Jan Marini Benzoyl Peroxide Wash 2.5%

4.3

10 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% Inactive Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Sorbitol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Glycerin, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben 01/07/11


on 10/25/2013 1:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have acne prone, combo dry/oily skin. I've struggled with it since I was 15. Now at 35, I still have the same issues + aging. I've been using this for over a year and this wash is awesome. My skin is glowing and no acne. I only use it once a day in the evening after removing makeup with DHC cleansing oil. I also use Genefique serum after using this face wash. This regimen at night has done wonders for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/9/2012 6:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have used this twice, 2 days apart and it gave me a rash. I'm disappointed because it seemed gentle and non-drying. The rash appeared after the second use. I'm still giving it a 4, as I obviously have a sensitivity to BP. I think this would work great for people who tolerate BP well.


on 9/6/2012 8:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this wash. I used to use Benzoyl peroxide for years with success until one day (like 6 years later) it stopped working. I've avoided it for several years. Recently started to break out, been dealing with a dermatologist, she put me on retin a micro, metro gel. My skin NEVER got clear after 10 weeks of use I had chemical burns. I stopped the Retin A and started using this....I kid you not I was clearer after 2 washes than I had been in 6 months. I'm going to try to use Retin a micro 2 x a week along with this wash every night.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this for my husband's mild acne. It works really well on him and has cleared most of his serious spots. It can be drying on the skin though, so make sure that you have a good moisturiser.


on 8/1/2008 6:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a decent cleanser. When I first started using it I feel like my face cleared up pretty well, but after a while it just stopped doing anything. What I liked about it is that is really cleaned my face, without the dryness.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this wash. It has cleared up my back quite nicely in a short amount of time. I wash with a gentle cleanser, then rinse, then apply this, leave it on for about 10 minutes, rinse, dry off and apply Alpha Hydrox 10% enhanced lotion. The best my back has looked in a looooong time. :)


on 10/22/2004 6:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I keep this on hand to use when my skin really starts acting up. Normally I use the glycolic cleanser. I find the BP wash too drying to use every day. It makes my skin dry, red, and irritated if I use it for more than a few days in a row. This is great to use if you're breaking out though. I would definitely recommend keeping this on hand. It doesn't take very much product so a bottle will last a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2004 10:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

An average cleanser. Didn't help my acne much. Discontinued using it and noticed all I needed was Jan Marini's Benzoyl Peroxide 10% to keep my face clear. Now looking for a cleanser that'll make my face look "wow". Next up is JM's bioglycolic cleanser...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2004 5:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very drying. Only suitable to oily acne prone skin. Would recommend Bioglycolic cleanser if you have acne & combination skin.


on 5/15/2003 8:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My teenage son was having moderate acne breakouts. OTC products weren't really working. The dermatolgist prescribed Retin A, which got rid of the acne but left in its wake raw, peeling, inflammed skin that looked awful and painful. Not an appropriate trade off! Retin A is pure crap for moderate acne -- I can't imagine why doctors continue to prescribe this as the first line of attack rather than trying milder treatments first. Back to the dermatologist. He prescribed Triaz - a 3% benzoyl peroxide wash and a seperate gel. He gave us samples. Using the samples, my son's face became beautifully clear. But Triaz is $60 per bottle! So I went in search of an OTC benzoyl peroxide wash and found that stores don't carry them -- only highly concentrated bp spot treatments. Online I found Jan Marini's BP 2.5% wash for $25 for 8 oz with free shipping -- you use so little that this bottle will last at least 4-6 months. My son began using it, and his skin remains remarkably clear, with only a few very normal spots coming up now and again. Warnings: Some people are senstive to BP. BP solutions bleach, so be careful of surrounding materials when you're using it. One glaring flaw with this product is that it has no ingredients list. Nothing in it has irritated my son's face (and his skin is sensitive) - it has no scent, no color and no scrubby additives -- but if your skin really hates certain ingredients, you might email for a list of ingredients before you buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
534 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top