Suave • Professionals Humectant Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 3/31/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What a bargain for dry hair! I pay $1.99 or less for a bottle of this and it's as good or better than the expensive ($20 a bottle) shampoos I used to use.

Agree with folks who say to rinse it well.

I use it with Suave conditioner and my hair is in great shape, even in winter. Even my hair dresser comments on how healthy my hair looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 10/17/2013 3:45:00 AM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A few years ago, I had a real hair trauma (most of my healthy long hair simply broke off a few inches from my scalp, over the space of a couple of weeks) that was caused merely by using a salon shampoo for a very short amount of time (the story of which I detailed in some of my other shampoo reviews here).

After that situation occurred, the only product line I could find that helped my hair in the slightest was Redken All Soft - the old formula of All Soft which had avocado oil in it (not the current formula with argan oil in it). The old All Soft was just perfect for my hair and I used it for a couple of years. Unfortunately, they changed the All Soft ingredients list and ruined it for me, so in the last year I've had to expend a lot of time, effort, and money to try many other lines of shampoo/conditioner in order to find something that worked EVEN SLIGHTLY for my hair and didn't make it look terrible and behave badly.

I've trialled $50 sets of shampoo/conditioner (Pureology from a salon) all the way down to $2 sets (White Rain from Dollar Tree).

Surprisingly, given its inexpensive price tag (often less than $4 a set), the "least worst" option, which I've now used for a couple of months, is Suave Professionals Humectant Moisture shampoo and conditioner for dry hair - available in most drug stores and supermarkets etc.

I don't mind paying a higher price for products that work for me, but I have now tried so many ranges at all price points, and this is still the best one for my hair that I've found.

It doesn't have the same great effect on my hair as the old formula All Soft - I guess nothing ever will.

But it makes my hair reasonably conditioned, reasonably shiny.

At the point of being halfway through my first bottles (which were the 16 ounce size) of the Suave shampoo and conditioner, that's when my hair kind of fully adapted to it and appeared to be doing pretty well with it, and that's when I decided that I'll stick with this brand for now.

By the way, some say that this Suave formula is a duplicate of Nexxus humectant shampoo/conditioner but I do not find them to be similar, at least on my hair. (I tried out the Nexxus versions earlier this year.)

The Suave site itself says this about this product line: "Salon proven to moisturize as well as Paul Mitchell Instant Moisture Daily Shampoo and Daily Treatment," so it seems they are now trying to duplicate that Paul Mitchell line instead of the Nexxus one.

Note: The Suave Professionals Humectant bottle looks different now than it appears in the main photo on this listing, which seems to be a few years old. I've added a photo of the current bottles (it is photo 3 above). I also think the formula ingredients might have changed, over the years, as well.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 9/20/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure if there are more "soap" ingredient, salts, and other drying agents in lower priced shampoos or what the story is, but this shampoo and others in its price range never seem to be moisturizing enough for my damaged hair. My now ex- often bought this product, and both he & I walked around with perpetually dry hair. It has a great lather & a really nice fragrance, but I find there to be too many cleansing agents and not enough moisturizing ones. In fact, because of the nice fragrance, it wouldn't be a bad thing to keep around for that once-a-week cleansing treatment to rid your hair of build-up. But I found there to be nothing moisturizing about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DMlover on 8/11/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by DMlover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this shampoo and it smelled amazing and it left my hair silky smooth. I thought I found my HG shampoo but then I realized it was making my scalp very oily. I'm very certain it was this product because it only occurred whenever I used this. Its too bad because it smells great and it's very affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 2/19/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is supposed to moisturize as well as Nexxuss Therappe. I've used both, and for the price I'll use this one. The only sulfate is Sodium Laureth Sulfate, which is supposedly milder than SLS.
It smells lovely and I just need a nickel sized dollop for my shoulder length curly hair. It rinses cleanly and my hair does not feel stripped at all; it also does NOT cause my hair color to fade. I paid $1.67 for the 12 oz bottle; seriously, if I like it this much, why would I try something more expensive?
I've also used the color protection series and black raspberry & white tea, and have success with all of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 1/17/2013 1:07:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I waited a long time to try this shampoo. For some reason, I always wait a long time after a new product comes out before I purchase it. Mostly because I want to see how long it takes before other people try it, the manufacturer works out the kinks (no pun intended, lol) and re-launches it.

I went back and looked at reviews from 2010 and I think the shampoo may have been reformulated, so it was time to buy. $2.19 at my local market. I've never purchased the Nexxus product as a comparison because I don't believe in spending a lot of money on shampoo. It's soap.

It's got a ton of silicone in it, which is fine because my hair is long, coarse and dry. I washed my hair with it twice, rinsed well. I did the squeak test, but there was no squeak, which always lets me know if there is enough moisture left in my hair.

I will buy this again. It gets my hair clean, does not dry it out, a little goes a long way and it lathers very well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chrissyislame on 8/27/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by chrissyislame

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw this at Wal-Mart when I was looking for a new shampoo to buy because I had recently died my hair again. I used some Suave products in the past and my sister told me that this kind was really good when she used it before.
When I first used it, the shampoo went on and my hair became so tangled and took forever to come through. After I washed it all out and it dried, my hair seemed fine and soft. The next day though, it was very dry, my scalp itched so much. I have used it several times and it still ends up with the same result the next day. I will not buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sharee20 on 4/17/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by sharee20

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

works great for me, no compliants. doesnt strip my hair and cleans it well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenettd on 12/28/2011 10:48:00 AM more reviews by jenettd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product along with the conditioner. I have relaxed hair and it leaves my hair very soft. I also have the shea butter and almond line, but they don't leave my hair as moisturized as this line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fromstarstuff on 12/11/2011 4:16:00 PM more reviews by fromstarstuff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The smell was nice, but it wasn't moisturizing at all like it claimed. It didn't make my hair feel more dry than normal, but it certainly didn't make it feel less so. My problem is that something in the shampoo irritates my scalp like crazy. As soon as my hair starts air drying, it feels like my scalp is on fire. It actually made my scalp raw and even made it peel in some spots. It took me several uses to realize that I didn't suddenly have dandruff! My best guess is that whatever they're using for fragrance is what my skin doesn't like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Suave products

More Shampoo products