Czech & Speake • No. 88 • Fragrances

rated 3.2(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 12/7/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: bergamot, geranium, cassie, rose otto, frangipani (plumeria), vetiver, sandalwood.

Opens sparkly sweet with heavy geranium notes, with underneath a bergamot note to give it more punch. The fragrance smells flowery sweet, but not as sticky sweet as líEau díAmbre. On my skin this fragrance loses strength very fast and after one and a half hour I can only smell a weak sweet flowery note on a woody base. Lasts for more than 5 hours on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whitecountess on 9/9/2010 6:21:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I first smelled No. 88 when a legendary English film actor leaned across to kiss my cheek in greeting. I nearly passed out, both from the close contact and then the heavenly smell! Nothing else smells like No. 88. Some will love it, some not so much, but it can never be mistaken for anything else. When I was back in London I went to the Czech and Speake store on legendary Jermyn street because I was so intrigued to find where this magical black bottle had come from.
I think it smells absolutely beautiful on a woman, and that you have to be a special kind of man to wear it.
Bergamot, Geranium, Rose otto, Cassie, Frangipani, Vetiver and Sandalwood.
My favorite for English fragrances.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katinka007 on 4/2/2009 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Katinka007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Smells like a typical shaving cream. Not unpleasant but not particularly unique and definitely not something I'd want to smell of.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pennypencil on 3/30/2009 3:43:00 PM more reviews by pennypencil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I wonít say too much about No.88 Ė a rather masculine cologne Ė because it reminds me of an ex boyfriend who wore Fumerie Turque. The dry-down is akin to said fragrance, but the journey there isnít. The journey there is a close-up of a warm, soapy, smoky, spicy, male neck. My dad would smell great in this, but itís got too strong a shaving foam accord to win me over. Fumerie Turque, I have worn many times, but No.88 is too masculine. The male fragrances I enjoy most on myself are Chanel Egoiste and Cartier Declaration, if that puts this in context.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rnornan on 12/6/2008 1:40:00 AM more reviews by rnornan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I put this on first, I think immediately of a Rich Hippie scent bordering on Andy Tauer's favorite incense note. I like it enough to be intrigued. After the initial hippie wears off, it becomes rosy and exhibits wine notes that I find very regal and enchanting. It is not the most original scent admittedly, but I find it deep and a nice wintery substitute for me--I cannot stand wholehearted vanillas and musks in the winter though many do--and can see this as a nice alternative. On the other hand, there is enough lightness to the dry down that it would work well on the shoulder seasons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debrsl on 3/31/2008 3:39:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This goes on sour initially, and that effects stays for quite a while. I am beginning to think I can't do geranium. At all. I was hoping that the storied "dark honeyed notes" would come out more than they have. Long into the drydown, I actually did get them, and they are luscious. No kidding. But then it went back to something I can only describe as a nice honey soap. So I get sour, honey soap, absolute lusciousness, great honey soap. I could still see myself wearing this, however, because it is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ounces on 2/7/2008 3:37:00 PM more reviews by ounces

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I was expecting much, much more. No. 88 smells like almost pure red musk oil on me (though it is not listed as a note). It has ungodly amounts of sillage, and I just dabbed the stuff. Yuck. I do not like the spiced gummy candy scent of red musk and wonder what this smells like on someone with the correct body chemistry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maller on 8/19/2005 3:44:00 PM more reviews by Maller

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you have even the slightest amount of soap phobia, you would definitely want to sample this fragrance before purchasing unsniffed. On me it is pure rose and geranium soap which eventually dries down to a bar of sandalwood and rose soap left to sit on some moss. I have a couple of friends who agree with me on this definition and happen to find the definition remarkably appealing. Individual point of view/interpretation is everything.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DunandaFalls on 12/1/2004 8:11:00 PM more reviews by DunandaFalls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Czech & Speake No. 88 is a very distinctive and classy fragrance, but it is surely not very modern. No. 88 begins very as a clean, fresh, soapy, dark, wet, earthy, woody floral with strong notes of geranium, rose, vetiver, moss and wood. As it dries down it becomes very musty and dank with a part that smells like an old basement. Another part of the dry down I don't care for is its much too sharp mossy note. A story goes along with this one. My grandfather fell in love with Brut in the 60ís when he started dating again after a divorce. He is now 81 and Brut is his signature scent to this day. To me, No. 88 brings to mind his walk-in closet with the lingering scent of his old favorite Brut hanging in the air along with the scent of musty, old clothes and worn leather shoes. No. 88 shares many notes with Brut and if you don't not smell the similarities, you must be in denial. Bottom line is that No. 88 begins as a somewhat pleasant fragrance but is VERY old fashioned with a dry down that is much too dank, musty and mossy for my tastes. If you would like a fragrance with a classic, dark, floral and wood feel, try the less musty and much better Cacharel Pour L'Homme instead. I was stunned to read that a woman would wear this one. Though floral, No. 88 is still entirely masculine.

Top Notes: Bergamot
Middle Notes: Geranium, Rose Otto, Cassie, Frangipani
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Vetiver, Oakmoss

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Photorin on 12/23/2003 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Photorin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This sense is very unique and in a wonderful way a little bit exalted: the combination of rose otto and cassie (with a soapy and odd morbid character) and wood (vetiver, sandalwood without any indifferent warmth) gives him a bright, intensive and very complex and flaring character. Itís not yummy in a naÔve way but very interesting and distanced in an intelligent way. The sense based on an original Elizabethan recipe whilst still remaining definitively modern: just a masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Czech & Speake products

More Fragrances products