Urban Decay • Roach eyeshadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 marsalanotchicken on 8/22/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by marsalanotchicken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the ONLY eyeshadow that I've actually ever run out of and repurchased! Shadows tend to last me forever, and I'm always trying out new ones, so I've seldom been in a position to use one up completely let alone notice a gap in the collection. This gem, however, was a go-to whenever I knew i wanted to love the result and wasn't willing to risk trying something new, and long after my package had crashed and crumbled I still used up every last morsel and found myself surprisingly unable to fill the void.

It was bought for me years ago as a gift by a far-more-makeup-savvy friend, and it was really the first time I ever tried a product that actually clued me into the magic that makeup can do...while unassuming in the package, it's a lovely reddish-brown chocolatey shimmer that worked wonders for my [pale, neutral] coloring. It did what I'd tried (and failed!) so many times to do with other neutral/brown shadows, which was to pull the green out of my often-unremarkable more-brown-than-green hazel eyes and make it POP. I'd had limited success with purple/mauve but that's quite a bit more of a statement, not generally an everyday option. This stuff can be used subtly for daytime/work or crazy-dark and dramatic for evening (even smokey and as a liner!) and either way it stays put til you wash it off. My friend who gifted it to me had beautiful blue eyes and it was also stunning on her, so I'd imagine it would work well on a lot of folks, but in particular if your eyes are hazel with a mishmash of colors like mine, this shade is an amazing find, I highly recommend. Sure it's not cheap, but for how long it lasts and the effects you'll get? More than worth it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/18/2014 7:10:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Roach is a very pretty metallic burgandied shade. On my hand it swatched with almost plummy tones which is what I wanted. However, when I put it on my eye, it came off very, very reddish brown which is one of the worse colors for my under eye circles. It did pair very well with Laced. It is a very pretty color. Just not on my deep soft winter, brown eyes, NW20 skin with genetic under eye circles and almost black hair. For the record, it wasn't awful, but it was hardly complimentary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 7/13/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my every day staple eyeshadows. I absolutely love the color, on my fair skin tone its a reddish-brown with a pretty shimmer to it. It lasts a whole school day and looks full on color without primer.

My makeup look is quite gothy, so I actually use this under my eyes when I want my eyes to look sunken in and it looks perfect. (I know, its not for everyone) I also use it if I am doing a dark eye to blend out black eye shadow.

Overall, quite a nice investment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akneil on 4/12/2013 3:58:00 PM more reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was given this shadow as a gift, and I absolutely love it. It is such a gorgeous colour, I can't get enough of it. It blends right in with the UD neutrals (or your naked palette) for a really nice brown smokey eye.
It is a really nice shimmery warm chocolate brown/ bronze.
Try it at Sephora if you aren't sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bottles on 11/28/2012 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Bottles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this on a whim, it didn't look like much in the store but I needed a pretty brown shadow so I thought I would give it a try. When I applied it, I was pleasantly surprised that it is a bit of a plummy brown, with perfect sheen. I use it all over my lid, as I like a dramatic depth on my lid and not just in my crease. Looks great with a champagne highlight on the browbone and black liner. Wears well all day without creasing, wearing off or grease soaking through. I will buy again and be trying a few other colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HerrDrosselmeyersDoll on 9/11/2012 3:42:00 PM more reviews by HerrDrosselmeyersDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this color! It is rather pricey, but it's so quality that you'll be able to look past that with no problem. Even though I received a free tester of this, I would definitely re-purchase this item once I run out. It's one of my go-to colors for a smokey eye. It's amazingly pigmented, rather tedious to mix with other drugstore eye shadows such as CG because it just over powers them with its top-notch brilliance. Although, I will admit it's not impossible, the key is to blend the roach like mad so the other three neutral colors I put on my lid and brow bone don't go completely unnoticed. Further more it stays on all day for me, even without any sort of base or eye primer to assist it. I can't imagine how much more brilliant the color would be if I did...The only qualm I have with this product is that it comes in such small packaging for such a high price. Such is life with Prestige cosmetics though. I'd still like to experiment with other Urban Decay colors beyond Roach though. This particular shadow has convinced me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 magicpeach10 on 6/21/2012 1:29:00 PM more reviews by magicpeach10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this shadow by itself or in the crease with last call on the lid. I love it with my brown eyes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JasmineJolene on 3/11/2012 9:29:00 AM more reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this eyeshadow as previous reviewers said it enhanced brown/hazel eyes. I got it from eBay, and categorically can tell you I would not pay full retail price for it.
Overall, I like it. The colour is pretty, a warm bronzey brown that can be applied all over the lid for a dramatic look or just in the crease and along the lashes as a more daytime look. I just really don't think it justifies the huge price tag. To be frank, it's just another brown eyeshadow to add to the plethora of brown eyeshadows I already own. Plus, I don't really like the packaging all that much.
If you are in the UK, Natural Collection (from Boots) do a fairly good dupe of this colour (Asteroid) but it's only 1.79!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lisakaye551 on 11/25/2011 5:11:00 PM more reviews by Lisakaye551

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this color based on reviews on this board but was disappointed when I received it from Sephora. I now give this color 4 stars because it is a much nicer color then appears in the pot. The color is difficult to describe, in the pot it looks like an eggplant color but on me it goes on mostly bronze-y reddish, very pigmented and dark but not saturated. I use this for a smudgy liner and it makes my hazel eyes look really green. This color also looks stunning lightly applied as an all over lid color for a very beautiful smokey eye. I goes on smoothly and blends beautifully. This color might not be for everyone...really very dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tropicalchicko7 on 8/24/2011 10:16:00 PM more reviews by tropicalchicko7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous eye color. Looks great with my green eyes. It's not as copper to me but it does a bit of a warmer tone to it. Awesome crease accent. UD eyeshadows also go on so smooth with no excess or creasing. just perfect!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products