Sisley Express Flower Gel

3.8

93 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Rosa Centifolia (Cabbage Rose) Water, Dimethicone, Iris Florentina Root Extract, Sorbitol, Lilium Candidum Flower Extract, Peg-40, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Butylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol, Acrylates/ C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate, Crosspolymer, Octoxynol-13, Sodium Methylparaben, Propylene Glycol, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben. (Cont.geraniol, Citronellol).


on 3/27/2015 10:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is an insanely overpriced mask from the insanely overpriced French brand Sisley. It costs $140 for a 2.15 oz size. Normally, I do not use Sisley, but when I got a nice fat sample tube of this with a Nordstrom cosmetics order, I wanted to give it an honest try and see for myself what my skin was missing out by not using this cult product. Short answer: Nothing, absolutely nothing.

This is an extremely ordinary do-nothing product. It is mostly water, a couple flower waters and extracts, dimethicone (a silicone that has some skin protecting qualities), dustings of some other stuff (none of them skin beneficial, mostly to adjust texture and pH) and a long list of preservatives. It consists of probably around 90% water and there is nothing and absolutely nothing to warrant the exorbitant price - which only 2.5 grams of pure gold in a tube could justify!

I set aside the formula and price concerns, and trying to convince myself that this is a most luxurious treat for my skin I used it as directed: apply on perfectly clean skin for 3 minutes, blot to absorb excess. Well, I can say one thing for sure, it smelled like heaven for my rose loving nose. The 3 minutes were too short to do anything, even after blotting it left a tacky layer on my skin, impossible to apply makeup on top. I had to wash it off and all I was left with was a 3 minute pleasure of smelling rose and $$$ down the drain. No effects on my skin - no plumbing up, no moisture, no glow. Next day I gave it one more try applying a very generous amount and letting to sit it longer. Nope, no moisturized, plumbed up, glowing skin. Only 10 minutes of smell heaven and then major $$$ down the drain. I trashed the remaining product in the sample tube (would have been one more very very generous application) and decided to write a review here.

Dearest ladies, if you have $$$ to throw the drain you are dismissed, otherwise you can get really good serums, creams, masks etc. for $140 or less - products that will make a difference to your skin. Just stay clear of Sisley. If you want luxury, Estee Lauder has some great options (not affiliated). If you want a nice smell, $140 would buy you some of the best fragrances of history - Chanel Exclusifs, Guerlain, Serge Lutens. Or you could get a nice mask for $40 or less, and use the rest to buy a much nicer pair of shoes or cashmere sweater than you usually do. Or a really nice dinner out, fresh flowers for a few months - well, so many nice things that $140 could buy. Just don't throw that $140 down the drain. Don't drop it at the Sisley counter.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 12/26/2014 9:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this many years ago, and just brought it along with me when I moved out of NYC almost 6 years ago because I felt guilty that I used to spend so much money on skincare products. I like masks, but this one really doesn't do anything. First of all, 3 minutes is not enough time for a mask to do anything. Second, I like masks that I can remove with a wet cloth or in the shower--using a tissue to wipe off the excess means it leaves a pore-clogging residue. I am fairly confident that other than the eye & lip contour cream (which I would only buy if there was a ridiculous sale), I will never spend money on Sisley products again.


on 11/13/2014 6:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love it! I use it as a day moisturizer, i dont use too much product and i do not remove the mask off my face, i just leave on as a normal moisturizer. This mask makes my skin looks very hydrated, plump, firm and smooth. Love the smell and the gel texture which is perfect for my oily skin and works really well in all seasons! I do always buy this product with a good discount, just perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2014 9:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't know why, but this product does nothing for my skin. I think I bought it after watching rave reviews on youtube (Lisa Eldridge maybe?)...and had such high expectations, but wow, it simply does not work on my sensitive dry/combo Asian skin. After being sorely disappointed by several Sisley products, I've finally reached the conclusion that this brand - which by all accounts is a fabulous high-end range- simply does not activate on my skin. I'm sort of speculating whether it may have to do with ethnicity, since I seem to get a better result after using products supposedly designed and tested for Asian skins. I dunno...but I think I'm done with experimenting this brand for now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I received a sample after purchasing their oil free foundation (HG for me) and I was skeptical about this product. After a difficult night I woke up looking like a zombie before an important meeting. I remembered the mask and it worked! My skin was not grey anymore and my under eye area didn't look as a balloon. I applied some foundation after 10 minutes, some concealer, blush and mascara and I was ready to face the world. Of course I bought the full size and I keep on using it every time I need some extra help, morning or evening. I have tested it in a 12 hours flight as well. I am not saying I was looking like a Victoria's Secret glowing model but for the first time at the airport the police recognised me as the same person in the passport picture. Yes, it is expensive and I don't enjoy spending so much money, but it is really worth it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2013 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff...so many uses:
1) leave overnight by itself: wake up to glowing skin
2) use daily line reducer + Global anti aging + flower express gel --> sleep: baby smooth glowing skin in the morning (I do this once a month).
3) use flower express gel+ daily line reducer + moisturizer --> sleep: wake up to amazing skin
4) eye cream/ eye mask
5) lip cream/ lip mask
6) bring on flights
7) neck mask
too bad i use this stuff up so fast...and it's expensive..T_T

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 5:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a moisturizing mask – youapply a thick layer of mask on your face, wait for a few minutes so that it sinks in and the wipe of the excess.
The mask has excellent regenerating, moistuizing and calming properties. I usually just apply it before sleeping and sleep the whole night with the mask on. At first it is a bit sticky, but until the morning the mask has sunk in. I have dehydrated but oily skin and the mask works for me when my skin isn't too dry. When my skin feels drier, I prefer Black Rose mask
The mask has a slightly old-fashioned rose scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 3:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

As a full-time model with extremely sensitive combination skin to both extremes, I've been going crazy trying to figure out what to do to restore moisture, even out skin texture, and clear up blemishes without using something too heavy and oily which breaks my skin out even more. Yes, it's expensive, and yes it's a little painful to hand over the credit card but I am beyond ecstatic about the results. My skin is smooth, clear, glowing, healthy, and just finally gorgeous! Will not ever be without this product again. WELL WORTH THE MONEY

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used a sample of this before buying the whole tube. The experience is amazing, so smooth, so cooling, and you can leave it on your face as a primer(before foundation, which makes the foundation really easy to apply, especially for my dehydrated, flaky skin). I bought the full size in the airport taxfree shop which is a few quit cheaper, but still, this is a pricey product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2013 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Silicone with flower water... You can have this effect with any oil-free silicone based moisturizer or mask.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4237 Reviews
Back to Top