Clinique Superbalanced Foundation

3.5

714 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Butylene Glycol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone, Isotetracosane, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Coconut Acid, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Lecithin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Laureth-7, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Polyethylene, Alumina, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides Updated: 7/5/2013 New formulation


on 5/21/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beige chiffon is a perfect match for me, nc20 -25. Clinique classes it as a moderately fair neutral. It is neutral but leans yellow so works well on my asian skintone. It's the most yellow of the colours imo, followed by nude beige which is medium. HOWEVER, I feel that in it's entirety the colour range (in the uk anyway) is way too pink.
It blends easily. The finish is v natural demi-matte. It doesn't cling to dry patches. It does not mattify my t zone but it's not greasy either.
They don't have the pump in the uk (I asked) but I can live with the pkg as it's quite attractive.
Woot! Five stars. However, I don't see this colour on the
US website anymore so maybe it's being discontinued. Typical.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/16/2015 3:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

In general I like the liquid foundations from Clinique, and as I currently have combined to dry skin this was the way to go. I overall really like this foundation. The colour match works well for me, it's easy to apply (I use a stipple brush), it has a nice consistency, and lasts the entire day without powder. The smell is very neutral typical foundation smell. The finish of the foundation is natural with a slight dewy look to the skin. I wish it had a SPF, preferably of 30 for the very fair tones.

There is a lot of wonderful things about the product, which is why it pains me that the packaging is so unpractical. The glass bottle looks so pretty when it's standing on my makeup table, it's less pretty when the product splashes out of it in big gulps since there is no pump included in the 23$ price. A lot of product goes to waste when you can't squeeze or pump the flask, so remember to buy the pump separately.

Even though I like the foundation a lot, I think the flask is too wasteful, and the lack of SPF is not ideal for me, so I will not repurchase but rather go back to Clinique's even better foundation.


on 5/14/2015 8:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I recently went on a hunt for a new foundation. My trusty Revlon foundation's colour just wasn't right anymore. I went to Bobbi Brown for their Skin foundation, MAC to try Studio fix, NARS to try Luminous and Clinique to get SB.

After trying the other, more expensive brands (cause expensive is better, right!) I finally tried the clinique.

Well, I was sold.I love it. I tried it without a primer first. It didn't stick in pores, or accentuate dry patches. The colour was perfect (#3 Ivory) and it was very blendable. I also liked that it was a medium coverage and I could still see MY skin through it.

Its also almost half the price of the other ones, so I was pleased that it was my favourite!

I now team it with Clinique's Pink Primer and always have flawless skin. Will be sticking with this foundation for awhile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this at an Ulta about a year and a half ago. This was my very first "non-drugstore" foundation so I had really nothing else to compare it to. During warmer seasons it would make my skin incredibly oily and it just seemed to melt off. It DID cover up my blemishes but it made dry spots and oilyness worse. I have since used a different foundation, WITH A PUMP (I didn't know the joys of having a foundation with a built in pump until I got this new foundation). I was told that the Superbalanced was good for combo skin but again, it just didn't work out for me.


on 4/19/2015 6:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Clinique is my go to brand for foundation because I have combination skin with a few blemishes. I wanted to try out a different foundation from the Acne solutions from Clinique that I originally was using. I was suggested this foundation and I find that I don't love it or hate it. Throughout the day I find my skin more oily from the foundation and I find some days when my skin is having an off day that it doesn't go on as smooth as I would like. The bottle is also annoying. It is a glass bottle that when you first start using the bottle it doesn't let the foundation come out and after using the product for a while my bottle is messy, covered in foundation and I can never get the right amount of foundation out because it just pours out the bottle like crazy. In all the foundation gives good coverage , but I prefer the Clinique acne solutions over this one.


on 3/22/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried it today for the first time so this is my first impression on this foundation. I put it over my day creme with flat kabuki. I wasn't fan of the packaging at first because it doesn't have the pump and I prefer the tubes over the glass bottles because they are easier to travel with and you can control the amout that comes off. But I dipped my kabuki directly on the product and it worked just fine. It blends easy and doesn't feel heavy on the skin and looks like my skin, but better. The finish is matte, which I prefer because of my combination skin type. I always set my foundation with powder, either loose or pressed and with most of the foundations my T-zone shines trough after 2-3 hours, but this foundation stayed matte after 3 hours which is a BIIIG plus for me. It kinda reminds me of Estee Lauder Double Wear because it was the only foundation that kept me matte whole day, but I've already fallen in love with this one because it isn't heavy looking on the skin. I hope it'll stay that way and this becomes my HG foundation. So far, I really REALLY loved it.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was recommended this foundation at Sephora so I decided to try it out. It is honestly one of the most natural looking foundations that I have personally tried. After first applying it, it looks really natural and my skin felt silky smooth. It's $23 which isn't too bad for a high-end foundation. However, it kinda seems to remind me of the Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Normal to Dry Skin Formula) which is about half the price. Also, the bottle of the Clinique foundation is frosted so it's hard to tell how much product you have left.


on 2/19/2015 6:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The best foundation, in the worst bottle... I really love this foundation. I makes my skin look almost perfect, moisturizes and mattes the t-zone. Hate the packaging though. It's impossible to get the right amount out of it and the foundation stucks on the outside of the bottle top. Please change this Clinique, and I promise to stay by this one forever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first tried Clinique's Superbalanced Foundation when I received it as a sample in a magazine. I never thought I'd use a make-up sample from a magazine, but I ran out of foundation and was desperate. Needless to say, I fell in love with this smooth foundation. It evens out my skin tone and feels good on. Clinique offers tons of shades and I don't know anyone who has had trouble finding a perfect match to their skin tone. Because this product does not come in a squirt bottle it is easy to use every last drop of liquid in the bottle which means it lasts a long while. I can normally get one bottle to last me anywhere from 6 - 8 months. I've been using this foundation for 6 years and have no plans to look anywhere else!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2015 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finding a color was so hard, only 2 are suitable for people with pale skin, and even then they're a bit dark if you're really white. The coverage isn't full, it's quite light. It feels alright on the skin and it didn't make me break out like most foundations do. I won't buy it again though, it dries extremly fast and is a little hard to blend.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top