Neutrogena Liquid Neutrogena Facial Cleansing Formula

4.0

161 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Oleic Acid, Coconut Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Triethanolamine, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, BHT, Trisodium HEDTA, Blue 1, Red 33, Yellow 5, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol


on 4/26/2015 11:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Used this till the product ran out. At first my skin was loving it until later on I slowly noticed that I kept getting bumps on my chin. I would repurchase, however, this isn't for me. Works well for removing make up, doesn't sting my eyes, weird smell but doesn't bother me. I have dry sensitive skin and this didn't irritate my skin much just some bumps on my chin :(



on 1/31/2015 10:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately, this is yet another cleanser that hasn't worked out for me. For my dehydrated-normal skin, this is much too drying and leaves my skin feeling squeaky tight and uncomfortable. It was not gentle as it claimed to be. I do find all cleansers to be at least somewhat drying but I have to really rush to put lotion on immediately after I use this. It did rinse cleanly though.

Overall, for my skin type I did not find this cleanser suitable. It may work better on normal-to-oily skin types.


on 1/30/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I remember using this when I was suffering from acne between ages 12-14. It did cleared and calmed my skin then I switch to other local drugstore products because It was very difficult to find this in drugstore in my country. I'm trying this out again. But 2 days after using this again I can see small bumps all over my face! I don't know if the fomula is different from years ago or my skin is just adjusting from switching brands. I hope my skin will cleared up after a few while.

UPDATE:
i just don't have small bumps right now, I now have pimples!! And I don't know what to do :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2014 8:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just love this stuff. I keep going back to it. I've tried everything from Ponds, to 100% Pure, to DHC cleansing oil. It seems like the oils all just break my skin out. Anything with mint, menthol makes my skin red. Be sure to check the ingredients make sure there is NO salicylic acid--this stuff can irritate and cause breakouts if you are using other acne medications in combination--I will note it is good for body acne though!) This review is for just the plain old face wash--it's been around forever and I remember using it when I was younger--15 years later I'm still reaching for it. Is it the best stuff ever? Probably not, I'm sure there are better cleansers out there but I haven't found them! It's just a dependable gentle cleanser. If your skin is freaking out and needs a rest, try this for a month or so before moving on to get things calmed down, you won't regret it! (Takes off makeup well too).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is great for oily skin. It is super basic and affordable. This was actually the first ever cleanser I ever used it, but I was 12 and had to go out and buy something "cooler". It can be drying at first, but after I moisturize that feeling goes away.


on 5/24/2014 4:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent for oily skin. Removes makeup easily. Works like the glycerin soap without the mushy mess. A ++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This used to be my fall-back cleanser when my skin got dry or itchy, and since making some dietary changes my skin has calmed down. I was glad to go back to the cleanser that I loved as a young adult until my skin started flaking and peeling. Since I changed from an acne cleanser (albeit an organic one) to the Neutrogena Liquid this was an unpleasant surprise. After a few days' use I put it in the shower for general use and bought a 'gentle' cleanser. I'll keep trying until I find one that works.


on 2/28/2014 12:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a product I really wanted to love. In fact, I felt a little nostalgic about it. I used to get a Neutrogena amber bar in my stocking every Christmas. I can still remember the way it smelled. Well, Neutrogena facial soap no longer has that lovely scent, so that is a bit disappointing as I never found that particular fragrance offensive. Anyway, the amber bar always did a wonderful job clearing up my (at the time) acne-prone skin.

I had been using the CeraVe Hydrating cleanser, and it made my skin look and feel really good, but I was concerned about the very oily residue it seemed to leave behind. That is why I decided to try the Liquid Neutrogena. I was already using their gentle face scrub with no ill effects, so I figured why not give this a go.

The first time I used it, I used it with my Clarisonic Mia 2. I didn't notice anything remarkable, only it didn't leave that oily feeling on my skin that the CeraVe did. That was nice. The second time I used it, my skin felt a little tight afterward, so I made sure to moisturize very thoroughly afterward. The third use left my skin uncomfortably tight. The next time not only did my skin feel tight, but it made the area around my lips and nostrils burn. It was so painful I had to hold a cold rag over the area until the stinging subsided.

The final time I used it was the straw that broke the camel's back. I always tried to be very careful about not getting it around my eyes, but with the Clarisonic, sometimes suds will roll down your face. Well, a little bit of soap got into my right eye. It was excruciatingly painful. I was frantically trying to flush my eye out. I made sure I put medicated drops in afterward, just for good measure. I got out of the shower, dried off, and looked in the mirror and was horrified to see my forehead was peeling. Like when you get a sunburn, not a flaking peel. And this wasn't the Clarisonic responsible for this, because I've been using it regularly with my CeraVe and never experienced any dryness and/or peeling/flaking of the skin on my face. I slathered moisturizer all over and prayed for the best.

The following morning my forehead had this bizarre, tight shine to it. Like a Botox or chemical peel freakishly smooth shine. I moisturized again and realized my right eye was still burning. I looked in the mirror and was frightened when I saw how bloodshot and red-rimmed my eye was. I had to dispense more drops.

I'd say this soap isn't right for me, but I wouldn't discredit it altogether. I have combination and sensitive skin with an oily t-zone, oily eyelids, but dry eczema-prone patches in my eyebrows, along my upper lip, and on my cheeks so maybe that has something to do with why this worked so poorly for me. I'm going back to my CeraVe.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 10:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this. Just like the bar of soap but for some reason i prefer the bar of soap although it does tend to get soft and melted looking but the lather of the soap bar beats this, this liquid one still does the same exact thing! Cleans skin very nicely, doesnt breakout skin even if you have the most sensitive skin ever, like me ! Will use this and the bar of soap foreverrrrr! No doubt about that.


on 1/12/2014 2:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A classic basic cleanser from Neutrogena that never goes wrong.... It delivers what it does, cleansing without over-drying the skin. Comes lightly scented which does not bother me. A little goes a long way, as it lathers up pretty well upon contact with water. Having said that, I reckon this would be great for people with normal-oily skin. Not too sure how this would fare for those with drier skin types, as it does foam up and leaves the skin with a 'squeaky' after feel. Overall, a good cleanser at great price.


Back to Top