Lancome • Poeme • Fragrances

rated 3.9(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MiniMabs on 1/15/2014 8:00:00 AM more reviews by MiniMabs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's deep and rich and very sexy - but experienced and classy kind of sexy - not cheap and flashy kind of sexy. Everyone who has ever hugged me or got close to me tells me I smell incredible when I wear this scent. It is my winter signature scent. I would say it is for the more experienced woman - late 30's onwards. She knows her own mind and knows how to go about getting what she wants.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Judy0924 on 8/23/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Judy0924

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Poeme is one of those fragrances that hit me immediately as my kind of scent. I'm not good at describing the notes, but the orange/amber and vanilla come to mind. I've always loved it and used it for about 20 years. It's particulary wonderful in winter and leaves me feeling happy and warm whenever it wafts in my direction. Here is what a Fragrantica says about it:

"Poeme does not follow classic structure of top, middle and base notes. The notes of the composition are appearing alternately, like echo. The composition features intoxicating Himalayan blue poppy, white and yellow flowers (mimosa, rose, freesia...) and vanilla flower. Poeme is a poem in the world of perfumes; the contrasts of bitter and sweet create a special sensual aura. "

I would say it is intoxicating for me and always puts me in a good mood. A little goes a long way so no need to over apply.

I tend to like the more complex fragrances and the warmer, oriental ones as well. For a long time, I was getting by on samples when I'd buy other Lancome skin care products, but finally bought a bottle of my own.

I gravitate towards Chanel (Coco), Boucheron, Burberry (the original) and newer ones such as Gucci Guilty and Bright Crystal so my taste is pretty widespread, but I don't like overly sweet, light, powdery floral-ly and fruity perfumes. Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/28/2013 9:07:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ah, Poeme... Mimosa, narcissus and a voluptuous bouquet of flowers in all their glory. Very deep and voluptuous. It's not daring but quite an old romantic at heart and positively womanly.

Seriously, there are a million notes in there: blackcurrant, Himalayan poppy, plum, green notes, mandarin orange, narcissus, bergamot, peach, datura on top.
Mimosa, leather, orange blossom, freesia, jasmine, heliotrope, ylang ylang, vanilla, rose, tuberose in the middle.
The base consists of tonka bean, amber, musk, vanilla, more orange blossom and cedar.

Jacques Cavallier did a wonderful job. This flood of powerhouse florals wouldn't possibly be anything less than intoxicating. Tenacious sillage and longevity.
Unfortunately I'm not a fan of bold floral perfumes and although I appreciate the craftsmanship I wouldn't wear Poeme - the queen of yellow florals. If this is the type of perfumes that wear well on you don't miss it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hintay89 on 7/28/2013 7:29:00 AM more reviews by hintay89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

my uncle gave me this 2 years ago, but I didnt like.Now I see it on my makeup table so i give a try. I smell it vanilla and jasmine? sweet and strong ,not too old and not young either. Maybe suitable for women have kids :v . For girl ,i think its so mature and i dont see it sexy :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 1:09:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a love hate relationship with this fragrance I have owned 2 bottles of this and never finished one I end up re-gifting it to someone else. It's funny several girlfriends of mine have bought this because of me wearing it but on myself I don't like it. Yet several months after wearing it I find myself running to a lancome counter to spray it again but in several hours find it annoying and overly sweet. I think it is the mimosa which dominates most on my skin. On those who can truly wear this well the scent always reminds me of yellow fresh cut flowers and passionfruit cheesecake. On me it's just a cloying syrupy chemicalness.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 6/13/2013 11:25:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Poeme is a strong vanilla-based, sweet powdery fragrance that came out in 1995. Very similar to Avon's "Vanilla Musk", but with a few extra floral and green hints added that make it slightly soapy and clean. Powdery sweet but perhaps cloying to some. Fans of Vera Wang "Princess" or Thierry Mugler "Angel" who are wanting to tone it down a bit might like to try Poeme as they are in a similar style. Poeme is very lasting, just like Vanilla musk, which lasts all the day on me. It doesn't have any peppery, harsh citrus, or wierd surprise notes that seem popular in the 2010's. I'd say it is an innocent, classic, positive and feminine perfume for a feminine, loyal personality who likes to get positively involved. Its slightly more complex than the Avon, but I really don't think its different enough or any better than the Avon Vanilla Musk to bother paying 7 times as much! Don't be fooled by the long list of the official fragrance notes, its mostly a simple vanilla perfume. If you like the look of the Poeme fancy bottle and have cash to splash I'd say go for it, but otherwise I'd go for the Avon.

FRAGRANCE FAMILY: Oriental

FRAGRANCE NOTES:
Top - Blue Himalayan poppy, lychee blossom
Heart - Orange blossom, mimosa, jasmine, rose
Base - Vanilla, desert datura flower

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 juliastockholm on 3/5/2013 4:38:00 AM more reviews by juliastockholm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have received this scent as a sample more than ten times. Over several years, of course, but still. It seems to be one of those perfumes that you get for free, it has always been in my house but I have never bought it. And I never will.

I think giving out so many samples of this has been a mistake, whenever I smell this on someone I think she must be out of her usual perfume and is using up her samples.

Anyway, the smell itself isn't all bad, sure it smells a bit old lady like, but not in a bad way. If I hadn't been over exposed to it in the nineties, maybe I would have liked it better.

Reviewing this because I received another sample of it the other day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ScentingSarah on 1/29/2013 5:53:00 PM more reviews by ScentingSarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Poeme is the 'One'! Poeme is my Signature Winter Scent! My one and only during those cooler months!
Poeme makes me exude confidence! It enhances your femininity, transports you to that special place where you feel the happiest! It's such an original scent, heavy yet not stifling, long lasting yet not offensive - it's truly perfection personified!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 10/24/2012 8:17:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, this is just perfection. It is a Holy Grail of Lancome's perfumery. So unique and distinct - it is unmistakeable und uncomparable, so full-bodied and self-sufficient, that no other single note could possibly make it better. So feminine, that one can hardly fully appreciate it before reaching mid-20s at least, and this is hardly for someone who yet has not enjoyed the emotional rollercoaster of romance and stumbled upon the Real Deal on one of those rides. This fragrance says - I am in love, I am complete and I have arrived. Being the ficklest and most insatiable perfume junkie, I actually had to say this first in my head before writing in pure disbelief that I were even considering this, but yes, this could be THE ONE perfume I could see as my signature scent. I have worn this in good times and bad times, and every time it just makes me feel so happy, so satisfied with life and powerful as a woman! I think this is the antidote to feeling needy or insecure. I think of icons like Sophia Loren or Elizabett Taylor when I sniff it, and oh how I wish I were the only one who knew about Poeme!!:)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 9/26/2012 7:56:00 PM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Poeme imprints really strongly. It's one of those scents that is utterly recognizable and totally 'itself' - whether this is for good or ill! It's a pretty, plush and rather heavy vanilla-floral. I find it cheerful and quite comforting, especially as colder days come on, but be prudent with the dosage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products