Mary Kate and Ashley • Illuminating Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 glamgirl24 on 8/6/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by glamgirl24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first mascara ever! Usually I'm not a fan of MKAA makeup but this is an exception! I actually like this mascara! I bought the mascara in 'Sparkling black' and it's really good. It gives a subtle sparkle to your eyelashes and really good color! The only two flaws is that if you rub your eyes then it smudges all over your bottom lash line, so try not to rub your eyes. And the other flaw is that it sometimes clumps on your eyelashes so I am kinda disappointed in the brush...but overall good mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veronicakeith on 3/10/2009 8:39:00 PM more reviews by veronicakeith

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this mascara in the brown/gold combo. I was a bit worried that the gold shimmer would be a little too much, but it isn't at all. I like to use it on top of my everyday black mascara to add that extra little something that makes my eyes "pop"! On it's own it actually isn't dark enough to make my lashes look long and glossy. But it is a fun, cheap way to try a new look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pretiiandroid on 10/11/2008 1:55:00 PM more reviews by pretiiandroid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is only mediocre. It has a nice brush but it doesn't do much for lashes at all. It really just looks pretty in the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 decemberstarlight on 7/14/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by decemberstarlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wasn't expecting much from this MKA mascara. I bought it because it had 'illuminating' and 'lash brightening' in the title, so I figured it would be glossy, and that's exactly what I look for in a mascara. Not much volume or lengthening going on, but it IS very black and glossy! I like the formula alot. I never experience any smudging or flaking.

I would repurchase this, if I could find it :\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yumcheesy on 6/12/2008 10:02:00 PM more reviews by yumcheesy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the subtle gold flakes on my black eyelashes, especially in the summer sun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chelsrae85 on 12/17/2007 4:03:00 PM more reviews by chelsrae85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the dual ended, glittery version of this. It is called Illuminating Mascara Sparkling Lash Lacquer, and one end of it is clear mascara with silver flecks, the other end gold flecks.

I thought, "Meh, what the heck,it's only two bucks". It has rapidly become a staple for me though!!

It addes a glossy shine to your lashes, and they shimmer. Especially in the winter months, I use the silver flecked lacquer over black mascara and shimmery blues and creams as shadow. The result is a gorgeous winter wonderland Ice Princess look. In the summer, the gold flecked side would look awesome with a bronzey/gold goddess look.

If you're a person who likes huge chunky glitter, though, this is not for you. The result is a subtle sparkle effect and shimmer. Very pretty, very much a deal at two dollars at walmart! I will for sure be buying more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxo241 on 3/2/2006 5:46:00 PM more reviews by xoxo241

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have really sensitive eyes, and I was weary of this because it was so cheap, but that is one of the things that attracted me so much. I think it works pretty good for what you are paying for, I mean c'mon it is only $ 1.99!! What I like the most about it is that it come off really easily. I personally dont like waterproof mascara because it is so hard to get off, this stuff comes off really well with just water, great for a girl on the go. I wouldnt wear it in water for that reason, but everyday wear is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pandatours on 2/7/2006 1:39:00 AM more reviews by pandatours

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Wow this is going to sound really weird but I actually really like this mascara and I am 17 years old! I usually don't even like MKA products but this mascara, though not really "illuminating," does virtually everything else! Smudge, flake, and waterproof. I cried a LOT with this on but the mascara kept its shape and didn't leave huge smudges. Just be sure to use a combination of hot water and eye makeup remover to remove it but it's definitely a great mascara! Would love a different brush but for the price it's overall great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calyktg on 12/30/2005 12:54:00 AM more reviews by calyktg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product looked really cute and was really cheap. It actually went on very well and I cried while wearing it and didn't smudge. HOWEVER...it is a PAIN to remove. Maybe it's because I added another layer. I love this mascara other than the removing part because if my amazing Sephora makeup remover couldn't remove some...then it's annoying. I had to put on Maybelline Great Lash over the MKA mascara to remove it.

I could see some illumination but only really close up.

A so-so product. but only one coat only.

EDIT: After trying Clinique's High Impact Mascara, I found this mascara to be more bearable.At least this mascara doesn't flake and though a pain to take off (I find the best combo is makeup remover and warm water), it is NOT as horrible as the Clinique one and rather good. Just a bit clumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cuteboringlove on 10/1/2005 12:37:00 AM more reviews by cuteboringlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why I ever really bought this, it must have been completely random! I think I wanted it because of the navy blue color and for that I like it, but as far as mascara goes..I think it kind of sucks. It doesn't do much flattering for your lashes. But on days when I want to look natural and just have some fun with color, I use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mary Kate and Ashley products

More Mascara products