Alpha Hydrox Retinol Night ResQ

4.4

85 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Emulsifying Wax, Glycerin, C10 30 Cholesterol/Lanesterol Esters, Cetyl Ricinoleate, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Cyclomethicone, Retinol, Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Acrylates Copolymer, Bisabolol, PEG 10 Soy Sterol, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Stearic Acid, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, BHT, Disodium EDTA, Propyl Gallate, Polysorbate 20, Triethanolamine


on 8/10/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I treat my skin well and often follow different procedures during the changing seasons here in the NE. Summer I need products for oil, winter dryness, etc.


This is an EXCELLENT retinol for the cost. The application is smooth and creamy and the percentage of retinol is pretty decent for an OTC. I apply this in the evening, and do an AHA/Lactic/Glycolic type of wash in the morning.

I had fine lines starting to show on my forehead, and within 1 week of using they are starting to look plumper, combined with the other things I am doing (hydrating skin, getting sleep, chemical peels, etc.). I know that it is the retinol because this is something new that I added to my routine, which I have been doing for many years.



on 3/10/2015 11:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am three months in with this product. I am seeing really nice results. I apply it at bedtime, blended with jojoba oil or moisturizer. My skin is breaking out a lot less, and the tone is pretty, glowy, and even. I would prefer this product if it came in a bottle with a pump.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2015 9:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this about 9-10 months ago after seeing what long-term retinol use could do on /r/skincareaddiction, where another user also recommended this product. I figured it couldn't hurt to try as its inexpensive and I was beginning to notice a few lines on my forehead in addition to acne all along my cheeks, large pores on my cheekbones, and dry skin anywhere that wasn't my T-zone. I needed some HELP!

I didn't really notice any changes until maybe 7 months into using this product every other night after my cleanser and before my moisturizer, when I noticed my acne was mostly cleared and my pores were less crater-like. I kept up with this and now I have zero spots and the old hyperpigmentation from previous breakouts is also fading. My skin has never looked this great. Some nights I go out without any foundation or cover-up, just a little eyeshadow and lippy! I never thought I would be able to do that!

I don't know what did it either, but I don't remember a purging stage. I definitely had some flare-ups but those could be attributed to other things too, like my affinity for skin-picking or a head cold (I break out when I'm sick).

I'm definitely a life-long fan, and I loooveeee looking at my skin in the morning now. I did subtract one lippy because one noticeable forehead line hasn't gone away (so its not a miracle product!) but I do notice a few other light feathery ones disappear when I use this religiously (meaning every night rather than every other)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 11:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

For the price, this is a good product. I couldn't find this in a store around me but it was easily available online (got it on drugstore.com). There's no scent, which I like. This has a light, creamy texture but never makes me greasy and doesn't cause acne. I've used several retinol products in the past, so I've never experienced irritation or dryness with this stuff. I only use it about 2 or 3 times a week, though.
I haven't noticed much of a change in fine lines or wrinkles, so I took off one lippy for that. However, this helps keep my face clearer, evens out skin tone, and makes my skin smoother. I am still searching for an HG retinol product so I'll probably try other products, but I would buy this again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this over a year ago and still haven't finished the original tube. I am one who never got past the flaky skin from prescription retinol products so I thought an over-the-counter version would be a more appropriate alternative. This Alpha Hydrox Retionol Night ResQ cream doesn't cause flaking or redness but it does dry out my skin every time I use it, even as little as 3-4 times per a week (in spite of 2x daily use of moisturizers). Ironically, the drying effect made wrinkles more pronounced. As a result, I stopped using it the past six months. Two years after I really began in earnest to go the anti-aging route with my skincare routine, I find I need something to boost my usual "Deep Facial Lines" wrinkle cream, a Freeman product sold under the Vita-K Professional name, which contains a high concentration of peptides but not nearly as much retinol. I'm going to give this Alpha Hydrox product a try again, with the hope that if I stick with it the drying stage will be temporary. I will update the review if I see any improvement over my original experience. If I don't get past the drying, however, I intend to try Nuetrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Night Cream, which also contains a higher-than-average amount of retinol for an OTC product.

8/31/14 Update: I continue to work my way through this tube on a nightly basis although I suspect it may not be as potent as it used to be. So far, I'm not seeing the drying effect I described before. (I also use my regular moisturizer and anti-aging peptide formula alongside this.) I have two age spots that seem to be fading but other than that I do not see any positive changes. To the contrary, I am going through a major purging episode, probably THE worst breakout I have had in years. I hope it's temporary. If I see any benefits, I'll update this review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Nothing like it for skin firming and the price is amazingly reasonable. Buy it at the Neoteric site for the best deals. Neoteric is the company name; Alpha Hydroxy is the product line name. I stocked up on a buy two get one free deal they run every so often.
I dab some under my eyes too. Used a very tiny amount to test and wow, nothing has ever, ever, ever firmed up that area so fast. I do give the skin there a rest about every 3rd night and apply a regular eye cream. I use it on the rest of my face too. It's my regular night cream.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2014 4:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My skin decided to start aging early. No matter how much water I drank, no matter how healthily I ate, no matter how well I protected my skin from the sun. I started noticing the "11's" between my brows when I was only 21. By the time I was 24, my under-eye skin was crepey with not-so-fine lines, I had laugh lines, and the lines on my forehead were visible from several feet away. I have never been one to yearn for unrealistically-youthful skin as I get older, but to have all of that happen to my skin when I was only in my early-mid 20's was quite bothersome.
I tried products recommended by my dermatologist, but none of them worked nearly as well as this ResQ at smoothing out my skin texture. I have read that retinol is the best ingredient to look for in anti-aging products. I started with using it only under my eyes (every 2-3 nights), as that was the area that was the worst. In about a week, I saw great results. It helped with the other problem areas on my face as well. It is not quite a miracle cure for me, but it works much better than anything else I have tried, and I continue to use it every other night, applied on clean/dry skin, followed by my moisturizer a few minutes later.

In regards to it's use for acne: I do not get acne very often at all, but it has seemed to help increase the recovery time whenever I do get a pimple here and there. I've had some disappear in only 2 days. It also helps with any leftover scarring.

One downside is that my skin seems to rapidly deteriorate whenever I stop using it to experiment with some other anti-aging product. But none of them have worked as well as this, and I will definitely continue to use it, until (or if) I find something better.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2014 1:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product was a complete nightmare. I do not have sensitive skin but this broke me out. I waited for 5 months for the "purging period" to stop. horrible horrible product. I am using Paula's Choice BHA resist weightless body treatment to help me get rid of the acne ( although it says body it is gentle enough for my face). That combined with Aztec Healing clay + Braggs apple cider vinegar mask is slowly bringing my skin back to normal.
You have been warned!


on 4/5/2014 2:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a great product! It has worked wonders on my combo, acne-prone skin. I have definitely noticed a reduction in pore size and my acne is clearing up. Also, my skin is a lot more glowy. I have been using the product for about a week. I am so surprised it works so well, and so quickly to boot.

I apply it on top of moisturizer at night. In the morning, I wash my face and apply moisturizer and sunscreen. Being diligent about this helps, as the product is strong.

The packaging is nice, a metal-ish tube that doesn't allow a ton of oxygen to get to the product.

The price is amazing for something that works so well, I got mine for ~$12 on sale from drugstore.com. This will definitely be a staple in my skincare routine if it continues to work!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2014 12:55:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used Philosophy Help Me at night for years. On a suggestion by a friend, I tried the ResQ. I purchased 2 tubes for the price of one Philosophy. This wins hands down. It is not as thick, so one tube goes along way. I can see and feel the difference in one week. The only problem I had was I could not find it any stores, I had to order online. I purchased it from the Dermstore and it took 3 weeks for delivery. I will buy again, just from somewhere else.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top