Czech & Speake No. 88

3.2

12 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Notes: bergamot, geranium, cassie, rose otto, frangipani (plumeria), vetiver, sandalwood.

Opens sparkly sweet with heavy geranium notes, with underneath a bergamot note to give it more punch. The fragrance smells flowery sweet, but not as sticky sweet as líEau díAmbre. On my skin this fragrance loses strength very fast and after one and a half hour I can only smell a weak sweet flowery note on a woody base. Lasts for more than 5 hours on my skin.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I first smelled No. 88 when a legendary English film actor leaned across to kiss my cheek in greeting. I nearly passed out, both from the close contact and then the heavenly smell! Nothing else smells like No. 88. Some will love it, some not so much, but it can never be mistaken for anything else. When I was back in London I went to the Czech and Speake store on legendary Jermyn street because I was so intrigued to find where this magical black bottle had come from.
I think it smells absolutely beautiful on a woman, and that you have to be a special kind of man to wear it.
Bergamot, Geranium, Rose otto, Cassie, Frangipani, Vetiver and Sandalwood.
My favorite for English fragrances.


on 4/2/2009 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Smells like a typical shaving cream. Not unpleasant but not particularly unique and definitely not something I'd want to smell of.


on 3/30/2009 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I wonít say too much about No.88 Ė a rather masculine cologne Ė because it reminds me of an ex boyfriend who wore Fumerie Turque. The dry-down is akin to said fragrance, but the journey there isnít. The journey there is a close-up of a warm, soapy, smoky, spicy, male neck. My dad would smell great in this, but itís got too strong a shaving foam accord to win me over. Fumerie Turque, I have worn many times, but No.88 is too masculine. The male fragrances I enjoy most on myself are Chanel Egoiste and Cartier Declaration, if that puts this in context.


on 12/6/2008 1:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

When I put this on first, I think immediately of a Rich Hippie scent bordering on Andy Tauer's favorite incense note. I like it enough to be intrigued. After the initial hippie wears off, it becomes rosy and exhibits wine notes that I find very regal and enchanting. It is not the most original scent admittedly, but I find it deep and a nice wintery substitute for me--I cannot stand wholehearted vanillas and musks in the winter though many do--and can see this as a nice alternative. On the other hand, there is enough lightness to the dry down that it would work well on the shoulder seasons.


on 3/31/2008 3:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This goes on sour initially, and that effects stays for quite a while. I am beginning to think I can't do geranium. At all. I was hoping that the storied "dark honeyed notes" would come out more than they have. Long into the drydown, I actually did get them, and they are luscious. No kidding. But then it went back to something I can only describe as a nice honey soap. So I get sour, honey soap, absolute lusciousness, great honey soap. I could still see myself wearing this, however, because it is different.


on 2/7/2008 3:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was expecting much, much more. No. 88 smells like almost pure red musk oil on me (though it is not listed as a note). It has ungodly amounts of sillage, and I just dabbed the stuff. Yuck. I do not like the spiced gummy candy scent of red musk and wonder what this smells like on someone with the correct body chemistry.


on 8/19/2005 3:44:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have even the slightest amount of soap phobia, you would definitely want to sample this fragrance before purchasing unsniffed. On me it is pure rose and geranium soap which eventually dries down to a bar of sandalwood and rose soap left to sit on some moss. I have a couple of friends who agree with me on this definition and happen to find the definition remarkably appealing. Individual point of view/interpretation is everything.



on 12/1/2004 8:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Czech & Speake No. 88 is a very distinctive and classy fragrance, but it is surely not very modern. No. 88 begins very as a clean, fresh, soapy, dark, wet, earthy, woody floral with strong notes of geranium, rose, vetiver, moss and wood. As it dries down it becomes very musty and dank with a part that smells like an old basement. Another part of the dry down I don't care for is its much too sharp mossy note. A story goes along with this one. My grandfather fell in love with Brut in the 60ís when he started dating again after a divorce. He is now 81 and Brut is his signature scent to this day. To me, No. 88 brings to mind his walk-in closet with the lingering scent of his old favorite Brut hanging in the air along with the scent of musty, old clothes and worn leather shoes. No. 88 shares many notes with Brut and if you don't not smell the similarities, you must be in denial. Bottom line is that No. 88 begins as a somewhat pleasant fragrance but is VERY old fashioned with a dry down that is much too dank, musty and mossy for my tastes. If you would like a fragrance with a classic, dark, floral and wood feel, try the less musty and much better Cacharel Pour L'Homme instead. I was stunned to read that a woman would wear this one. Though floral, No. 88 is still entirely masculine.

Top Notes: Bergamot
Middle Notes: Geranium, Rose Otto, Cassie, Frangipani
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Vetiver, Oakmoss


on 12/23/2003 6:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This sense is very unique and in a wonderful way a little bit exalted: the combination of rose otto and cassie (with a soapy and odd morbid character) and wood (vetiver, sandalwood without any indifferent warmth) gives him a bright, intensive and very complex and flaring character. Itís not yummy in a naÔve way but very interesting and distanced in an intelligent way. The sense based on an original Elizabethan recipe whilst still remaining definitively modern: just a masterpiece!


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1369 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews
Si
42 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
342 Reviews


Back to Top