John Masters Zinc & Sage Shampoo with Conditioner

3.3

47 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Purified, Deionized Water), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Babassuamidopropyl Betaine (Organic Babassu Palm Fruit Derived), Decyl Glucoside, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Zinc Salt, Glycerin, Zinc Pyrithione, Zinc Gluconate, Extracts Of Rosemary, Nettle, Chamomile, Sage, Horsetail, Lavender, Willow Bark, Papaya


on 4/6/2015 8:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have super-sensitive skin. I have to always buy sachet-sized shampoos and conditioners as using the same s/c causes buildup.

I don't understand what the hullabaloo is about this product! The s/c has a sweetish scent and looks silky. However it made my hair feel like straw, very brittle. A lot of hair loss seen too, during the shower. I had to apply jojoba oil as an added conditioner, to soften the hair afterward.

A day later, my scalp also felt super-itchy, scratchy and I had breakouts near the hairline.
Two more days after, my hair looked limp, dull and thin!! I've never ever had a problem of thin hair, but this shampoo seems to have flattened the hair and caused tremendous hair loss.

Absolutely not recommended. I do not understand what the buzz is, about this brand or their prices!

I am resorting to shikakai - it is cheaper and makes the hair smell fragrant and look healthy.



on 1/22/2015 3:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have oily roots and normal/dry ends, and I am usually using shampoos for oily hair and use some leave-in conditioner or milk afterwards. Thats why I was not scared away by "drying" comments here, usually its not a problem for me at all. BUT this one is REAL drying!!! my scalp was itching and usual leave-in conditioner didnt help! Cant imagine that this works for a sensitive scalp as it claims


on 9/17/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am surprised this is a shampoo&conditioner. When I was using it, I always treated my hair with a mask because they were super dry afterwards. It cleans hair pretty nice, smells lovely, the consistency is fine, not runny or anything, it is rinsed super easily, which is a huge plus for me, and it does not affect hair color....BUT its performance in terms of moisturising, is very poor, at least for my hair.


on 9/17/2014 3:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After months of wanting to try this, I purchased this on sale for the low, low price of $15 (sarcasm, folks). I've read mixed reviews about this shampoo, and totally gave into the hype. Now the bottle sits in my shower, mocking me...

Pros:
Great smell, although it doesn't last on the hair. At all.
Clarifying. To the point of drying for those with dry hair.

Cons:
PRICE. Whoa.
Drying.
Not conditioning at all, although it claims to be a two-in-one.

This shampoo made my hair feel extremely coarse. I have an oily scalp and dry ends, and it didn't do me any favors anywhere on my head. Like other natural shampoos, it doesn't lather much at all. It left my hair scraggly and tangled after rinsing. The smell is lovely, but it doesn't last. The two-in-one formula doesn't mean anything; I had to follow up with another conditioner to make my hair feel decent after rinsing.

Overall, not worth it. I'm a hug fan of Suave's Moroccan Oil line, and I'll stick to that, thanks.


on 9/3/2014 7:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to love this and was so excited of trying out this with two samples I got but unfortunately this did not suit me at all! Although it did leave my hair soft with volume it also left my scalp itching like crazy and gave me dandruff all over my scalp! Actually little red bumps developed on my scalp when I had washed with this. Would not purchase this and glad I just had samples of this!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The ultimate decadent shower experience.

I've been using this product for a almost a year now and I swear I could just eat it. I totally feel like Charlie taking a bath in a candy factory. You get it. Finally an efficient natural shampoo for hair with problems which smells plain awesome. That's if you like sweet scent, of course.

Besides its heady caramel-ish fragrance I love, it works very well on my long limp and fine hair. I can safely wash every other day without fearing to look like I poured a whole bottle of oil on myself from day +1. It instantly relieves itchiness, mostly keeps dandruffs at bay, lathers really well. I use a small nut on the top and back of my head and rubs it all homogeneously then let it set for a minute or two before rinsing it. When used that way, a bottle lasts at least 3 months for me.

However, it doesn't really work as a 2-in-1 product. It indeed isn't over-drying, but a detangler is absolutely necessary for me. It works really well in combination with the citrus and neroli detangler (sampled it) and that one, folks, smells like a lemon meringue pie.

I wouldn't normally blow £20 on a daily shampoo but dammit, I was sold the moment I opened and smelled that bottle. John Masters you.


on 3/28/2013 2:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This provides about 80% relief from itchy and irritated scalp for me. I only use it during an itchy episode as I prefer more luxurious products when my scalp is behaving itself. Luxurious price though for quite a small bottle. I do not use a conditioner on top, although I think you should do if your hair is dry. I am not convinced it is a 2 in 1 but when I am treating my scalp I don't think about how my hair looks or feels, just want itch relief! It is a strange shampoo. Feels, looks and smells like liquid caramel which seems an odd choice of aroma for a medical shampoo. However, smell does not hang around so not a problem. Not a pleasure to use really but serves a purpose.


on 3/8/2013 9:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So weird that in a sea of natural smelling products from the John Masters line, this shampoo/conditioner smells identical to a Caramel Macchiato. Combined with the dark, syrupy color, it really feels decadent. I personally love the softness I get from this shampoo. For those of us who wash their hair daily (if not twice,) having built in conditioning properties really cuts back on the dry and stripped feeling. I still use condition on the ends, but, I could imagine those with short styles being able to get away with just this one product.


on 9/18/2012 8:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've tried several of the JM shampoos and wasn't all that impressed with the others, not that there was anything wrong with them (the Primrose one and Lavender) but this is my favourite and the only one I've repurchased (twice now). I bought it because I'd been using some cheapie stuff and my scalp became very irritated and itchy, and after doing a lot of research I thought I'd give this one a try. It was nearly instant relief, certainly after using it for a week I forgot my scalp existed. I use a light conditioner after it and don't view it as a 2-in-1 product but rather a conditioning formula. As with all natural-type shampoos my advice is use a pea-sized amount first, work through hair (don't worry about trying to lather as it won't) and rinse, and then use the same again and you'll get proper lather the second time (this is for long hair, maybe you need less with short). The smell is very sweet like caramel, which I'm not crazy about, but it doesn't linger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2012 9:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my go to shampoo now. I have oily skin and hair and I have my hair colored red every 4 weeks so I need something to control oiliness and that is gentle on color. This shampoo fits the bill perfectly. It leaves my hair clean, soft and shiny and it doesn't seem to get oily as quickly as usual. I pair this with the citrus and neroli conditioner as my hair is very fine and long and it work's great, sulfate free, too! I like the earthy sage scent. I'll continue to repurchase as I've found my HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top