La Roche Posay Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser

3.7

214 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua / Water, Decyl Glucoside, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Polyglyceryl-3 Hydroxylauryl Ether, Peg-4 Dilaurate, Peg-4 Laurate, Zinc Pca, Disodium Edta, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-7, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Peg-4, Parfum / Fragrance.


on 2/11/2015 3:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

PROS:
The bottle with the pump gives just enough
Nice and foamy
Good smell
Large bottle
Company is really wonderful about reimbursements
Easily available at my pharmacy

CONS:
Dried out my skin
Didn't help with acne
Price is a bit high

I just didn't find this did anything wonderful for my skin. It foamed up well, had a pleasant smell, and I do not believe it contributed to more breakouts. It did contribute to dry skin.



on 2/11/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I quite liked this product at first but after using it for about two weeks, I noticed it started to dry my skin out. My face felt tight after using it and it didn't help keep my pores clear at all.

On a positive note, it was great at removing my make up but for the price, I saw no real difference in the condition of my skin and it just felt like I was using something like Clearasil.


on 2/9/2015 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A pharmacist recommended this to me to fight a breakout I couldn't explain at the time. It made my face feel extremely tight from the first use. I tried to stick to it for a while as I thought I would get used to it but it overdried and sensitised my skin and no moisturiser could counteract its effects. This is the worst I have ever felt my face. It also didn't help me at all with my breakout. It was caused by a starch containing blush(korres zea mays) I was using; I later found out starch in makeup can encourage bacterial growth if not thoroughly removed by the end of the day. Since my breakout didn't clear up while using this product for cleansing day and night for about a month I can only assume it is not 100% effective in removing makeup. I hate doing this but I threw the rest of it away...


on 2/8/2015 8:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Firstly i hate the grassy scent this has. But the gel itself does its job. Removes make up well. I don't think it does anything to decrease sebum. I haven't been using this long enough to say if it dries my skin. I have noticed that my skin dries more than in my 20's but this doesn't leave my skin feeling tight. So all in all a good cleanser but i won't miss this once i've finished this.


on 1/29/2015 4:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like to use this during spring till autumn. Having combination/oily skin I'm looking for products which decreases production of sebum, but doesn't overdry my skin at the same time. And this is especially what I found in Effaclar cleanser. I also use Effaclat Mat which is great as primer, hides enlarged pores and keep skin matte.


on 12/1/2014 2:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this cleanser. I have acne-prone / oily-combo skin, so I like something that seems to "dry" that up a bit, without overdrying.

I also have the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream....I prefer the lather of the cream version (which is similar in texture to another favorite cleanser, Origins "Checks and Balances"). As a plus, a little goes a long way for both the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream and the Effaclar Purifying Gel Cleanser.

I'd recommend the cream version over the gel, but that's personal preference.


on 11/30/2014 1:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you very oily breakout prone skin this is a really good cleanser. If you have combo sensitive skin like me it can be too drying. I go this in the Effaclar Acne Kit. I love the Clarifying lotion and the Duo is amazing but this cleanser is just too drying on my skin. It does however Completely remove makeup and may actually be a good cleanser for summer when I'm more oily and after sweating from workouts. But I think there are better and more gentle and less drying cleansers for me. It's likely the Sodium Lauryl in it that kills it for me. It's not bad but just not right for my skin type. I have hormonal acne, a touch of folliculitis now and then but I'm 42 and my skin is on the drier side. I think I will switch to the Toleraine cleanser when I'm done with this. It is clearing my skin up, which is why I am giving it 3 stars, more like 3.5.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 4:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser saved my life in my years of teenage acne. Now as a result of moving to a drier climate and my hormones calming down a bit, I find this cleanser too drying - but I gave it five lippies because it is perfect for those with blemish-prone oily skin looking for a cleanser with a minimum number or irritants, as acne treating products are notorious for their harshness.


on 10/24/2014 4:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this gel so much! It cleanses like nobody's business and can completely remove a full face of makeup with any effort. I love using this when I'm very tired in the evening and can't be bothered with makeup removers. I imagine it can be a tad drying for those with normal to dry skin but for my combinated/acne-prone skin it's just perfect. A little goes a VERY long way-a bottle of 125 ml lasts me about 4 or 5 months. Also, in my country at least, this gel has been on a very good price for quite some time! I love this and would definitely repurchase it again.


on 9/25/2014 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a cosmetician I use so many products that my skin started breaking out. (Down side of my job) anyways I decided to stick to one and I tried this gel cleaners. I actually like it, it foams up which I really life you get that clean feeling. The only thing I don't like is the dry feeling I get after using it. I need to go right away with thermal water and a moisturizer. Over all it did help calm my skin down which is what I wanted. Good luck :)


Back to Top