Neostrata • Self Tan • Self Tanners

rated 4.5(117 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 vbaldo on 4/13/2014 5:54:00 PM more reviews by vbaldo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

One of the best self tanning lotions I have ever used! Very affordable, and a little goes a long way. I primarily use this on my face, as it does not cause a reaction/breakout, and gives me a very natural olive tan. For reference, I am quite pale, and it has never turned me orange.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PrincessVela on 12/13/2013 12:06:00 PM more reviews by PrincessVela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is top shelf. If you live in the U.S. it's really hard to get though. If you know of a way to get this besides the terrible eskinstore, please let me know.

The color is comparable to St Tropez self tan, which is easier to apply and not as sticky after it dries. I use this mostly on my face: 1. I use less, so it the tube lasts longer, 2. my face needs more moisture so it works out well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 powerhemi on 12/11/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by powerhemi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG!!!The BEST self tanner EVER!!! Thank goodness that I live in Canada and get get this at Shoppers Drug Mart. I have used many self tanners and this one is by far the best, very real color, no harsh odor and looks so fab after 2 0r 3 applications. You have to apply it with a tan mitt though so that it spreads evenly as it is a very dark gel and will streak if not blended and you have to make sure you let it dry for at least 10-15 min before getting dressed. This blows fake bake flawless out of the water! you can get it on sale for 25% off sometimes at shoppers but otherwise it is a little pricey @ $35.00. This is a must have for the winter and a once a week for the summer. LOVE IT!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nadimac on 8/30/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by nadimac

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a fantastic self tanner. It's forgiving, the colour is natural, and it dries quickly. The smell is kind of strong but I didn't find it nearly as offensive as some others out there. At first, I didn't think it gave me much colour - it seemed to take awhile to develop for me (maybe a day?), but when it did, I was very happy with it.

It does stain your hands if you don't wash them really well, but a good scrub with soap and water did the trick. I will definitely be repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 latevalentine on 8/25/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by latevalentine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

After failing miserably trying to get a natural tan from the sun, I decided I would try the best product I could find from reviews online. This product gives a great natural tan in only one application which lasts for a number of days. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because I'm not a personal fan of the scent (although others would like it), and it stains your hands badly unless you wear gloves or plan on scrubbing with baking soda and water. Would highly recommend! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancergirl68 on 8/17/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by dancergirl68

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to cheat on my St. Tropez and try this due to the amazing reviews. Now I've only tried it on my face but the smell of it was enough to give me a headache. Absolutely terrible smell... not the DHA smell but the actual smell of the product. Way too sweet. I would have probably thrown up if I had put this on my entire body. But besides the smell it has a very good colour, nice natural brown like the product claims. However it did turn up a bit blotchy on my face. I also didn't like how it stained my hands. I know I needed gloves but I'm just so used to the luxurious application mitt that St. Tropez has. Might give it one more chance then back to the store it goes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theonlyjesinta on 6/10/2013 6:22:00 AM more reviews by theonlyjesinta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was afraid to try this on my whole body but I went for it and I Love it!
It smells nice, sweet almonds?, it dries fast, gives a great tan in one app for my nc15 skin and it was easier to apply because it's a tad bit thicker than other self tanners.

I used St Tropez which I liked until I found this stuff. No comparison IMO. I could leave the house right now without showering. With Tropez you have to shower off the terrible brown colour guide that it gives you in the morning. This stuff is really an "instant" tan. No problem if you have a last minute invite to the beach, throw this stuff on.

It's $25 at London Drugs, I highly recommend.

I wish it came in a larger bottle though, I messages on fb, if you think so message too and they will hopefully start supplying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* allymack on 3/22/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by allymack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Wow, this stuff is amazing. I'm very very pale, and haven't used self tanner in years. After one application of this, I had a nice, healthy glow. After a second one (perhaps four days later), I am brown. Not orange at all. It really, really looks like a tan.
I think my favourite thing about this self tan, relative to others I tried in the past, is how only two coats is what you need to get a noticeable tan look. Other products I find I have to apply at least three times to get some real colour, and then the orange look is often unavoidable.
The thing I like the least about this is how fast it dries-even when I wash my hands immediately after using, I am left with tan palms. You really need gloves for this one. Also, because it is so pigmented, you do need to be careful about streaking. It can be much more noticeable.
Overall, I'm thrilled with this. It's expensive, yes, but because of the amount of bang you get out of an application, I expect the little bottle will go a long way.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* euroasian on 9/12/2012 12:02:00 PM more reviews by euroasian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I've found a self-tanner that is better (IMO) than St. Tropez! This is the ONLY self-tanner that I can just put on and leave the house with. It applies so smoothly and does not cling to dry patches like St. Tropez can. Now I don't have to tell people that I'm "working on my tan"; I can leave the house right after I've applied it. On the box it says the amount of DHA is 6.5%, which is the highest I have seen so far in an at-home self-tanner (St. Tropez has 5-6% I think). It also says it takes 3 hours for the tan to develop, as opposed to 4 hours with St. Tropez. The results are the same for both; a believable bronze that is buildable if applied daily for 2-3 days straight. I also love that it does not reek like most self-tanners do, which is surprising given the amount of DHA in it. I think I might just give away my St. Tropez since I can't bring myself to go back to it. Love this stuff!

Regarding the change in colour from brown to green; I contacted the company because the tube I bought last year had turned green. They told me to stop using it and they were generous enough to send me a brand new tube! If fresh, like my tube is, it should look very much like chocolate pudding with no apparent green tint.

P.S. The right-most picture in the line up is my tube, fresh from Neostrata's HQ, as of late 2012.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JamaicanWhitie on 8/20/2010 1:30:00 AM more reviews by JamaicanWhitie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The Neostrata product that I am writing about is the Canadian version in the white bottle.
When I first read all of the rave reviews on this tanner, I just had to check it out for myself. And I was hoping that the bottle would be a little bigger considering how much I paid for it. However, price isn't that big of deal to me, as long as the product does what it says. And this tanner does!
I have used most of the creams and lotions under the sun. And I am in love with this one! When applied it dries very quickly so be sure to wear gloves! At first I didnt think that I would need gloves, but YES; be sure to invest in some gloves. The smell isnt bad at all really. Infact, it doesnt stink at all.
The color itself is a nice light brown, no orange or yellow hues. Its just right! The weird thing about this though, is I noticed that the lotion that was collecting around the lid turned green. Im guessing that its just the lotion reacting with the oxygen in the air? I dont know, but dont worry it doesnt turn your skin green!
Anyways, this is my new favourite tanner! And I will continue to buy this one! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neostrata products

More Self Tanners products