Suave Professionals Humectant Shampoo


81 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $


Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Dimethiconol, Carbomer, Fragrance (Parfum), Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, TEA-Dodecylbenzenesulfonate, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, PPG-9, Tocopheryl Acetate [Vitamin E Acetate], Arginine HCl, Lysine HCl, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Hair Keratin Amino Acids, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract, Silk Amino Acids, Methylisothiazolinone, Honey, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

on 8/13/2015 4:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I only use the Suave Professionals line, not the naturals for example the Strawberry,Rainforesh fresh, Ocean breeze. They dry the f*** out of my hair! But the Humectant Shampoo and Conditioner duo works wonders! I have been using this on and off ever since it first came out! 15yrs ago ill say. When I get out of the shower after using this, my hair feels soooo silky! I scrunch my curls and throw a little lustrasilk curl activator...This stuff is awesome for very dry hair. Give it a try! I usually leave the Conditioner in for 3-5 minutes depending on how frizzy it can get...Try it!

on 3/27/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

I think this shampoo overall works pretty well on my long, super fine hair. It cleanses well but not so much that it leaves hair feeling stripped. It seems like it may add a bit of moisture but I'm not sure since my hair isn't really that dry. I like to pair it with Suave naturals conditioner - leaves my hair soft and manageable. I don't like it as much as my usual Suave keratin shampoo but it's good enough for me to consider buying again in the future.

on 11/8/2014 4:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite shampoos from the suave line. I love the smell, it leaves my hair not only clean but also soft as well. The price is incredibly cheap, it doesn't hurt to try it out. Definitely recommend it if you have dry thick hair.

on 3/31/2014 1:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

What a bargain for dry hair! I pay $1.99 or less for a bottle of this and it's as good or better than the expensive ($20 a bottle) shampoos I used to use.

Agree with folks who say to rinse it well.

I use it with Suave conditioner and my hair is in great shape, even in winter. Even my hair dresser comments on how healthy my hair looks.

on 10/17/2013 3:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A few years ago, I had a real hair trauma (most of my healthy long hair simply broke off a few inches from my scalp, over the space of a couple of weeks) that was caused merely by using a salon shampoo for a very short amount of time (the story of which I detailed in some of my other shampoo reviews here).

After that situation occurred, the only product line I could find that helped my hair in the slightest was Redken All Soft - the old formula of All Soft which had avocado oil in it (not the current formula with argan oil in it). The old All Soft was just perfect for my hair and I used it for a couple of years. Unfortunately, they changed the All Soft ingredients list and ruined it for me, so in the last year I've had to expend a lot of time, effort, and money to try many other lines of shampoo/conditioner in order to find something that worked EVEN SLIGHTLY for my hair and didn't make it look terrible and behave badly.

I've trialled $50 sets of shampoo/conditioner (Pureology from a salon) all the way down to $2 sets (White Rain from Dollar Tree).

Surprisingly, given its inexpensive price tag (often less than $4 a set), the "least worst" option, which I've now used for a couple of months, is Suave Professionals Humectant Moisture shampoo and conditioner for dry hair - available in most drug stores and supermarkets etc.

I don't mind paying a higher price for products that work for me, but I have now tried so many ranges at all price points, and this is still the best one for my hair that I've found.

It doesn't have the same great effect on my hair as the old formula All Soft - I guess nothing ever will.

But it makes my hair reasonably conditioned, reasonably shiny.

At the point of being halfway through my first bottles (which were the 16 ounce size) of the Suave shampoo and conditioner, that's when my hair kind of fully adapted to it and appeared to be doing pretty well with it, and that's when I decided that I'll stick with this brand for now.

By the way, some say that this Suave formula is a duplicate of Nexxus humectant shampoo/conditioner but I do not find them to be similar, at least on my hair. (I tried out the Nexxus versions earlier this year.)

The Suave site itself says this about this product line: "Salon proven to moisturize as well as Paul Mitchell Instant Moisture Daily Shampoo and Daily Treatment," so it seems they are now trying to duplicate that Paul Mitchell line instead of the Nexxus one.

Note: The Suave Professionals Humectant bottle looks different now than it appears in the main photo on this listing, which seems to be a few years old. I've added a photo of the current bottles (it is photo 3 above). I also think the formula ingredients might have changed, over the years, as well.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

on 9/20/2013 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure if there are more "soap" ingredient, salts, and other drying agents in lower priced shampoos or what the story is, but this shampoo and others in its price range never seem to be moisturizing enough for my damaged hair. My now ex- often bought this product, and both he & I walked around with perpetually dry hair. It has a great lather & a really nice fragrance, but I find there to be too many cleansing agents and not enough moisturizing ones. In fact, because of the nice fragrance, it wouldn't be a bad thing to keep around for that once-a-week cleansing treatment to rid your hair of build-up. But I found there to be nothing moisturizing about it.

on 8/11/2013 4:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried this shampoo and it smelled amazing and it left my hair silky smooth. I thought I found my HG shampoo but then I realized it was making my scalp very oily. I'm very certain it was this product because it only occurred whenever I used this. Its too bad because it smells great and it's very affordable.

on 2/19/2013 12:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This shampoo is supposed to moisturize as well as Nexxuss Therappe. I've used both, and for the price I'll use this one. The only sulfate is Sodium Laureth Sulfate, which is supposedly milder than SLS.
It smells lovely and I just need a nickel sized dollop for my shoulder length curly hair. It rinses cleanly and my hair does not feel stripped at all; it also does NOT cause my hair color to fade. I paid $1.67 for the 12 oz bottle; seriously, if I like it this much, why would I try something more expensive?
I've also used the color protection series and black raspberry & white tea, and have success with all of them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 1/17/2013 1:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I waited a long time to try this shampoo. For some reason, I always wait a long time after a new product comes out before I purchase it. Mostly because I want to see how long it takes before other people try it, the manufacturer works out the kinks (no pun intended, lol) and re-launches it.

I went back and looked at reviews from 2010 and I think the shampoo may have been reformulated, so it was time to buy. $2.19 at my local market. I've never purchased the Nexxus product as a comparison because I don't believe in spending a lot of money on shampoo. It's soap.

It's got a ton of silicone in it, which is fine because my hair is long, coarse and dry. I washed my hair with it twice, rinsed well. I did the squeak test, but there was no squeak, which always lets me know if there is enough moisture left in my hair.

I will buy this again. It gets my hair clean, does not dry it out, a little goes a long way and it lathers very well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I saw this at Wal-Mart when I was looking for a new shampoo to buy because I had recently died my hair again. I used some Suave products in the past and my sister told me that this kind was really good when she used it before.
When I first used it, the shampoo went on and my hair became so tangled and took forever to come through. After I washed it all out and it dried, my hair seemed fine and soft. The next day though, it was very dry, my scalp itched so much. I have used it several times and it still ends up with the same result the next day. I will not buy this product again.

Back to Top