John Masters • Zinc & Sage Shampoo with Conditioner • Shampoo

rated 3.4(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 papaliti on 9/17/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by papaliti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am surprised this is a shampoo&conditioner. When I was using it, I always treated my hair with a mask because they were super dry afterwards. It cleans hair pretty nice, smells lovely, the consistency is fine, not runny or anything, it is rinsed super easily, which is a huge plus for me, and it does not affect hair color....BUT its performance in terms of moisturising, is very poor, at least for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 babysharks on 9/17/2014 3:25:00 PM more reviews by babysharks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After months of wanting to try this, I purchased this on sale for the low, low price of $15 (sarcasm, folks). I've read mixed reviews about this shampoo, and totally gave into the hype. Now the bottle sits in my shower, mocking me...

Pros:
Great smell, although it doesn't last on the hair. At all.
Clarifying. To the point of drying for those with dry hair.

Cons:
PRICE. Whoa.
Drying.
Not conditioning at all, although it claims to be a two-in-one.

This shampoo made my hair feel extremely coarse. I have an oily scalp and dry ends, and it didn't do me any favors anywhere on my head. Like other natural shampoos, it doesn't lather much at all. It left my hair scraggly and tangled after rinsing. The smell is lovely, but it doesn't last. The two-in-one formula doesn't mean anything; I had to follow up with another conditioner to make my hair feel decent after rinsing.

Overall, not worth it. I'm a hug fan of Suave's Moroccan Oil line, and I'll stick to that, thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Aleppanen on 9/3/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by Aleppanen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this and was so excited of trying out this with two samples I got but unfortunately this did not suit me at all! Although it did leave my hair soft with volume it also left my scalp itching like crazy and gave me dandruff all over my scalp! Actually little red bumps developed on my scalp when I had washed with this. Would not purchase this and glad I just had samples of this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 graphicfighter on 12/7/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by graphicfighter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The ultimate decadent shower experience.

I've been using this product for a almost a year now and I swear I could just eat it. I totally feel like Charlie taking a bath in a candy factory. You get it. Finally an efficient natural shampoo for hair with problems which smells plain awesome. That's if you like sweet scent, of course.

Besides its heady caramel-ish fragrance I love, it works very well on my long limp and fine hair. I can safely wash every other day without fearing to look like I poured a whole bottle of oil on myself from day +1. It instantly relieves itchiness, mostly keeps dandruffs at bay, lathers really well. I use a small nut on the top and back of my head and rubs it all homogeneously then let it set for a minute or two before rinsing it. When used that way, a bottle lasts at least 3 months for me.

However, it doesn't really work as a 2-in-1 product. It indeed isn't over-drying, but a detangler is absolutely necessary for me. It works really well in combination with the citrus and neroli detangler (sampled it) and that one, folks, smells like a lemon meringue pie.

I wouldn't normally blow £20 on a daily shampoo but dammit, I was sold the moment I opened and smelled that bottle. John Masters you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 3/28/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This provides about 80% relief from itchy and irritated scalp for me. I only use it during an itchy episode as I prefer more luxurious products when my scalp is behaving itself. Luxurious price though for quite a small bottle. I do not use a conditioner on top, although I think you should do if your hair is dry. I am not convinced it is a 2 in 1 but when I am treating my scalp I don't think about how my hair looks or feels, just want itch relief! It is a strange shampoo. Feels, looks and smells like liquid caramel which seems an odd choice of aroma for a medical shampoo. However, smell does not hang around so not a problem. Not a pleasure to use really but serves a purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 3/8/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

So weird that in a sea of natural smelling products from the John Masters line, this shampoo/conditioner smells identical to a Caramel Macchiato. Combined with the dark, syrupy color, it really feels decadent. I personally love the softness I get from this shampoo. For those of us who wash their hair daily (if not twice,) having built in conditioning properties really cuts back on the dry and stripped feeling. I still use condition on the ends, but, I could imagine those with short styles being able to get away with just this one product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 9/18/2012 8:13:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried several of the JM shampoos and wasn't all that impressed with the others, not that there was anything wrong with them (the Primrose one and Lavender) but this is my favourite and the only one I've repurchased (twice now). I bought it because I'd been using some cheapie stuff and my scalp became very irritated and itchy, and after doing a lot of research I thought I'd give this one a try. It was nearly instant relief, certainly after using it for a week I forgot my scalp existed. I use a light conditioner after it and don't view it as a 2-in-1 product but rather a conditioning formula. As with all natural-type shampoos my advice is use a pea-sized amount first, work through hair (don't worry about trying to lather as it won't) and rinse, and then use the same again and you'll get proper lather the second time (this is for long hair, maybe you need less with short). The smell is very sweet like caramel, which I'm not crazy about, but it doesn't linger.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* knightranch on 7/30/2012 9:53:00 AM more reviews by knightranch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go to shampoo now. I have oily skin and hair and I have my hair colored red every 4 weeks so I need something to control oiliness and that is gentle on color. This shampoo fits the bill perfectly. It leaves my hair clean, soft and shiny and it doesn't seem to get oily as quickly as usual. I pair this with the citrus and neroli conditioner as my hair is very fine and long and it work's great, sulfate free, too! I like the earthy sage scent. I'll continue to repurchase as I've found my HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Veropie on 2/20/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by Veropie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was definitely a huge disappointment. It smelled amazing, like candy, but did nothing for my scalp dryness and flaking. In addition this caused an allergic reaction and breakouts anywhere it came in contact with my face/hairline, and believe me I tried sooo hard several times to keep it away from there. I would rather use something else that is equally useless against my scalp issues but doesn't compound them by breaking me out. I have heard others talk about it being drying but I really wouldn't know about that because I always use a separate conditioner no matter what, with my hair type there isn't a 2-in-1 in the world that could provide enough moisture. This definitely isn't for everyone and considering its lack of performance it is incredibly expensive/overpriced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dolledup21 on 12/12/2011 3:58:00 PM more reviews by dolledup21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

it's all natural and i really like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Shampoo products