Origins NIght-A-Mins Cream

3.4

181 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

fossilized mineral water extract, cyclomethicone, caprylic/capric triglyceride, polysorbate 40, squalane, cetyl alcohol, myristyl alcohol, butylene glycol, peg 100 stearate, tocopheryl (vitamin e) linoleate, retinyl (vitamin a) palmitate, pantethine, magnesium ascorbyl (vitamin c) phosphate, folic acid, biotin, panthenol, hydrocotyl (centella asiatica) extract, oat (avena sativa) flour, sodium hyaluronate, neroli (citrus aurantium), orange bitter (citrus aurantium), valerian (valeriana officinalis), vanilla absolute (vanilla planifolia), galbanum (ferula galbaniflua), and orange (citrus sinensis) essential oils (olea), birch (betula alba) and myrtle (myrtis communis) infusions, glyceryl stearate, cetearyl alcohol, carbomer, ceteareth 20, tromethamine, trisodium edta, potassium sorbate, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, isopropylparaben, isobutylparaben, and


on 7/23/2015 8:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample tube of this with my Sephora points, otherwise, I don't think I'd have tried it at all since I very much like the Origins Starting Over cream. But I love trying new things and figured "what the heck". I actually really like this cream and was surprised by the low ratings it has received. It's great for a warm weather night cream as it's not too heavy. I love the slight orange scent and love how it sinks in quickly and isn't at all greasy. I use it over Algenist facial oil and love the results when I wake up. I might actually consider purchasing the full size of this as the price is reasonable and I can also get it with my SDM points!



on 7/15/2015 6:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Usually I like to write very eloquent and detailed reviews; I like to consider myself a person who has patience, pose and grace. I would just like to disclaim that. I can't find a way to express myself, but if my skin were dehydrated to the point of looking like leather I still would not use this cream. I like to think that Origins is a well-respected brand, and rightfully so because of so many of their outstanding products, but this is not on that list. It really is the crème de la crap of moisturisers.

My story:
It started with a blazing Tuesday afternoon in the Winnipeg (Canada) heat; it was +35 outside with a UV index of 9. I went outside to garden and thought "heck no! I love to tan, but this will (literally) kill me." Then of course, I started to obsess about skin care. I started thinking about all the times that I was out in the sun sans UV protection, or that I abused my skin with the elements, makeup, etc.
I youtube'd "skin care routine" and watched KathleenLights latest video in which I heard her raving about this product; now let me tell you, that girl is STUNNING, talented and even though she gave a bad suggestion/one that does not work for me, I still love her. Anyways, I ran to my SDM and bought this cream at a staggering $57.63 price-tag. At night I felt so chic and luxurious putting this cream on my face; it smelt of oranges and herbs and I was in heaven.
The next morning I woke up and my skin was RAW. When people say that phrase I never really understood what it meant, but the best way I could describe it is...: if you peeled away the very top layer of my skin, poured lemon juice on it, then set me in the sun for a few hours, then made me come indoors and dump scolding-hot water over it. Just take a second to imagine that- that was my skin. It looked red, in pain, felt hot and was just unattractive. Even my lovely brother who wouldn't even notice the Apocalypse said "what's with the rash on your face?" I tried it again a few more times over a few weeks and got the same results. I understand that this is a regenerating cream, but this needs a disclaimer on it for sensitive skin.
I'm upset, I really am, so I apologize for the sloppy review. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros:
1- Great scent: BUT...do you really want a scented face product? Anything with heavy fragrances can and will irritate your skin. Origins should know better...The orange-creamsicle scent is great but it could do without.

Cons:
1- Not for sensitive skin: this seems to have a chemical-exfoliant property to it which is wayyyy too strong for me. I wish I had known this so I didn't apply a liberal amount of this product to my face and make it angry with me.

2-Price: at over $57 CAD this is expensive. Enough said

3- Thickness: i love how thick of a cream this is, but it's too heavy for the average person, PLUS I'm very sure that this product will clog pores over a period of time

4-Packaging: A jar package looses so many vital ingredients; ingredients that are essential to the product. Plus it a breeding ground for bacteria.

5-Alcohol: Normally such a great thing, but only served over ice with an olive or cranberry juice, not in my skincare. Because of the alcohol, my skin felt more tight and itchy that it initially was.

overall: no one buy this please....

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2015 10:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not too crazy about this cream. It's very hydrating in super dry times, but it's almost too thick. It really accentuates pore size, and does seem like it could clog pores if overused. Yes, the smell is amazing. I don't like the jar packaging, it seems a little unsanitary.


on 3/27/2015 7:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Got the oil-free version of this night cream. I absolutely ADORE the smell of this, it's citrus and smells amazing. Oddly enough, I open the jar just so I can smell it..But putting that aside, it is lightweight with a minor oily feeling. But to me, knowing it is oil-free, yet it gives me a supply and refreshed feeling makes me really happy. I think I have stopped breaking out as much as well versus my previous moisturizers which were not oil-free. Packaging is simple and that's the way I like it. I personally really like this night cream and it has made my skin feel much better and less oily and prone to breakouts. If oil-free stuff is a big plus for you, this moisturizer's definitely one of them :)


on 3/11/2015 2:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This night cream was part of the kit that I purchased during the holidays. This kit included the intense hydrating mask, eyecream, ginzing day cream and this night cream. This cream is very thick and has a pleasant citrus scent. it leaves your skin feeling very hydrated but takes a couple of minutes to soak in. other reviewers have mentioned that there is an increase in pore size and clogged pores. To my knowledge this has not harm to my skin but it didn't help much with wrinkles either. It has not stopped my search for the perfect night cream. the search continues.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used the oil-free version of Night-A-Mins for about two to three months (an entire jar's worth). I have recently quit using it, however, because it has caused my forehead to break out and it also caused an increase in blackheads. Upon waking up, my skin did look softer (though not by much), so the effectiveness is questionable...especially when it is doing more harm than good.

The cream itself is hydrating, and smells pleasant. The texture is nice, though a little heavy at first, but dries well and is not tacky or sticky on the face. It feels a bit thicker than a gel, but not quite like a cream. The product comes in a jar,so it is not very sanitary unless you have a spatula of sorts or a little spoon.

I don't really have a whole lot of good to say for it- my wrinkles were not reduced, though it did help alleviate red spots (as well as cause some new ones). Because of this, I would not suggest it.

Overall- I would not repurchase it, based strictly on the fact that it broke me out. I do have sensitive skin, so if you do not have sensitive skin this product may be a better fit for you.


on 12/13/2014 8:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really enjoyed the sample I received of this thick rich luxurious night cream. The powerful citrusy smell was a bit offending but it moisturizer my irritated skin wonderfully. However, the price is outrageous!!!! $41 for such a tiny jar. No thank you. I now use Simple 24h day/night cream which is equally hydrating for a fraction of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is pretty good moisturizer. It's just not for me. I have normal to dry skin with large pores around my nose area. I've been working on that area and am carful with products I use that they don't enlarge those pores more... And well this did :/. I still think it's great if u do not have the same problem. my skin would be super soft in the morning and very dewy.


on 11/20/2014 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a first impressions review as I have only used the product once. With continued use, if I notice any adverse effects I will update my review.

The cream is heavily fragranced so if you are sensitive to scents you may want to stay away. To me it smells strongly of citrus, a little artificial but not offensive. After application I did not even notice the scent anymore so I'm not bothered by it.

Night-a-mins claims to have time released resurfacers (vitamins) so that you wake up with supple and bright skin. I have combination skin: oily t-zone and patches of flakey dry skin. Since the weather is turning cooler, I have been dealing with stubborn flakes that won't go away. In comes Night-a-mins! I woke up to smooth, shine free (as opposed to the usual oily), and flake free skin. Can't say whether my skin seems less dull but I'm pleased that my skin now appears balanced. Perhaps it's the squalene in the cream? For reference, I was using hyaluronic acid moisturizers prior to this to no avail.


on 10/20/2014 10:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this moisturizer is amazing. I love the relaxing smell as well although it's not for everyone. Wake up with a fresh looking skin every morning.


Popular Moisturizers


Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Magic Cream
Magic Cream
33 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1283 Reviews
Back to Top