for all the gunk to get pulled out).

to rinse it off I splashed warm water on my face then had to sort of rub with my fingers to loosen the mask, then I used an exfoliating mit (QUO) to rub off all the mask / washed my face with CeraVe hydrating cleanser.

The masked made several whiteheads come to a head, and this morning when I woke up, even more of them along my jaw /sides of my mouth had turned into pustules.

I believe the mask works very well. It is slightly harder to use if you have inflamed acne / irritated skin because you have to rub your skin after the mask has dried.

I believe with consistent use this mask could help someone get clearer skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joxxy on 2/8/2012 5:52:00 AM more reviews by joxxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this after reading the rave reviews on MUA. My skin was breaking out all over the place for some reason, and I wasn't using any products aimed for acne. I managed to grab this at a Shopper's on sale for around $11.99, which was a great deal, considering how well this product works! So I have combination skin with occasional break outs, and I used this 3 times a week while my skin was going crazy. The mask has a gel-like consistency when you first squeeze the product out of the tube, and dries within 30 seconds! You will feel your skin tighten, but it isn't unbearable or anything. I didn't experience any stinging or odd sensation upon the first application. I apply it before I go to bed, and usually leave it on for 30 minutes, and just rinse with warm water. The mask does help reduce redness and the size of pimples, and helps tone the skin a bit. Another thing I love about this mask is that it doesn't dry out my skin! Yes, it helps reduce the size of pimples, but amazingly, doesn't dry out my cheeks and sides of my nose! If you want a mask that sucks up oil and helps reduce size of pimples/inflammation, pick this up if you can! I would definitely recommend this, and re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icarle on 1/26/2012 10:49:00 AM more reviews by icarle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this mask, i use it weekly as part of my skincare regimen. It cleans and soften well. I have an oily T-zone and it does make it better but doesn't last very long. My next-morning makeup holds better, but the day after it's back to normal. I find the texture to be very diluated, I'm used to thick clay consistency (like a paste) and I find this to be very watery and the layer is very transparent even if you apply generously.
The smell is kind of neutral.
Let's say it's a good mask, but it does do miracles. For a WOW effect i use the Montagne jeunesse ones!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauraW74 on 1/7/2012 6:35:00 PM more reviews by LauraW74

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like everyone has already said, this is a product that really delivers!

Lately my skin has been quite unpredictable and acne-prone, and I really hoped it wouldn't react to this. It didn't! My skin has also been very dry, but once I massaged this off with a face cloth and moisturized, I was fine.

It calms redness a little, but you'll notice the big differences over the next day (if you use it at night like I do). The next day after my first use, my pimples really shrunk down, and that's quite a feat considering how many there were. I have used it a few times since, no more than twice a week, and it has continued working, with no side effects!

Lately I really simplified my skincare and now this mask will be a staple in my routine!
Bottom line: It is the most effective thing I've used for reducing acne, and I've really tried a lot lately. It's also great as an overnight spot treatment! And if you can stand to leave it on for 20 or 30 minutes (it makes your face feel crazy tight), do so! The results will be even better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* avironneur on 11/22/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by avironneur

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

WHAT IS IT? Clay mask
INGREDIENTS: AQUA/WATER/EAU, HAMAMELIS VIRGINIANA (WITCH HAZEL) BARK/LEAF/TWIG EXTRACT, BENTONITE, KAOLIN , GLYCERIN, CELLULOSE GUM, IMIDAZOLIDINYL UREA, METHYLPARABEN, ALLANTOIN,
HOW DOES IT PERFORM? This clay mask is by far my favourite as it applies easily almost like a gel and dries very matte and tight without flaking. This mask is fragrance-free and is easily removed with water (no washcloth necessary). This mask decreases sebum levels on the skin and provides a temporary toning effect. The high amount of witch hazel in this product allows it to serve as a particularly efficacious spot treatment for blemishes - two-in-one product. I wouldn't use this more than twice a week particularly in cooler drier seasons to avoid overdrying.
WOULD YOU BUY AGAIN? Absolutely.
PRICE: $16.99 CAD - lasts for almost 6 mos with weekly use.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asunta on 12/5/2010 9:22:00 AM more reviews by asunta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first mask that I can say actually gives results, and great ones too! I had puffy eyes and swollen face from 3 days of crying and stress and after my weekly deep cleansing I put this mask on. WOW! reduced puffiness and helped with clarity. No stinging and the ingredients are so simple. I found coupons for marcelle products and will definately be buying more, even without the coupon lol! Love this mask!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LP007 on 10/25/2010 9:34:00 PM more reviews by LP007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mask! It makes my skin feel very soft and super clean. I have also used it as an overnight spot treatment, which does help speed up the healing process as another reviewer mentioned. I love the ingredients, my sensitive skin does not react negatively at all! I have been using it 2-3 times a week for a few months, and I'm still on the same tube. Will definitely repurchase once I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Flo422 on 1/23/2010 12:26:00 AM more reviews by Flo422

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my most prized beauty related products. I save it for when I have tragic breakouts that refuse to clear out with my regular skin care. It doesn't do miracles, but nearly ;) I use it mostly as a spot treatment overnight. It doesn't do anything to clear the actual skin, but it makes the healing process way faster because it dries out blemishes at the very surface of the skin. I think it's better than other masks because it is more drying. I don't find it useful as an overall mask, and I think it's a waste considerering the amazing results you get using it as a spot treatment. What I like about this is that you can use it many times in a day, when your skin looks terrible or when you really want a zit to go away in no time at all. The only annoying thing is that it's not really comfy to sleep with such drying product on the face. I think it's worth it anyway. In the morning, you can peel each spot of mask easily if the lawyer is thick enough (if it isn't and if you have dry skin like mine, the mask will be really difficult to take off without water). It is a little pricey (10$ CDN) and the bottle is little so I use it only when necessary. I'll be out of this probably a year after I first purchased it. Will definately repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kmakie3414 on 12/23/2009 5:20:00 PM more reviews by Kmakie3414

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This mask is really great. My skin feels so clean and smooth after I use it and I feel like it really helps with breakouts because I use it once or twice a week and I just apply a thin layer. This will probably last me a while but when I run out I will definitely buy more. I love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marcelle products

More Masks products