Diptyque • Philosykos • Fragrances

rated 3.9(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 shrokia on 3/30/2014 3:06:00 AM more reviews by shrokia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Everytime I went to the perfume counter I found myself constantly trying Philosykos and loving it, so I finally bought a bottle of the EDT. It is a very fresh, green, and sweet scent. I smell green foliage, coconut, fig leaves and ceder? Cant quite put my finger on the last layer. It's definitely a unique perfume, like nothing I've smelled before. I like this perfume a lot but it wears off quickly and leaves me wanting something more. After an hour or so the green scent fades fast and coconut and a hint of fig are all that remains. I found that mixing Philosykos with Diptyques Eau de Lierre fixes that problem. All in all I don't think I'll repurchase this again, Ill try a smaple of Philosykos eau de parfum, maybe that will leave me more satisfied. The glass bottle is nice and I like the design but Diptyques small spray caps fall off so easily. For $80-$120 a pop I expect better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pugsandkisses on 9/12/2013 11:06:00 AM more reviews by Pugsandkisses

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most delicious fig scent out there. I am on my second bottle now having graduates from the eau de toilette to the new eau de parfum in the grey glass bottle. It smells the same but is stronger with more longevity. I love the balance of fresh green fig and warm coconut. I like to layer this with a fig body cream- I use the Diptyque one but to be honest the Korres fig works just as well. I have tried Jo Malone fig, acqua di Parma fico, Laura Mercier fresh fig- all delicious but this one knocks their socks off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 7/2/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this scent when it's first applied, but the drydown turns awful on my skin.
First on, Philosykos is like walking through a garden in the cool morning after a rainy night, where everything smells damp and green. The greenery really reminds me of picking fresh bell peppers and green beans from the garden at first, and then turns to an amazingly realistic green leaf smell. A creamy sweetness starts to emerge after a while, sort of like woody fig and creamy coconut, and it actually pairs very well with the fresh, green parts of the scent.
But then, suddenly, after about 15 minutes of wear, this smells really sharp, artificial and gross on me. Oddly, it smells like harsh white perfume, the smell of white paper (clean and almost glue-like), sharp smoke, and a sickly sweet, cheap, suntan lotion coconut. My husband said it reminded him of burning tires and something rotten (the hint of now cloying coconut), and I can actually see that.
It's strange to have the scent start off so natural, green and fresh and then suddenly turn so artificial and harsh.
This clearly doesn't work well on my skin as it dries down, which is sad, because I really like the initial scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snazzalicious on 5/9/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by snazzalicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'd been dying to sniff this after hearing so many rave reviews about this, and the Diptyque candles. It's difficult to "rate" a perfume as everyone has their own likes and dislikes to smells, much like music. Also, everyone's body chemistry is different so no perfume will smell exactly the same on two people.

I digress. I stumbled upon a shop in Japan that stocks Diptyque and I got very excited. I spritzed Philosykos on my pulse points and sniffed. At first I got a very strong smell of crushed leaves -- whether they are crushed fig leaves, I am unsure as I've never smelt crushed fig leaves -- I was amazed at how well the perfume mimicked that smell. I giddily waited for a smell that would remind me of being in Greece and walking close to the sea. I don't know why I was expecting this as it's supposed to be a very green scent. After about 10 minutes I could smell a tinge of coconut, but my nose would be plunged straight back into the green, though not as sharp as the opening notes. In about 20 minutes it started to smell a bit soapy and green, and I wasn't too happy about it. The smell of the perfume faded pretty much within an hour of me spraying it on myself. Was not impressed with the sillage and longevity of it considering the price tag.

It is definitely an interesting smell, and even though I desperately wanted to love it, it's just not for me. Definitely give it a chance and try it for yourself if you love the smell of fresh, green figs and fig leaves.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linz75 on 4/18/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by linz75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just lovely! It reminds me of Marc Jacobs Men.
It smells like a bed of fresh leaves and ends like a bit of coconut scent, and so subtle.
I never smelled fig before, but I'm surprised.
I bought Philosykos perfume oil which has a good tall and small bottle, but doesn't last long. I guess the EDT will last longer so I'm gonna buy it soon.
Diptyque products are expensive but also classy, so far Philosykos is their only scent I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MariaEffy on 12/31/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by MariaEffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most peculiar scent I've ever encountered. My first thought when I tried it on was "Rain! It smells like rain!". It's a garden-fresh fall scent, which reminds me of crushed leaves and of course fig trees. Not for the weak at heart, this is not a usuall, generic scent at all. It is a unisex, very natural scent that will probably turn some heads. It doesn't smell like perfume, more like your garden after a rainy night. I love it, I just wish it lasted a bit longer on my skin, since it's so pricy.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShiverWithAntici on 10/18/2012 3:41:00 AM more reviews by ShiverWithAntici

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What a gorgeous, fresh, green opening! It's like the smell of trees after the rain. The fragrance develops into a creamy, coconutty, slightly sweet, but still green fig, before drying down to a sensual, mellow cedar. It's remarkably natural smelling, beautifully uncomplicated, and perfectly unisex. I fall in love with it all over again every time I wear it.


As with the other Diptyque fragrances I have tried, Philosykos has taught me the difference between longevity and sillage - the longevity with this is actually quite good on me (8+ hours), but sadly, the sillage is mild-moderate. Although, it must be said that very few figs project well, and this seems to project a lot better than Premier Figuier (which I also love). I can forgive it that, however, because it's my absolute favorite fragrance. HG worthy if I have ever seen it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LuHu82 on 3/1/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this and made a special trip to try it, but frustratingly, with my body chemistry it just read as coconut. Nothing else.

I walked around for 3 hours to give it a chance to mature into something fabulous before writing it off, but it just stayed with that icky coconut/suncream smell. In fact, it reminded me of a cheap Body Shop coconut edt from my teenage years.

Very disapppointing. I didn't buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 countess77 on 12/31/2011 5:03:00 PM more reviews by countess77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Lovely dry figue scent. A bit milky and comforting. Very clean. I use it a special occasions, when I have showered and want to feel special. I still donīt know what men think about it, but it is not girly, thatīs for sure. Grown up scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vintagebarrio on 12/4/2011 2:19:00 PM more reviews by vintagebarrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a weird one for me, as I'd sniffed it in the bottle before and been put off, but I got a whiff of the solid at Space NK and suddenly had a whole different experience. It's got a sort of blunted coconut thing going on for the base with a top layer of palest green fruity floral. It definitely captures the aroma of fresh figs for me, though not as sweet as they taste. (Somebody should really try and combine the caramel taste with the watery scent.) I hate water scents in general, but this is more cucumbery. Or think the white part of watermelon. Really odd on the skin. Smells warm and coconutty one day with just a hint of plant stuff, then the next is almost hand soapy which I don't like at all. Really varies on my skin. An intriguing unusual smell that's just milky enough to make me think fig perfumes might work for me after all--none other has, though I adore eating them. I get headaches, so this is a nice light scent--no pain! Not the One, but a good time. Really liking mixed with Eea Duelle solid. Good year round. Compact very decadent and almost masculine--love design. Wish they'd come out with their Amber Candle scent in a solid perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Diptyque products

More Fragrances products