MAC Velvet - Texture

4.5

113 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2015 11:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a softer version of MAC Cork eyeshadow, in my opinion. I find Cork too orange/coppery for me and Texture is much more wearable for my Asian/NC30 features.
Unlike Cork, Texture has a sheen to it which makes it easier to blend.

I'll wear it all over the lid for an every day look or pair with other similar shades.
If I want more of a bright eye look, I'll wear MAC Soft Ochre paint pot as a base.

Texture is definitely a great, versatile eyeshadow for most skin tones and a staple for me.



on 7/19/2015 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Staple in your makeup kit. I use it either in the crease or to smoke out the lower lashline. This eyeshadow took my makeup game up a few notches!


on 4/16/2015 6:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Best versatile color ever! Texture is a warm, medium, brown-caramel-toffee color with a tiny specks of shimmer but this is not a glittery eye shadow, I guess you could call it velvet or satin. Great texture, quite buttery. Blends, distributes and color payoff are all A+. I use this mainly in my crease as the base crease color. Alone, or paired with other colors it works. As a wash this is also great.

Rarely do I call a product universal, but I can see this used on everyone on every skin tone. The sales assistant at MAC is the one who showed me this. She applied some on my crease and it was just the type of brown, the perfect middle versatile brown that was I was looking for! Especially as a tan/dark tan person(NC42). The SA also had this in her crease and she had very fair skin with hazel-green eyes. NC45 and up ladies this is also for you! It would make the perfect natural looking wash of color or even crease color. Like I mentioned, this is versatile, a "workhorse", and overall a great eye shadow.

If your looking for a completely matte version of this for a cheaper price, NYX Dance in The Tides is a very close dupe.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like neutral eyeshadows for my NW45-ish skintone and Texture is perfect!!! This eyeshadow is the perfect mix of matte with just the right amount of sparkle. It's very "creamy" and easy to blend. Works perfect as a neutral eye with a bright lip. Definitely a must-have!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2013 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow! I have found the perfect eyeshadow shade for my NW20 complexion, dark hair and light green eyes! This shade really makes my eyes pop and can be worn in either daytime or nighttime. I love it!


on 10/6/2013 9:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of my top 10 eye shadows, a dream to apply, brightens the whole face! Amazing as a wash when you're in a rush, or in summer, when you want less make up on.


on 9/5/2013 11:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

MAC Texture is a dream. PLEASE try this combination it is absoilutely one of the most beautiful looks for everyday work/walks or a date!
1. MAC Groundwork Paintpot then MAC Naked Lunch wash on 2/3 of the eyelid, leave the outer third for the next step,
2. Apply MAC Orange (alt you can use MAC Red Brick if you don't have MAC Orange) with a fluffy blending brush to the outer third of thew eyelid - do not fear!!!! It won't be orange in the end! Then apply Orange across about a 1/3 of the lower lid using a pencil brush for best results. DO NOT BLEND out just apply, you want the intensity of Orange to be there.
3. Take the same brushes you used for Orange and apply MAC Texture on top of everything you applied with orange already.
4. Use your favourite highlight on the brow bone. I like Vex or Nylon but maybe Brule or Ricepaper would be less shiny if that's how you like it more.
5. Feline MAC Eye Kohl inside the top waterline (you can use black liner if you like on top of the lid but no need IMO), Fascinating MAC Eye Kohl on the lower waterline, mascara and that's it!!!! A-may-zing!!! Guaranteed that everyone will complement the face and the makeup!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2013 6:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I normally stay away from brown like eye shadows because Im very fair with cooler undertones, so I have to be careful but browns that have a golden or peachy undertone work well I discovered. I purchased Texture and I have to say I love it. I use it with Bamboo, Soba, Cork and Ricepaper as the brow bone highlighter. It's a beautiful shadow for the summer when I have a tan. The color is a very pretty peachy/amber brown that can be used with many other neutrals/browns and if this shade works on my super fair European skin it will surely work for many if not all skin tones.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2013 12:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE Texture and would give it 10 lippies if I could. I am NC15 in the winter and NC20 in the summer... I thought that this would be too orangey for my taste but I was sooooo wrong. It is a Velvet which means that it applies matte but it has a teeny tiny bit of sparkle (not shimmer) -- which helps it blend sooooo easily. I like to use Texture to buff out the lower lash line, to warm up the crease/transition, applied to the lid for a casual warm daytime look, and many many others. This eyeshadow is so versatile and it has the most amazing texture. Out of the 80 or so MAC eyeshadows I have this would be in my Top 10 most loved for sure! I recommend this to everyone... from the fairest of the fair like myself to the deepest ebony. It is a *MUST HAVE*!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2013 5:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It's my favourite eye shadow. I use it with white and nude coloured eye shadows and put it on my crease. Just gets the right light cat eye I want. Most of the time, I don't even use a darker colour than this because the more you apply it the darker it gets and becomes more like a night makeup than an everyday makeup. So, I totally love it :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top