Merle Norman • Luxiva Lasting Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(163 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 acbaker82 on 10/25/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by acbaker82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the most finicky combination skin. Every liquid foundation I try breaks down on my face within a few hours, no matter if I set it or wear primer. I have tried Revlon Colorstay, Photoready (Photoready looks pretty great on me, tho lasting wise it was not HG) MAC Fix+ Powder, MUFE HD, MUFE Matte Velvet, and pretty much every Maybelline and Covergirl liquid foundation you can think of. I have also tried Kat Von D Lock it Tattoo foundation. All of these cover great, but most ended up looking cakey (Matte velvet and Kat Von D and Colorstay) I wanted to love all of these because of the wonderful coverage. I was about to give up when I received one of these. I have a Merle Norman in town, so I figured, why not, if I like it, I won't have to buy online and I can always color match right in the store.

This stuff is HG for me. I will always be testing foundations, because I cannot get enough, but this is my go to, never go without. I am in my 30's, so matte foundations and full coverage foundations age me. This foundation is creamy, but thin enough texture to not cake up, I have applied both with my fingers and a brush, but I get the best finish using a stiff flat top brush. I just dot all over my face (I do not use primer with this, just moisturize with Clinique's DDMG) then buff into my skin. I layer just a tad more on my cheeks, where I have the most break outs and discoloration. I don't have horrible circles under my eyes, but this does the job and is creamy enough so I use it under my eyes as well. The coverage is amazing, and I don't even use concealer. If I do have a large zit I just use a concealer brush and dab on a tiny bit more and blend, so this is able to build without looking too heavy.

This dries down to a powdery, velvet finish. Not 100% matte but not satin finish either, which makes this finish HG for me, since matte finishes age me and I'm too oily/shiny for satin finish. I set every foundation I wear and try with powder, but this I do not. The first time I wore it with powder it was too matte and powdery and I actually had to spray some homemade fix + to take away the powder look. The price range is right in the middle of a high end and a drug store, which I do not mind, because I am willing to spend the extra for this. I spend so much money on drug store and always end up swapping or giving to my sister anyways, and after shelling out 36-40 bucks on MUFE and Kat Von D and not even wearing any of these for a week or two, the price of this is well worth it.

I am an NC 20, and am pretty neutral in color, I can pull off pink or yellow foundations, and I wear this color in Cream. It looks pretty neutral and flat at first but after it sets and melds into my skin for about 10-15 mins, it warms up just a tad so that it matches my neck. I am always touching my face and find this transfers the least than anything I have tried, and also it doesn't feel thick on my face. I can feel it when I touch my face but thats with any foundation. This is everything I'm looking for in a foundation, and it is the longest wearing as well. For how full of a coverage this is, it doesn't look like skin but it doesn't look un natural either, its perfect, can't say enough about this stuff. I will update if anything changes, but after wearing foundation for about 20 years, this is the best finish and wear and coverage I have tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 10/12/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

For the past couple of years, I have tried countless foundations. None of them really wowed me. I had a few (very few) that I liked, but none that I really loved...until now. I used to think that finding everything I wanted in one foundation (good coverage, transfer resistant, long-wearing, good color match) was nothing but a pipe dream.

My aunt used to use Merle Norman years ago. She did let me try one of their foundations (I honestly couldn't tell you which one) but it just didn't hold up on my grease ball of a face. So one day last week, I decided to make an appointment at my local Merle Norman. It wasn't that far from my work, so I just walked there. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was actually a great experience. The girl who helped me was really nice. She didn't pressure me to buy anything, and didn't make me feel rushed or like I was wasting her time. I told her that I was interested in trying this foundation. The shade she picked for me was Ivory. I never would have picked that for myself. But it was a perfect match. I couldn't even see where she applied it to my face. I couldn't believe the tiny amount of foundation she used on my face. But after she was done, I was amazed. It covered everything I wanted, and looked natural. I've found that a lot of long-wearing foundations are thick and heavy. But this one isn't at all. It's very light-weight and easy to work with. The staying power is amazing. I have an extremely oily t-zone, especially on and around my nose. It literally eats foundation, even with a primer. But once this stuff is on, it's on. It doesn't budge until I take it off. It doesn't transfer, and it doesn't sweat off. The price is pretty reasonable too. It's $30 for a 1 oz tube. Since you have to use such a small amount, this tube will last a long time. The makeup artist told me that's what she uses, and it's been 7 months and her tube is only half empty. Now, that's what I call a bargain. This makeup looks and feels very light. You can't even tell you have it on. It gives me that "your skin, but better" look that I've been looking for. It doesn't look like you are wearing a ton of makeup.

I highly recommend this foundation. It is truly worth the money, and I will definitely repurchase. This is definitely my HG foundation, and I can't imagine myself ever using anything else. I truly hope this amazing foundation is never discontinued.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HeyOdi on 7/6/2014 12:35:00 AM more reviews by HeyOdi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

IS THIS REAL LIFE??

Ok ladies. I hope you're ready for your life to be flipped-turned upside down.

Huge pores? Got 'em.
Enough oil to power a car? You bet.
Complexion that looks like a toddler took a purple and red crayon to it? Check.

I've tried it all. Hourglass Liquid Powder Foundation, EL Double Wear, EL Double Matte, EL Maximum Coverage, Sephora Perfection Mist, Lancome Teint Idole, every drugstore brand advertised by beautiful stars wearing anything but that foundation in the commercial. You name it, I've smeared it on my face.

So, I was on here perusing the reviews in my never ending quest to find my HG foundation. I saw this foundation and remembered hearing the name before. My cousin had always raved about Merle Norman, but she was just naturally gorgeous and I just couldn't trust anyone who woke up looking like Jennifer Anniston in season 4 of Friends. So, I did some stalking on YouTube and found some videos. I was pretty blown away. I decided to wake up at 9am and make the trek to my local Merle Norman the next day because I'm that impatient.

The lady put it on in the store and I will have to say that I wasn't blown away at first. I'm extremely specific in how I do my foundation. She didn't know the extent of my annoying perfection, so I can't blame her. So naturally I went home and scrubbed it all off to reapply it.

I don't know if it's made with actual unicorn tears or what, but the actual foundation is almost weightless. It's not sticky or thick AT ALL. I use my fingers because I'm a caveman and brushes just seem to make my skin look like the movie Holes. You put it on and it immediately gives you a perfect finish. Like angelic glow perfect. Not joking. I also put another layer around my nose and chin because I get hormonally red there throughout the day.
**(Because it is summer, I also bought the Ultra Powder Foundation to put on top, but it's not totally necessary, but I seriously recommend it to set it for all day wear)

I just got up to look in the mirror to see if it had budged since I put it on at 10am. It's 11:23 pm now and there is no oil, redness, settling, anything. That's with ZERO touchups throughout the day as well. It still looks like it did when I put it on.
However, the HUGE thing for me is my pores. No matter which foundation or application method I use, my pores are always obnoxiously large. Not with this. My pores are nearly invisible. Not totally, but I could tell a MAJOR difference. I've also been using Dr. Brandt's Pores No More, so I'm sure that helped too.

All jokes aside, I seriously can't say enough good things about this stuff.

*Also, I've cried a few times with it on (not because of what I looked like) and it totally stayed in place. It'd be an amazing wedding day/PMS hormone-fest foundation.

If Merle Norman ever stops making this miracle concoction, I don't know what I would do. Are you reading this Merle? Please don't ever stop.

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigergirly on 5/26/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by tigergirly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Where have you been all my life? My dream for sensitive, acne-prone skin and an active lifestyle. Years ago, a sales assistant gave me a sample and I hated it. I now realize it was likely a darker shade and another foundation. For some reason, its quite different on me than other reviewers describe: thin, light to medium coverage, totally natural-looking and skin-like finish. It controls oil all day, feels breathable right away and washes off easily with my beloved Neutrogena Stress Control scrub. Never transfers, breaks apart or settles into lines. It doesn't make me look older. The lightest shade, cream, is slightly too dark for my super pale yellow skin, but somehow settles into the right shade. Not too pink for once. The easy squeeze tube is a bonus. With most foundations, I look at them and break out. I do need a bit of concealer on acne scars, but its a tradeoff for a more natural look. So happy I found a dependable foundation without sodium chloride, algae or bismuth oxychloride. I recently rediscovered Merle Norman after so much frustration with department and drugstore stuff. Some products are really superior to Dior, Bobbi, etc although it looks "old lady". Please don't discontinue this, Merle! UPDATE: Yep, absolutely no breakouts and skin seems in better condition after using this. Amazing! I forgot to add that Merle Norman has a strict policy against testing on animals- something great they should advertise more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TammieCavender on 5/17/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by TammieCavender

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

It's not worth the price and it feels like you're wearing a mask or something. None of the shades match my skin tone. Either too dark or too light. So I had to put on both a face powder and bronzer to make my skin look right. If it gets above 85 outside it melts off and you have to wash your face a number of times before it comes off. Don't waste your money. The only plus is it smells good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marcie0161 on 4/9/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by marcie0161

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

After nearly a full year of trying out various foundations, Merle Norman Lasting Foundation has grabbed my attention! After Estee Lauder's Double Wear foundation had a down-grade in quality and available shades, I literally went into a foundation search rage. I am in my early 50's and have normal to dry skin. I have tried every med-full coverage foundation, looking for same properties as the ELDW. Three days ago, I remembered a friend who had been a Merle Norman user for years. I went to their store. First I was told about the different foundations and then given a sample of the Long Lasting Foundation in Pure Beige.
The color match was absolutely the same as Fresco in ELDW's old formula. So for the past 2 days I have worn this new foundation to work, as a nurse, very happy with the end of day look. It is so similar to ELDW old formula that honestly, I couldn't tell the difference.
I have used the Merle Norman wrinkle reducer moisturizer underneath and this foundation went on so smoothly. My advice would be if you used to be an ELDW and are disappointed with the changes, this foundation may surprise you in price, quality, coverage and longevity. I know I am feeling a big sigh of relief.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 isabellayessi on 4/1/2014 11:08:00 PM more reviews by isabellayessi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can say from my mid-20's this product did NOT work for my skin . I have dry skin and it was hard taking the makeup off and it made now my skin oily and I am going back to my MONAVE makeup that I used before even if I have to wait a little long time to get in the mail . But, I will never try other product again if it makes you break out .

Than, I had worse customer service experience and the lady there wasn't helpful and didn't look like she cared that I needed help most of the time so, I went ahead and took my business to other location which is better because I wasn't treated out the door and they took time find my skin tone. I am a Hispanic women and I had to buy 2 types to match my skin ..which made me spend a lot more then expected and I will never go thru that hell again to be treated like I don't have the money when I sure do . I did notice a lot of older ladies there and now I understand if you are old like heck...as I will be one day..but I would never go to them ever ever again . even if I get into my 40's..I will be bare faced and all . no offense to older women is just that is the vibe I got when I was at the store and the sales lady was old too and they had boring eye shadows and nothing updated ...they need to update to younger folks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 onemacmom4u on 3/31/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by onemacmom4u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I asked the MN lady for a full coverage foundation that would last at least 4 hours without retouching. I have an oily T-zone, and when I get nervous I'll get shiny quick! She went right to this one. My shade is Vanilla. This stuff lasts 6 hours w/o having to touch up. It looks a bit dry upon application. Hardly need powder (tho I use their loose anyway). Will definitely buy this again. Full coverage, lasting foundation indeed. I do recommend the Merle Norman primer, as it works better than my other primers with this base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redheadjane on 2/13/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by redheadjane

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's very very hard to find Foundations for my very picky skin. I have Celiacs and MUST have Gluten free foundation. Not a lot of companies are upfront about what has Gluten and what doesn't and absolutely hate mineral makeup as it ages me and settles into fine lines.

I bought this last weekend and have been wearing it every single day and no irritation, no breakouts and believe me my skin reacts to Gluten and heavy fragrances. It doens't take more than hour of wearing something for me to get a rash or breakout in bumps. It gives me a semi matte of somewhat luminous look. I normally go for as natural as possible but with my very strict guidelines for makeup, I sometimes have no choice and a lot of so called natural and organic brands often use essential oils which irritate me. This makeup is beautiful, it holds up to a 8 hour day easily. I think I ended up wearing this for 12hours one day and all I needed was a little powder on my T-zone to freshen it about 10 hours in. The color is almost a perfect match to my NC-20 ish skin. I'm a Neutral with slight peach/Slight yellow undertones and I went with Vanilla. I go several compliments wearing this and how nice it made my skin look and I don't have nice skin!!

this is fragrance free, Gluten Free (I called and talked to a Merle Norman Representative to confirm this, the Tocopheryl is Synthetic) they are very open about their ingredients and all you have to do is go to a store and the associates are very familiar with celiac/Gluten intolerance and other skin issues. I was very very happy with my makeup haul and my experience at the store. I don't dare ask a ULTA employee to help me or anyone at Sephora because They have steered me towards "Natural" brands that ended up damaging my skin. I'm much more knowledgeable than they are about ingredients.

I believe this makeup will be in my makeup bag for a long time.

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandawebb on 12/21/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by amandawebb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first Merle Norman product I have used. I was at the mall to buy my Estee Lauder Double Wear, and thought I would stop in Merle Norman because I have always been curious about them. I had a great experience there. I worked with the studio owner who spent a lot of time with me. She color matched me to Vanilla, and it is perfect for me. I was surprised at how thin the consistency is. I apply two layers where I need more coverage. I apply with clean fingers because I am too lazy to wash a foundation brush after every application. I like the all-day wear, but it feels a little "tacky" late in the afternoon. I do need to apply powder after lunch. I love the tube packaging, I can get out just a little at a time and rub it in and get more. I don't feel like I'm wasting a lot of product like I do with a glass bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Merle Norman products

More Liquid products