Agent Provocateur • Agent Provocateur • Fragrances

rated 3.5(271 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Aimbl on 10/24/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I dislike the pink egg. It's girly, and this is not a frilly girly fragrance but a modern, leathery rose chypre. AP opens with an almost tannic, pronounced, somewhat green, unsweetened rose, but it morphs into a downy soft dry down evocative of a little powder. It isn't a harsh or overtly vintage powder; actually it's quite gentle. I have a skin chemistry issue with certain phenolic chypres like Piguet Bandit, but AP is much easier to handle.

Less animalic and less floral (unkind people would say 'less skunky' ) and easier to locate for better price and condition, than vintage Paloma Picasso mon parfum in the white circular bottle (not black). I would characterize this as a modern homage to Paloma Picasso, or perhaps a less green homage to Caron Or et Noir extrait.

Less green than green bitter walnut (exuberant and polarizing) Nahema or vintage green grassy Ivoire de Balmain (nahema and Ivoire are totally different from each other as well). Less sweet than l'arte di Gucci EdP. I haven't retested L'arte EdT recently - that is more green than the EdP.

No honey, no amber, so not dusky in the same way as vintage Ungaro diva, vintage EL knowing, etc. no extraneous tobacco, incense, smoke, etc etc. There is no fruit that I can detect, even un-sugared fruit, like Voleur de Roses or Caron Femme. This is not gourmand fruity at all.

In an ideal world, if all mainstream perfumes were this good and this reasonably priced, there would be no need for luxury niche. Any hesitation that I have regarding how much of this fragrance to buy has nothing to do with AP's particular merits and more to do with the vast amounts of rose chypre category I already own and the physical problems of fitting a big pink egg into that section of the fragrance wardrobe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladyc74 on 7/25/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by ladyc74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful powdery floral-chypre. I have always loved it. I wore it in my twenties, stopped, then went back to it recently. I adore it as much as I ever did. It isn't as cool and elegant as my ultimate favourite, L'Heure Bleue, but it's nice to have it on my shelf for when I fancy it. Naughty bottle that looks a bit like a breast! (or is it just me?) A modern classic. Just wish it wasn't sold in as many places - originally it was exclusive to one London department store!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theresasampson on 4/5/2014 7:22:00 PM more reviews by theresasampson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So many reviews! Agent P has been called a modern rose chypre..for me has a slightly spicy top with a dry dark rose resting on a bed of leather & musk. I don't find the white floral immediately noticable but they are apparent when you compare this scent to a rose soliflore. I feel that these white florals combines with the leathery musky base might be what some feel is 'dirty' or animalic. I don't think this was desinged to be a 'safe'' scent but can understand not everyones cup of tea

If you like dark roses or chypres you will enjoy this, it is not sweet nor fresh. I feel the patchouli is almost chocolaty versus green/herby and I have gotten compliments on this. I gave a bottle away, kept a decant & then had to buy a second bottle. sometimes I just can't decide.lol I find it very reasonably priced from some discounters

Sillage moderat to large depending on application
Longvity 6 hours

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mermaidunicorns on 9/23/2013 11:53:00 PM more reviews by mermaidunicorns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was very excited to try this perfume because i love mature sexy scents. However, when i smelled this, i almost passed out! It is very strong at first and some what nauseating. I sprayed a little on and my sister said "who smells like a grandma?" haha. I'm pretty sure this would scare men away instead of attract them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cara_M on 1/22/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by Cara_M

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have such a love/hate relationship with this perfume! I'm a massive Agent Provocateur fan and have a ton of their lingerie, so I couldn't wait to try this when it was launched. My first impressions were not good - it was too musky, too overpowering, had too much rose, and it felt kind of old ladyish. I thought it was trying to be retro for the sake of it -and was a bit try hard (in that 'i wear a 50s conical bra' kind of way). However, after many visits to the boutiques, I began to crave the smell and succumbed to buying a small bottle. Gradually my opinion had changed and I began to see the appeal - it reminds me of something a glamourous and wealthy burlesque dancer in Paris might wear in the 40s for an assignation with her lover. And who woudn't like a bit of that magic?! I only wear this when I'm dressing in a vintage style, but strangely, I never wear it when meeting a new lover, as it's a perfume that I think the modern man might find disorientating and overwhelming (at first) but I think over time he just might become addicted to it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KittyLovesGingers on 11/30/2012 3:23:00 PM more reviews by KittyLovesGingers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just adore this. It makes me feel like a forties screen goddess (so much so that I usually wait until I have my hair up and am wearing Russian Red lippie to put this on).
It smells musky and is remiscent of a cross between Chanel Number 19 and Number 5 (which I know everyone says is an oldies perfume but I love it anyway).
Don't test this anywhere but on the skin, as it smells different on everyone I know. It is delicious on them all though!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 confuzzled on 10/27/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by confuzzled

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If I were stranded on a desert island and could only have one perfume, this would be it.

My skin eats perfume, but this one at least hangs on for a while.

AP is NOT for the faint of heart. It was produced by a lingerie company if that tells you anything.

This one, at least on me, is a dark rose/woods scent, unlike anything I have ever tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SweetKaceyJane on 10/27/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by SweetKaceyJane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this, but it is unpleasant. It actually stinks. I get the old-lady, dirty sheets scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MauveRebelle on 8/4/2012 12:50:00 PM more reviews by MauveRebelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this perfume, I love the bottle, I love wearing it. The best way I know to check if a perfume is right (because sometimes I like the fragrance, but it doesn't like me in return) is to have someone touched by it when I am wearing it. Well, it happened with Agent Provocateur. I saw the person was sincerely impressed. I am happy because it's been a while since I last found something that got me a compliment in terms of perfumery. My chemistry pretty much ends up rejecting all the great perfumes I wish I could wear. Anyway, this might be an average classic for a grand nez, but I love the rosy green smell. To me it's the best. Knowing that I do not like rose perfume, it means a lot. But this one is like a reminiscence of rose, because according to Osmoz.com, there is no rose in the composition. I read the comment below, and I must add that I bought my bottle just recently, in year 2012 and that they might have change the composition. Because I see nothing masculine or specific for mature women in it. It's classy, quite light, no headache. I feel sassy and in love when I am wearing it. I also quite like the egg packaging in porcelain and the little one for the purse is too much cute. It symbolizes fertility. Here I am, I found my love pomander !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 plutteluran on 6/28/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by plutteluran

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have heard many people say they canīt stand it. They call it masculine and old-ladysmelling.
To my nose this is a breathtaking beauty. The musk in combination with rose and a hint of tobacco is stunning. The drydown is to die for. Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Agent Provocateur products

More Fragrances products