Cover Girl Clean Make Up

2.9

104 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 8/8/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It makes me sad to see so many negative reviews about this product. After trying several expensive foundations, I always come back to this one. I will agree that the packaging is a downfall, but the only one. I have never had issues with it being too oily or breaking me out (and I have acne prone skin!), or turning funny colors, or the product separating in the packaging, and maybe this is weird but I actually love the smell of this product which other reviewers seem to hate. Other reviewers also give this a bad rap for not having much coverage. That's what I like about it. I don't want to be wearing a mask. Do NOT try to conceal with your foundation (that's what concealer is for!). This evens skin tone and gives a wonderfully flawless look as it minimizes pores. It basically creates the perfect canvas for your face to be ready for makeup. I absolutely love this foundation. It is the only one I will use and these are the products I have tried:

Neutrogena
Stila
Loreal
Revlon
Bare Escentuals
Glominerals
Purminerals
Flower
and many more!

I keep coming back to this one. I don't know why this foundation gets such a bad rap. It is one of the only ones that I can really get a good skin tone match, and I will continue to use it. Covergirl, PLEASE don't listen to these other people that want this product to be discontinued. Lots of us still rely on it!



on 8/6/2015 10:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Did not work for me

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I do not like this. First of all it smells bad, like a really weird stench. It doesn't last very long and I don't like the color matches. This is a low priced foundation and you really get what you pay for here.


on 11/25/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I use the Oil Control Clean w the Oil Control Pressed Powder & it seems pretty good! It used to smell like Noxzema but not anymore. It's average coverage, below average packaging (I wish it had a pump! Or better yet tube!), better than average oil control, the shades lean orangey but the good news is the price. I do like it for its price but it's nothing stellar. I will continue to rebuy it just based on oil control & price factors alone. The coverage is not quite what I need, I need a little heavier. This is your basic foundation, no frills but good oil control. I wish I could think of something exemplary to add about it, but it's boring, nothing exciting. The best thing it has going for it is that it's oil free.


on 5/23/2014 8:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a foundation that I have used for many, many years. I have had an on and off relationship with this product. It provides a nice, medium to full coverage on your face. I own the oil control version of this, and I have it in classic ivory. The only problem though? The PACKAGING. I hate that this doesn't have a pump, because that would make getting the makeup out of the bottle so much easier. I have to shake the bottle for a good minute to get anything out. other than that, this makeup is what is advertised as: clean. I can hardly feel it on my face, but it gives me a flawless, dewy glow.


on 2/23/2014 1:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very sheer coverage and the odor isn't what I want on my face. Did not last more than 4hours even with a primer.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a great water-based foundation for people with skin that is sensitive or prone to breakouts. It comes in 3 varieties: regular, oil control, and sensitive. I use Oil Control in the summer and Sensitive in the winter. Sensitive is non-drying (not moisturizing either), while oil control keeps a nice matte look (it's somewhat drying though, so only use it if you have oily, shiny skin.)

This foundation is somewhere between light and medium coverage, which is perfect for me. For people who want higher coverage, look elsewhere! (But remember higher coverage foundations often will cause you to break out more!)

Note that the colours are limited... I have pale skin but neutral (or perhaps more yellow) undertones. I buy the palest shade and it's pale enough for me, but it's a bit too pink.


PROS:
-Blends well using fingertips or a sponge (I start with a brush, then blend anything streaky with my fingers)
-Non-comedogenic and hypoallergenic... I have VERY sensitive skin, and nothing bad happens with this foundation!
-VERY affordable! This is the cheapest foundation Cover Girl has, so for someone with sensitive skin, it's a dream come true!
-Oil-free and fragrance-free
-This used to not be the case, but P&G (Cover Girl) products are now over 99% NOT tested on animals!

CONS:
-Very limited colour range--unfortunately, they don't have dark colours, and seem to have more cool tones than warm (yellow tones help to counteract redness, so keep this in mind)
-Annoying packaging.. I always have to hit my foundation on the counter upside down with the lid on to get the foundation out. This product should really come with a pump.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2014 1:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this foundation for christmas and boy does it stink.. Literally. The smell is awful and the coverage isn't very good. I mix it with my covergirl 3 in 1 foundation to make it a little darker but the smell is so awful I tend not to use it.


on 1/6/2014 3:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So freaking bad.. It's so liquid-y on my face, it like rubs off. Smells terrible terrible terrible. No coverage. Turns a different colour on my face throughout the day. Worst foundation known to man kind, not even worth $4. I would prefer a $4 coffee over this


on 12/18/2013 10:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this for normal skin as a freebie via my mum. I love the colour & the texture is great. I wear it everyday to work & it's just as good as my Stila & Chanel foundations (I keep them for special occasions). I can be in for some hot & long days at work, and this foundation does the job fine.


Back to Top