Revlon • Colorstay Overtime Lipcolor • Lipstick

rated 3.2(264 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 3/19/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

***The easiest way I have found to remove this product is carmex! Put it on and leave it for a few minutes, and then you can just wipe it away.***

I have this in 'stay currant' [#508?] it is a rich dark red. I absolutely love it. I have tried a ton of super long lasting lip products, and this tops them all. It takes a bit of time to get an even coat; if you apply carelessly it will look patchy and funky and be horrid to correct. However, once you get it looking right, it will stay that way all day. I most like that the topcoat keeps it looking glossy looking while having incredible staying power. As in, *incredible*. You have to scrub to get it off! If you don't commit to one lipcolor per day, this is definitely not for you. This really is an extremely long wear product. It still looks great at the end of the day, too. I plan on trying more colors!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 petiterugger on 2/7/2014 3:16:00 AM more reviews by petiterugger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product! It definitely has amazing staying power. I own Forever Scarlet and Ultimate Wine. I've taken a great liking to Revlon products as I've explored the brand in recent months. Although their ColorStay Ultimate Suede lipsticks last a pretty long time, nothing can compare to Overtime. The gloss does wear after a while, but the color remains as fresh as the moment you first applied it. I don't mind the gloss dulling after a while because it's a little sticky. I'm actually glad it does dull because nothing is more annoying than having sticky lips ALL DAY LONG (aside from color constantly coming off). The only con I can really speak for is that I've noticed this product has a little bit of a drying effect on my lips. Although it doesn't flake while I'm wearing this product, I find myself liberally applying a moisturizing balm after taking it off. Also, baby wipes and/or Neutrogena Make Up Remover wipes really does the trick for taking this product off (because YES, it does stay on no matter what - drinking coffee, eating, etc). I've never had to retouch my lips since using this product, which is perfect for me as I never really have time for touch-ups at my work!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Arhtexas on 2/5/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Arhtexas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff never comes off and has serious staying power. I am not a girl who retouched her makeup throughout the day so I love this stuff. I have multiple shades and I wear this daily for a 12 hour work shift. I have turned multiple girlfriends onto this lip stick as we will go out and wake up the next morning and they will be in awe that my lipstick is still on! Definitely a win for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hugapug99 on 1/3/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by hugapug99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product does last, you just have to apply it correctly. Apply a thin layer, let it dry, apply a 2nd thin layer, let it dry, lastly apply gloss. I find that using this method results in a longer-lasting color. The product smells like paint and settles into every crack and line on your lips. You need very healthy lips to pull this product off. With that said, it is highly pigmented and does as it promises. I've put this on in the morning and returned home that evening to find it still looking sharp, after meals, coffee, etc. The gloss is not long lasting, but the color is. It took a few tries to find the colors that work for me. I presently use eternal rose and ultimate wine. A few of the others I tried looked too painted on. I would probably buy this again, but I prefer Maybelline 14 hour. It lasts longer and is less expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MagnoliaState on 12/31/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by MagnoliaState

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG lipstick. Love the colors and it stays on. My favorite colors are Bare Maximum (it is like a nude kicked up a notch) and Endless Spice (the perfect mauvey-pink - a nude pink you might say). Bare Maximum will go with whatever I'm wearing. I have brown eyes and purple eyeshadow really makes them stand out. I've always had a hard time finding a lipstick that complemented it. Other color I love is Endless Spice. I have not had good luck with the reds in this collection Scarlet and one other. I do like Always Sienna though. It's more of a burgundy wine red than true red. Endless Iris is a little too sheer for me. I'm nit picking though. This does well on my lips - doesn't dry them. Stays on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teeisblue on 12/16/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by teeisblue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm not normally a big lipstick wearer, more of a tinted balm girl, but this is the only lipstick I use. I find it stays on best when I apply 2 thin layers and let it dry in between. I have Bare Maximum and Non-stop Cherry. Both colors are fabulous and versatile. I use Bare Maximum mostly when I have alot of eye makeup on and Cherry usually with a more subdued eye, but both can be applied lighter/heavier, which I've done on occasion, and really work for me. Also I use Blistex Silk n Shine lip balm and when I've left the Revlon at home, I can put that overtop of the lipstick to keep my lips moisturized and it doesn't break down the color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 veelui on 11/28/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by veelui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i love that it is dual-ended; one for color and one for gloss
i think that this gloss is very drying to my lips, and it doesnt stay as long as it says it will.
you have too keep applying the clear coat in order to make it stay but that defeats the purpose of long-wearing color.
i have the keep blushing and a peach color, they are very pigmented and i like the shades. but thats it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ikhd on 11/9/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by ikhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I will probably repurchase, unless I can find something better... I have this in two colors, Bare Maximum, which is very close to my natural lip color and I like this one the best. The second shade I have is Never Ending Nude, which to be honest I have only worn once, but was not thrilled with...

I find that I do have to reapply this after lunch, and if I eat anything before my lunch hour, it can come off the center part of the lips, leaving that dreaded ring of color on the outer edge. Not a good look...

My problem with the Nude shade was while eating lunch with my sister, I noticed she kept glancing at my lips. After lunch, when I went to reapply and looked in the mirror---I had no lips at all! You know what I mean, they were an icky shade of blah! Have not worn this shade since.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sweetlilbirdy on 11/7/2013 1:14:00 AM more reviews by Sweetlilbirdy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

BABY WIPES!!!

The main negative I keep hearing about this product is that it doesn't come off. I'm telling you - baby wipes. Takes the color off better than vaseline, makeup remover, or anything else I've tried. Baby wipes are also cheap, effective makeup removers in general, including eye makeup, and they're especially great for people with sensitive skin.

I have this lipstick in three different colors: timeless nude, endless spice, and forever scarlet. I've used better reds than the forever scarlet - the color is hard to get uniform - but I still use it if I'm going out and don't want to worry about it too much. The endless spice is my favorite, it's what I wear to work almost every day, and I never think about it after putting it on in the morning.

The other thing negative thing I've heard is that when this does wear off, it leaves a ring around the outside of your lips. This is true, but it takes HOURS before this is a problem, like upwards of six hours. Again - baby wipes!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 myrasays on 8/2/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by myrasays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this since I was 19, I am 24 years old now. Particularly love the "Bare Maximum" color. Lots of people ask if my lips "are just that color, or are you wearing something?"

Pros:
Long lasting
One tube to carry (I hate CoverGirl Outlast for this reason & it's flaky)
NOT flaky
The gloss is moisturizing

Cons:
Not enough lip gloss, runs out before color for me.
Application takes adjusting. Too much product? Sticky leather lips. Too little? Buh-bye color.

Some Tips!
Clean lips help for *initial* application.
Apply a thin layer first: wipe excess off on edge of tube.
Line lips carefully, then fill.
Use the pad of your ring finger to distribute evenly. It wipes off easily, don't worry lol no stained fingers.
Let dry completely. I don't press my lips together personally.
Feel free to reapply, but carry on with THIN layers...finger pressing not necessary @ this point.
Removal will be tricky, even after you wash your face. Use olive oil or your eye make up remover. They work best. I follow up with some Burt's Bees or other waxy lip balm & that helps get the excess off.

Hope this helps!! <3

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products