La Roche Posay • Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(209 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 katerdpher51 on 12/1/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by katerdpher51

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this cleanser. I have acne-prone / oily-combo skin, so I like something that seems to "dry" that up a bit, without overdrying.

I also have the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream....I prefer the lather of the cream version (which is similar in texture to another favorite cleanser, Origins "Checks and Balances"). As a plus, a little goes a long way for both the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream and the Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser.

I'd recommend the cream version over the gel, but that's personal preference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redheadjane on 11/30/2014 1:10:00 PM more reviews by redheadjane

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

If you very oily breakout prone skin this is a really good cleanser. If you have combo sensitive skin like me it can be too drying. I go this in the Effaclar Acne Kit. I love the Clarifying lotion and the Duo is amazing but this cleanser is just too drying on my skin. It does however Completely remove makeup and may actually be a good cleanser for summer when I'm more oily and after sweating from workouts. But I think there are better and more gentle and less drying cleansers for me. It's likely the Sodium Lauryl in it that kills it for me. It's not bad but just not right for my skin type. I have hormonal acne, a touch of folliculitis now and then but I'm 42 and my skin is on the drier side. I think I will switch to the Toleraine cleanser when I'm done with this. It is clearing my skin up, which is why I am giving it 3 stars, more like 3.5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ratach on 11/7/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Ratach

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser saved my life in my years of teenage acne. Now as a result of moving to a drier climate and my hormones calming down a bit, I find this cleanser too drying - but I gave it five lippies because it is perfect for those with blemish-prone oily skin looking for a cleanser with a minimum number or irritants, as acne treating products are notorious for their harshness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 llamadelrey on 10/24/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by llamadelrey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this gel so much! It cleanses like nobody's business and can completely remove a full face of makeup with any effort. I love using this when I'm very tired in the evening and can't be bothered with makeup removers. I imagine it can be a tad drying for those with normal to dry skin but for my combinated/acne-prone skin it's just perfect. A little goes a VERY long way-a bottle of 125 ml lasts me about 4 or 5 months. Also, in my country at least, this gel has been on a very good price for quite some time! I love this and would definitely repurchase it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hadeer3 on 9/25/2014 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Hadeer3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As a cosmetician I use so many products that my skin started breaking out. (Down side of my job) anyways I decided to stick to one and I tried this gel cleaners. I actually like it, it foams up which I really life you get that clean feeling. The only thing I don't like is the dry feeling I get after using it. I need to go right away with thermal water and a moisturizer. Over all it did help calm my skin down which is what I wanted. Good luck :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kaicg on 9/17/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm conflicted with this cleanser.

On the one side I got the bonus size on sale, and my skin seems to really like it, the blemishes have almost completely cleared up after only a couple weeks.

But on the other side, the second ingredient is Sodium Laureth Sulfate, a known irritant, so I'm not sure how it's exactly PH balanced and for sensitive skin. I also get the 'tight' feeling in my face after cleansing and have to rush to moisturizing.

It's good, but there's better out there. I'll probably use up what I have, and come winter look for something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Disclamat on 9/10/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Disclamat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is a good cleanser UNLESS your skin does not tolerate Sodium Laureth Sulfate, which is the 2nd ingredient there. I had blurry vision and swollen eyelids for a full week before finding out that no matter how hard I tried to not even put it on my forehead, all it took was to rub my eyes with my hands for my eyelids to become swollen.

Definitely not good for sensitive skin, what were they thinking?
The pros are that it is "supposed" to be pretty much Ph balanced, and the thermal water, so maybe that's why ignoring my allergic reaction it was good at getting rid of blackheads, and it does work better if you're using the Effaclar Duo Corrective and Unclogging Anti-Imperfection Lotion. BTW, if you use these 2 products together, they stop smelling nice and start smelling...antiseptic, it reminds me a lot of that hospital smell.

So now I only use it on the nose and wash everything else on my face with a goat's milk soap.
I would not buy again as it is too pricey for such a cheap ingredient as SLS being one of the main ingredients. Not worth it if you react to SLS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alacoque on 9/6/2014 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Alacoque

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in May as it was in offer with Effaclar Duo Plus (which I love)!!
I'm not normally a fan of cleansing gels, I usually prefer foaming moose type cleansers. Since I was using other acne products I can't say if this works solely on its own. But I use it to wash my face in the morning and it removes all the overnight sebum and oil.

Iv also taken to use it in the shower to walk my back and chest. As a sufferer of back acne, it's great used combined with Effaclar duo plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hippolyte93 on 8/25/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by hippolyte93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this thing is absolutely one of my fave products of all time...very suitable for my very oily AND sensitive skin....my face feels very clean and pure of all oils and makeup without hurting it or causing redness ...just apply in circular motion and enjoy the magic ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Katy2404 on 8/24/2014 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Katy2404

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was so awful for me! My face is oily so I wanted something to help with this. Even on my oily skin this completely stripped my skin! It stinks so bad and is really harsh! My face was so tight and sore after using it, how anyone with sensitive skin could use this is beyond me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products