Ponds • Deep Cleanser Cold Cream • Cleansers

rated 4.1(1199 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 AimeeMarieMUA on 9/28/2014 4:19:00 AM more reviews by AimeeMarieMUA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Generally speaking, I love this product-it works really well to remove makeup, and it is very moisturizing. You can use it for a lot of things, not just a makeup remover-you can use it for a mask, a cleanser, or as a night time moisturizer if you're someone who wants to/needs to/likes to use a really heavy moisturizer at night.

It does have a smell to it-it smells really faintly of roses, most people will tell you it smells like 'old ladies' which I can understand since it is a product that has been around for a really long time. It is also VERY oily-I've used it as a night time moisturizer a couple times and it takes a good while for it to set into my skin, and it looks a bit greasy. But, if you can get passed that-it does work well to moisturize skin when you have really dry skin.

Sadly, I am ALMOST certain that this has given me an allergic reaction. I began using this as my night time moisturizer to see if it would make a difference in my skin since I have pretty dry skin, more so now that the seasons have changed and we're going into Fall and Winter. After a couple uses as a night time moisturizer, I have developed six hives/very itchy bumps-two on my face, one on my neck, one on my back, and one on each breast. I was only using this on my face and neck-nowhere else; which is why I am not completely certain that this is the cause-but this is the only new product I've been using. I had been using it for about a week before I had begun using this as a moisturizer, so I'm hoping that it only irritates my skin if left on for long periods of time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 9/13/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been a fan of the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) because of how effectively the OCM removed the toughest makeup and cleaned my skin without stripping it. This cold cream is essentially the OCM in a jar and without the mess. I take a small amount, rub it on my face and eyelids (yes, it can even tackle waterproof mascara and eyeliner), wait a minute, rub a little more, then remove with a tissue or wet washcloth. Then I follow with my regular cleanser and Clarisonic. I get the same exact results with Ponds that I do with my castor/safflower oil blend. Plus it hasn't made me break out.

This product does have several advantages over the OCM. First of all, there's almost no mess. You can find it at almost any drugstore or supermarket, so no need to hunt for oils or to special order anything. Costwise, it is cheaper: a jar of Ponds can last me a couple months, plus I don't have to worry about it going rancid.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/10/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to really enjoy using this. Maybe it was just the extra time I took for myself.
I found it to cleanse my skin very well, make it very soft and supple.
As for leaving a film I didn't have any issues when I used a warm wash cloth to remove. It does feel like a light lotion left on the skin but once you let your skin dry and let it set in it goes away quickly. I just have no need for this in my routine. I use cleansers that remove my makeup and if I need to I use baby oil to remove waterproof makeup.
This is nice cold cream though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowwgirl on 9/7/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by snowwgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

A cream that leaves your face clear of makeup, even waterproof mascara. I have tried many makeup removers but keep coming back to this one. As one consumer before me said, put it on, massage in, letting it work, then wipe off with makeup wipe. Face is clean and ready for any added serums or lotions you need. Miscellar waters just don't cut it IMO. Remove then moisturize is my new regimen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenn3985 on 9/7/2014 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Jenn3985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love this product! I was iffy at first because i have tried so many facial products that have dissappointed me and this cold cream is actually the best i have ever bought. i will def buy again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rmc0435 on 9/7/2014 2:26:00 PM more reviews by rmc0435

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff. I was using Dove soap but after a few weeks found it too drying & switched to Pond's. Every night I apply a thick layer, let it sit for a while, (10 min. to 1/2 hour) & remove it w/ a warm, wet washcloth. I've struggled w/ acne all my life, had skin that was so oily & shiny I would blot it 10,000 x day, had blackheads, whiteheads & clogged pores & my skin has NEVER LOOKED BETTER. I've also stopped washing my face in the morning. I just splash it once or twice w/ some lukewarm water, and/or stand under the shower but I don't wash or scrub it. I think all the washing was just irritating my complexion & now it's looking so calm & soothed. PS: I wear foundation, powder, blush, full eye makeup & lipstick during the day & Pond's removes all of it. PPS: This is kinda gross & TMI but I think another reviewer told a similar story. I had a sort of permanent zit on my face that wouldn't go away. After using Pond's Cold Cream for about a week, I woke up one morning & there was a hole in my face where the pimple was! I told my husband that Pond's just "thrust" it right out. (The hole is no longer there & my cheek looks completely normal.) The whole idea of cold cream is that the oils in it are supposed to melt into your pores & carry out all the bad stuff & Pond's really does this. I've been using it for about a month & I plan on using it forever. <3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 8/29/2014 2:01:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I could not get past the odor of this stuff. As, its scent is very strong and unpleasant to smell, in opinion. Plus, this stuff leaves a film on your face that you have to keep rubbing to get off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cacj on 8/25/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by cacj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My mom had bought this for me ages ago but I never really wore makeup to use this though I had rediscovered it in and am in love. I slather this all over my face and use a baby wipe to wipe off the makeup and the cream at the same time and I can tell you it even gets the Revlon Colorstay makeup off! The cream is rather oily which gets the makeup and excess dirt off your face which can be annoying. The packaging is great for a while since the tub is still full, though I am halfway through it and it is becoming a task so reach for the cream. I suggest that they should remodel the packaging into a bottle, or something with a pump. Overall, great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vsmini on 8/17/2014 12:39:00 AM more reviews by vsmini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I don't understand the people who are turned off by the jar and claiming there is a problem with hygiene. You simply wash your hands and make sure you scoop out the appropriate amount you need. Use that and you're done.
Not much else to add. I think people judge this product unfairly due to a simple technique to improve hygiene. Great product. Works for me and gives me zero acne or breakout problems

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 8/3/2014 8:57:00 AM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't like it. This, along with Ponds classic cream is loaded with mineral oil which leaves a film on your skin even after cleansing with water(multiple times). Also, I find you need a lot of product to loosen the makeup off your face. Finally, the packaging is also not very sanitary or practical.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products