La Roche Posay • Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(191 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:12:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Too drying. Won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jhulagurl on 4/2/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Jhulagurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Horrible product! It has SLS which is a harsh detergent which causes extreme dryness and inflammation of the skin. For those with acne this will only worsen it, since it's very irritating to the skin. After a week of use I have broken out with several red pus filled lesions on my face. My face has become very dry, peely and irritated. The fragrance is so strong and it further irritated my sensitive skin. The fragrance is a very strong floral scent. Do not use this on your face!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yashuragi on 3/28/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Yashuragi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received two sample tubes of this from my naturopath. I have been using this daily eversince.

Holy vegetables batman! This cleanser can CLEAN! Like a BOSS!
It literally washed away the blackheads on my nose! I was really shocked and had to do a double take at the mirror to make sure I was not hallucinating.
The blackheads are gone, gone, GONE!
Also the large pores on my cheeks and chin have literally shrunk to almost nothing.

This Effaclar cleanser literally blows away my Cetaphil cleanser and Biore pore strips on blackhead treatment!
I don't even know why I used those dumb Biore strips in the first place. They don't even get rid of my blackheads.
While Cetaphil is a decent cleanser, it did not give me the deep pore cleanse that Effaclar did.

It lathers so well. You only need a pea-sized amount of it for a nice foamy wash.
Less is more with this cleanser. My sample tubes are not even empty yet!
I can imagine the full size tube will last forever!

Effaclar comes in squeeze tubes. I like squeeze tubes better than pumps, since I have more control over how much product I pour out.
Otherwise, packaging is practical and sanitary.

It is definitely on the pricier side in terms of cost. It is around $ 30 at Shopper's Drug Mart.
However, the deep clean, good lather and the fact a full tube is going to last months makes it worth the price!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CombatWombat on 3/26/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've repurchased this product a few times, so it's time to write a review. This is a mild, sulfate-based cleanser that is much gentler than most gel cleansers I've tried. The scent is fresh and floral but would not be suitable for someone with sensitive skin or who reacts to fragrances. The gel does lather, but it does not produce loads of suds, not that it needs to. Clean-rinsing, leaves my skin feeling clean and looking bright, non-drying most of the year. As it is still very much winter where I live and quite dry, I am following this with a LRP moisturizer with very comfortable results. I do not usually need a moisturizer after this cleanser in the summer. My skin is combination/dehydrated and very acne-prone. I purchased a large pump bottle that I keep in my shower and also use as a body wash when my body skin acts up - I can use this in very sensitive areas with no irritation.

This product has not miraculously solved my acne, but my skin acts more balanced and less reactive when I use this regularly. It is relatively easy to find in Canada and is not significantly more expensive than other drugstore cleansers. The tube packaging works fine and looks clean and efficient in my shower, but for practicality's sake, I prefer the pump bottle. The next closest product I've found to this one is Neutrogena's Fresh Foaming Cleanser, but I do prefer this product as it is milder and more pleasurable to use. Please note, I do not rely on this cleanser to remove makeup or high-PPD sunblock.

I have repurchased this cleanser 3 or 4 times and will continue to purchase it as long as it is made or until my skin changes dramatically.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sarahellen1980 on 3/11/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by sarahellen1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Alas, this cleanser is not the holy grail that I search for. Whilst it does remove make up nicely, my skin didnt feel clean after using and.. quelle surpise.. my skin began to get more spots and whiteheads after using for a few weeks, so I wouldn't repurchase and would not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PatentlyPink on 3/4/2014 10:38:00 PM more reviews by PatentlyPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Recommended by my dermatologist, and I actually purchased it there. So mild and gentle, gets rid of everything and doesn't make my skin feel stripped. I have oily/combo and acne prone skin. Easily accessible at CVS, where it goes on sale from time to time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chelpascual on 2/12/2014 4:21:00 AM more reviews by chelpascual

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had been suffering for hormonal breakout this past few months and I never had acne/breakouts ever since. I had been with Clinique for years now and it didd't help control my breakout. Then I came across to La-Roche Posay and I decided to give it a try. I had been using it for a week now and my breakouts was almost 90% gone. All I have left now are scars. I will continue this product until my hormones are back to normal. I'm also hoping that this will continue to work with my skin. It's gentle to your skin and you will feel that after using it your face is soft. Overall I really like this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sorcha7420 on 2/9/2014 4:45:00 AM more reviews by sorcha7420

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am in my early 40s and when I was in my teens and early 20s had terrible acne. As I got older, my skin improved but even now I've always had to put up with 1-2 spots on my face, usually on my chin line. I've tried loads of cleansers in all price ranges and never found one that I really loved until now. Since I've started using this product, I've had no breakouts. None. I tone my skin afterwards with Simple toner and use Clarins amazing Blue Orchid face oil and my skin has never looked better. It costs about €15 and is worth every cent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CristineF on 1/5/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by CristineF

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am very selective about my skincare so I only buy products that claim to be super gentle, suitable for sensitive skin I even look into baby skincare. As la roche-posay is dedicated entirely to sensitive skin they got a lot of my attention lately and now I have three other products from them beside this cleanser and plan to try a lot more.

This cleanser is said to be gentle and it feels so. It makes a soft, not very abundant lather it also does not irritate my eyes at all (baby no-tears shampoos are more irritating than this) so I use it as a makeup remover for my eyes too with no concern. It also does not dry me out at all. I already repurchased it to have at hand then I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 10/16/2013 8:30:00 AM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've just used up this cleanser, and it was okay.
It just didn't do anything for me skin. Also it's a little to drying for my combinated-dry-sensitive skin. A few weeks after starting using, my skin broke out really badly. If it was because of this cleanser, i don't now but it could've been.

However it makes your skin feeling clean and it removes makeup ok, but I will sugest still using makeup remover before using.

- I would not repurchase, but give a try! Maybe it would work for you? I know a lot of people love it, so maybe it's just my skin that's weird...?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Cleansers products