Neutrogena • Pore Refining Toner • Toners

rated 3.5(319 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 9/19/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the first toner I have ever used consistently. I have used it every single day (sometimes more than once a day) for the past 9 months. I purchased this during one of my seemingly daily Ulta hauls around the holidays after seeing many beauty videos on YT stressing the importance of toner. Now, I will not say I feel my pores are "visibly reduced" as the package claims, but I do feel my complexion is noticeably more radiant, fresh, and overall healthy looking. I do not have problematic skin to begin with (sensitive, acne prone, or otherwise), just some trouble occasionally around my chin/hormonal area. I'm not 100% sold on that fact that toners are a *MUST* have in a skincare regimen, but I'm 90% there. I don't think I'd suffer if I ran out for a few weeks or anything. I especially like applying this right before makeup (and moisturizer, obviously) because I feel it really gives me a fresh face to work with. I would definitely repurchase and probably will. I decided to splurge and purchase Clinique's toner for oily skin as that seems to be my trouble lately. This is a great, affordable product for those who, like me, are inexperienced in the toner department!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/12/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far the best toner for my oily skin.
It helps just slightly but my skin really like this. It helps with breakouts as well.
My pores have not gone away but my complexion is better so that is what matters to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ro2lana on 9/1/2014 12:57:00 AM more reviews by Ro2lana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Kinda disappointed in Neutrogena. This product is by far not the best toner on the market. Didn't do anything for my pore size and seemed to make my skin appear rough and made fine lines visible. *le sigh* will prob go back to witch hazel or sea breeze

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MLP10 on 7/22/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by MLP10

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is not a product for teens or 20 somthings, possibly not 30 somethings either. However for 40+ it does what it says it will do and at a fantastic price. I have a toner I purchased with a beauty package that cost $200, Neutrogena doesn't smell as light but so what. The smell lasts for a few seconds, my pores are visibly smaller and my savings is eminence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aubjohnson19 on 6/22/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by aubjohnson19

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So. I was just in walmart a few weeks ago and I ran out of my sea breeze astringent. I use the yellow kind and it's for oily and acne prone skin. I really don't have bad acne or breakouts. It's just little bumps on my cheeks and I only have about 4-5 on each one. But I do have really oily skin and the ingredients really cut down the shine and oil during the day. It seems like it's more for oily skin than combination and dry skin, because of the ingredients. It does really help getting excess makeup off and doesn't really shrink pores but just a little bit. It has a kind of bug spray smell and is a bit strong but it will disappear. Also this will maybe burn ur face a little and leave ur face a little red but nothing unbearable. I will repurchase this though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 6/18/2014 1:52:00 PM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is strong as hell. I should have known when reading the ingredients:

Water, Alcohol Denat. (35%), Glycolic Acid, Witch Hazel (Hamamelis Virginiana) Extract, Sodium Pca, Alicylic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Peppermint (Mentha Piperita) Leaf Extract, Allantoin, Sodium Lactate, PEG 40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Fragrance.

I bought it anyway because it was on sale and I needed a toner, and also because I saw many positive reviews on it. I'm no stranger to AHA/BHAs - I use this stuff regularly, and it works well on my skin. I use a cleanser a few times a week with AHA/BHAs, as well as a AHA/BHA lotion every night. So when I saw a drugstore option, I was excited to give it a try. First thing you'll notice is that it smells really strong. It didn't burn my skin the first time, but I think after using it consecutively over 2-3 days (once a day in the evening), I noticed immediately my face/neck felt warm and irritated and then it became red. I had to wash it off completely because I knew it was burning my skin. I saw reviews online that said this was gentle, and they use it everyday, sometimes even twice a day and I just can't see how. Perhaps if your skin is very resistant you could do that, but I don't think its a good thing to do in the long term because it is not gentle on your skin at all. I think the alcohol content alone is scary enough. I would not recommend this product.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Andtaylorr on 6/4/2014 1:30:00 AM more reviews by Andtaylorr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Worst toner I have oily skin and this toner made my skin dry and tight! Absolutely hate it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 slnewman on 5/31/2014 7:22:00 PM more reviews by slnewman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! This ruined my face. I was looking for a toner, so i bought this hoping it would work well. i have NEVER been so upset by a skin care product in my life! My face is blotchy and red with hundreds of little bumps everywhere! This gave me the worst breakout i've ever had and i'm no stranger to massive acne breakouts. This is liquid acid. Stay FAR FAR away from this if your skin is sensitive in any way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Karebearia on 4/30/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Karebearia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This toner was very harsh and dried out my skin. Felt like my face was wrapped in cling wrap. I have very large noticeable pores near my nose and on my cheeks, thought this would "refine" my pores...Nope. The next day, there were small acne bumps on my cheeks and forehead..I've heard that it takes time for your skin to adjust to new products, so I stuck with it for another week. My skin only got worse. So I had to pour the whole thing down the drain. Never touching this toner again. Not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HotPinkLips101 on 4/23/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by HotPinkLips101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love neutrogena products, but, as far as helping with pore size, didn't do nothing, in fact my pores are bigger than ever...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Toners products