Chantecaille • Lipgloss in Taffy • Lip Gloss

rated 4.7(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skwpt on 4/8/2010 12:07:00 PM more reviews by skwpt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In the pan, Taffy is a mid-toned rosy mauve, and it kicks my lip pigment up a half notch. As for the texture, this is how lip gloss should feel. The formulation is smooth, cushiony, and glossy, without being sticky or tacky, and it does not dry my lips, even if it is the only thing I wear 18 hours a day every day. This is truly a refined lip gloss without any sparkle or glitter, and it feels so wonderfully comfortable on my lips. HG texture and color.


Compared to the packaging of the eyeshadows (which are exactly the same size at 3.7g), the lip gloss compacts have a mirrored nickel lid, as opposed to semi-opaque plastic; there is also a mirror inside. Like the Ma Palettes made of the same materials, the gloss case is fingerprint hell, but it can't be everything to all people. I just wish it came with a little silk bag to protect the soft metal surface from scratches.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 1/6/2009 7:10:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

"Taffy" is a very pretty, medium rose. That sounds so boring, but honestly, this is a really unique color and difficult to describe--it's a deep reddened pink that has plum and brown tones, but isn't dark or muddy at all. The color sometimes even leans to cinnamon-rose if I'm wearing certain colors. So overall it's a neutral color on me (light, yellow undertones) and very, very flattering since it's about two shades deeper than my actual lip color. It's also quite pigmented for a potted gloss, not as transparent as JuicyTubes, for example, but not as dark as real lipstick. No shimmer or plasticky frost, just a natural-looking shine. And not drying to my chronically-chapped lips either.



Lasting power is decent--the shine wears off but the color sticks around for quite awhile. Zero scent or taste. The sleek little silver compact is attractive, but the texture of the gloss makes it amenable to a wand & tube, which would make it more user-friendly. I took a lippie off because the price is just absurd. I will repurchase, but grudgingly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nokomi on 7/14/2008 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Nokomi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wore this on my wedding day. It was perfect! It provides a lot of color for a gloss and is not sticky and it lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sollieday on 12/29/2007 3:29:00 PM more reviews by sollieday

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This lipgloss is a great color for me...light brown hair, fairly pigmented lips, fair skin, blue eyes. It is a YLBB color that doesn't go too orange-y on me which is a problem I have with many cosmetics due to my very pinky toned fair skin. The texture is as balm-like as a gloss could be, I think staying power is good for a gloss, and it seems fairly moisturizing or at least not drying. It looks darker in the pot than it goes on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mm2015 on 9/30/2007 2:21:00 PM more reviews by mm2015

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A lighter, gloss version of Chantecaille's Narcissia. Whereas the Narcissia goes on a berry pink/brown, the Taffy is definitely lighter and more like my natural lip color (I have fairly pigmented lips). Applied lightly with my finger, it looks almost like clear gloss on my lips. Applied heavier with a lip brush, and it takes on more of the berry pink/brown qualities, but lighter than Narcissia. Like all of Chantecaille's glosses, this one wears really well, and moisturizes wonderfully.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bruingal on 5/10/2007 5:11:00 PM more reviews by bruingal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful color. Rosy-brown stain, not too red, not too pink, and has just enough brown to make it neutral and go with everything. Moisturizing and really perks up the face, in a polished way. This one's a winner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hapapower on 4/10/2007 2:04:00 PM more reviews by hapapower

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Simply lovely...YLBB, nice pinkish-red, almost like a subtle lip stain...Love this, very surprised since I wasn't sure about this shade when I saw it in the pot. I could definitely get hooked on Chantecaille l/g's, which could mean breaking the bank on a regular basis...yikes. I love Chantecaille l/g's even more than MAC, and never get that sticky, goopy sensation that I get with MAC lipglasses and plushglasses. Definite repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yslgirl77 on 2/23/2007 1:37:00 AM more reviews by yslgirl77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My fav lip gloss in the world! I wear it almost everyday, and it goes with everything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kisa228 on 2/11/2007 1:47:00 PM more reviews by kisa228

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Even though this color does not show up on my higly pigmented lips, it still gets 5 lippies just for being the greateset lip gloss I have ever purchased. Since this color doesn't really show up on my lips I use this as my lip balm because it is that moisturizing. This is how every gloss/balm should be, nice subtle color, subtle shine, no weird smell/taste, super moisturizing without the sticky gloppy feeling. I will definitaly purchse again but in another shade, such as Grenadine, Cassis, or Kir.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MariLaPaisa on 2/1/2007 12:01:00 AM more reviews by MariLaPaisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Fantastic color! It reminds me of back in the day when I used to mixed two colors together to get a unique color, if u know what i mean.. This is a suitable everyday color, a soft nude-neutral sark pink with subtle iridescent shimmer. It gives gives you a polished look. The color is elegant, its a bit on the neutral side, I really cant describe the color in one word but what I know is that its so worth it. Chantecaille offers you nothing but quality and these lipglosses moisturize so well too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chantecaille products

More Lip Gloss products