Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(696 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Christinezyy0207 on 9/10/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Christinezyy0207

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this foundation, and it was my first foundation when I was in high school. I loved the coverage. My skin did not have any acnes, and the condition of my skin was great at that time, so I guess any foundation would look good on me. Since I did not put foundation everyday. This took me more than 2 years to finish this product. I guess that because of the long period, this foundation might had been oxidized, so my skin looked oily and orange later putting this product. I quit using it. But the good thing is that most of this foundation has been used already.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Twobit89 on 9/8/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Twobit89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I absolutely love this foundation. I've tried just about every luxury and drugstore foundation available, and this one is hard to beat. It applies evenly, has buildable coverage, and stays put for a decent amount of time. I can put this on in the morning after my 3-step, set it with loose powder, and my foundation stays put through an 8-hour day. I do have to touch up if I go out at night, but that's not really uncommon. I like the little glass jar because there's something nostalgic and elegant about glass packaging. Many of the reviews I've read have expressed a concern about the pump-less bottle, but Clinique actually sells a pump to use with this foundation for $2. Like almost all Clinique products, this foundation did not break me out, so it definitely gets repurchased by me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kw153028 on 8/3/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Kw153028

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! I picked this up after my skin started getting very itchy from my other foundations and I was surprised by how well it performed. This foundation is a very versatile, it has a nice coverage and is buildable if you want a more full look. They have a very a rather large shade range which is very nice. I have dry skin so it doesn't cling to my dry spots or look too cakey. This truly is a hidden gem. Not too many people bring it up too much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ruthia101 on 7/15/2014 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Ruthia101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for a couple of years now. I really like the colour and the way it blends into my skin. I don't use foundation all over my face, just where I need it. This works very well for this. It doesn't look like I'm wearing loads of foundation, but saying that it could have better coverage. The texture is good and it doesn't cause my skin to break out. I haven't found a foundation I like more (yet) but I don't think this is my perfect foundation, and when I find it I will change! I'm not so keen on the bottle, I always have to shake it and put my finger over the end to get the right amount, which I think it a bit unhygienic, but its not the worst out there and the bottle is clear so you can see what's inside. Over all I think its relatively good, but probably not the best for the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miafiona on 6/26/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by miafiona

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Overall really nice. My skin type- normal /dry cheeks with a slightly oily tzone and blemishes in the tzone making me have a combination skin type. (I am a type 2 in the clinique skincare system.) Pros of this foundation - This stuff is great if you don't like that feel of heavy makeup. It feels very light which I like very much. It has a very lovely smell.the coverage is good for
Me it gives a natural finish to my skin and would say it is a medium coverage. Doesn't look cakey and appears fairly natural. Amazing for sensitive skin. I have super sensitive skin and find most foundations break me out. This is great for delicate skin. Cons of product - the packaging I do not like I find a pump would be more practical and would distribute a more appropriate amount. Glass is very pretty on your vanity table but not practical. My shade (04 cream chamois ) is slightly slightly orangey but I have a bit of a tan so isn't a problem. Not sure what other shades were like but this shade wouldn't be good for. Very fair skin. The product does get rid of redness of blemishes but due to it only being medium coverage larger blemishes would need concealer. Lasts about 4 hrs on my skin without powder with powder about 6. Do need to touch up a little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iamjuliat on 6/19/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by iamjuliat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation I've ever used, and it's not too bad. Coverage is always good, and the colour matches my skin perfectly. However, the one major issue I have with it is shine/oil control. My skin, in particular on my nose, gets very shiny, and I notice some shine even after just an hour of wearing this foundation. It's supposed to control the oil, however on my nose, the most oil prone area of my face, it doesn't. It's annoying to have to keep blotting and reapplying powder. However, it's not too pricey compared to other brands, so it does the trick in terms of coverage if I'm just going out for a few hours. I like the buildable nature of this foundation, and it's not cakey either. It's only downfall is the oil control, for me at least. Perhaps for people with skin that isn't oily, this may work better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DecembersWoe9895 on 6/6/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by DecembersWoe9895

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique Superbalanced Makeup is overall a decent foundation, but not the right one for me. You see, this is marketed for, and I quote, "dry combination to combination oily" with me having the latter. I got this foundation on my very first trip to Sephora for about $23 USD becuase of the mainly positive reviews here and becuase Superbalanced gives you a bit more product for a tad smaller price than other Clinique foundations. I have had this foundation for about three months, so I believe I've gathered more than enough information on it to share my opinion. Without further ado, here is my review.

The closest shade to my skin tone is 34 Nude Beige (think Kim K) which is a tad too yellowish for my rosier hue, but suffices. Superbalanced Makeup has a thin, liquidity consistency making it fairly easy to spread with a sponge. I find that fingers and brushes only make it go on streakier. However, I cannot see anybody getting more than light coverage out if this as this seems impossible to layer without it caking up or seeping deeper into pores/fine lines. Oh, and don't even think about not priming your face before this foundation! Any uneven surfaces on your skin, whether it be a blemish or dry patch, etc. will cause this to seriously cake.

The lasting power is pretty adequate, even slightly impressive for the high Florida heat and humidity. On average, I can get about six hours of wear before this starts looking even more unnatural and some redeness starts peeking through. I find that finishing powders helps prolong it by an hour or so, but my goodness, I look like I've severely overpowdered myslef. What an inconvenience!

Speaking of inconveniences, the packaging doesn't have a pump! Having a liquid foundation in pumpless bottles is like having loose powder in packaging without a filter. It's going to get everywhere! In addition, if you have a tendency to have butterfingers you should pass up on this becuase it comes in a glass bottle. I get nervous just holding it!

Like I said, Superbalanced Makeup is decent overall. It lacks in buildability, packaging, coverage, and having natural finish. It succeeds in color range, availability, lasting power, not breaking me out, and the ability to spread it. Like most liquid foundations, a little goes a long way. I cannot reccomend this due to the main problems I have with it such as it enlarging my pores, gathering around uneven surfaces, and not covering redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aliciamarie61592 on 5/25/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by aliciamarie61592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. I am pretty picky when it comes to foundation but Clinique's foundation is my favorite by far. I spent $42 at Macy's and it is well worth the price. It matches my skin tone perfectly and lasts all day. I live in a hot and dry climate, so it's hard to find a foundation that doesn't melt off after a few hours. It's a lightweight foundation and feels great on my skin while covering up problem areas and evening my skin tone. I also noticed that after a few days of using it, I had a huge reduction of breakouts. I apply 2 layers of foundation and even with the 2 layers, it still feels natural and not caked on. The only downfall of this stuff is the bottle it comes in. It's kinda messy :/ but overall, I LOVE this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 A66x on 5/4/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by A66x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. It provides a moderate coverage but can be built up to full coverage without looking cakey. It gives a natural dewy look and a little goes a long way. The staying power is quite impressive as I don't need to re apply it at all after an 8 hour busy shift at work. On nights where I would like a more matte finish or more coverage I use Clinique setting powder to finish it off and it is absolutely flawless! I have a dry forehead and cheeks and this foundation doesn't cling to those areas at all. It also stays well on my nose and chin where I do get a little more oily as the day goes on. Does not cause me to break out and feels great on the skin. Definitely my HG foundation, thank you Clinique!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 5/3/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Maaaaaaaaaan. Im sure this foundation would be great for my combination skin (my mom had always used forever) but the lightest shade (breeze) is STILL about 2-3 shades too dark for me : ( : ( : ( :( This makes me so sad, now I have to go return it!

I dont know why clinique seems to only offer midshade ranges and nothing very porcelain and nothing very dark. I cant wear any of their foundations because of this issue.

Just for your info I am about NC5 in mac (if they had an nc5 haha) so if you are similar you might be too pale for this as well.

Also, with the bottle not having a pump I feel like it would waste alot of foundation once you get to the end of it as it wont pour out of the flat surfaces inside very well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products