Sonia Kashuk • perfecting liquid foundation in bamboo • Foundations

rated 4.0(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 11/1/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The only pros I could find in this product is that it doesn't cake up and it does wash off very well. On that note, I didn't like it for a few reasons:

One, the smell is "chemically" and I can smell it on my face all day. Another problem is that it only comes in a .6 oz tub and for 10-15 dollars, this is a lot for a drugstore brand... I just really didn't like how this foundation went on and looked on my face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveblush on 10/18/2012 10:09:00 PM more reviews by iloveblush

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the few products I've actually thrown away after using a couple of times. Most products I'll try to make work, this just wasn't worth it. The one positive, the color was not a bad match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StephR on 3/16/2012 11:06:00 PM more reviews by StephR

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this product after seeing the rave comment it got. Let me tell you that I was not disappointed!!! This foundation leaves my skin looking natural and sheer. Unlike other foundations that only make my dry skin look even dryer this one just make it glow! The only drawbacks that it has is that it does not give full coverage. After two layers I still have to put concealer on my acne scars and under eyes, that would be the only drawback! This product can only be found at target and I consider the price reasonable. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 10/23/2011 5:20:00 AM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I NEVER in my wildest dreams thought I would ever find a “drug store” brand foundation which worked for me. Sorry if that comes off pretentious, not my intent at all, just speaking the truth. Finding a pricey department store brand match was frustrating enough- so infuriating in fact I just never bothered to go that route. My skin has red undertones and I need yellow shades to fix that and even everything out (I am NC25). Originally my HG was Dior Lift 301 blonde but it was discontinued a few years back. After loosing my staple, I wasted a ton of cash on trying Teint Dior Eclat Satin and Chanel Vitalumiere in Clair Cameo 1 (both of which seemed to emphasize every pore on my face), Chantecaille Powder Compact Makeup in Bamboo (great in heat, but too drying for winter use), a variety of NARS foundations (seemed to slide and fade and didn't even out/cover redness), MAC studio fix foundation powder (too matte and drying), Shiseido 'The Makeup' Lifting Foundation 040 (great coverage but way too pale of a shade for me), and La Mer (felt and covered great but the shade never sat right). Finally I settled on daily use of MAC select SP15 liquid which was an excellent yellow tone but not enough coverage for my liking. I say all this to emphasize how desperate I was here. SO when I happened opon SK in Target one day, I figured it was cheap enough to give a whirl. Totally purchased the Bamboo shade as a fluke- I figured by its name it must have some yellow to it. Went home, applied, looked in mirror, double checked in outside daytime lighting and was in shock! Not only was this a PERFECT shade, but the consistency, thickness and coverage was exactly what I had been looking for. This stuff does not fade or feather, will not clog pores, covers imperfections yet melds into the skin without looking heavy or unatural in any way. This is my HG and I will never again bother looking for another. I am hooked and actually think I like this more than the discontinued Dior Lift. I have no real gripes about this at all- the only neg I can think of is that its hard to get all from the bottle used up (the packaging design is kind of odd) and that often Target is out of it and it takes a while to get when that happens being that no one else sells it. But that's all I can say which is a negative... If you are NC 25 range, need the yellow tones, looking for med to heavy coverage and flawless skin, this is your shade. For all other shades looking for the above, do yourself a favor and just try this brand.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bent on 4/20/2011 3:24:00 PM more reviews by bent

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I usually never write reviews, but considering how good this is, I had to write one. I'd compare this to DiorSkin Nude. I usually use Nars Sheer Glow, Bobbi Brown Tinted moisturizer, Estee Lauder Double Wear, Lancome or Dior Skin Nude. I think this is better than everything on the list except Nars, which is my all time fav. This does not settle into my laugh lines the way Nars does. The color is subtle and natural. Its hard to tell that I'm wearing makeup.

Personally, I like this and would definitely recommend this for everyday wear. I wish it had some SPF though.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bebeo on 11/8/2010 7:15:00 PM more reviews by bebeo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this foundation. I've used Chanel and Bobbi Brown and this is the best. Chanel looked masky on me and Bobbi Brown, although yellow-based, didn't have a good color for me, nor did it stay the entire day. I have good skin and don't need heavy coverage. This color and coverage is perfect...I'm so glad to have discovered it!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caramel87 on 7/7/2009 8:21:00 PM more reviews by caramel87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

People with yellow/golden undertones, rejoice! Seriously. This is the best foundation ever for people with true yellow/golden undertones. I've tried a million others and most are either too peachy or too pinky, and the slightest peachiness or pinkiness really shows against my skin and makes me look really really strange. Only some high-end brands make true yellow/golden shades (MAC, Bobbi Brown). This shade (Bamboo) matches NC-35/37 very well.


PROs:
- Pump dispenser (mine works very well, never spurts out or plugs up)
- Bottle looks sleek
- Wears well for 8-12 hours on my normal-combo skin (doesn't settle into pores, lines, etc.), even in hot weather (100 *F !)
- Doesn't highlight dry patches
- Easily buildable without looking cakey
- Washes off easily w/ regular face-wash
- Doesn't break me out or clog pores (everything, and I mean everything, else does!)
- NO SPF!!!!!! I hate foundations that have not quite enough SPF to protect skin, but just enough to give a horrific white cast w/ flash photography.
- Gives a natural, satin-y finish.
- Feels nice on skin after it dries (very light, non-sticky)
- And once more, it's yellow-based. NOT brown, gray, peach, or pink -- YELLOW =D


CONS:
- Has this weird chemical smell that's not really all that pleasant, but I can't smell it on my face after it dries.. so it's really not that big of a deal, but it's there
- $10 for ~0.6 FL OZ... most foundations are 1 oz, so this is more expensive than other "drugstore" foundations out there, but still less expensive than mid/high-end ones.


I love it! Definitely HG.

ETA (1/24/2010): I still love this, still HG. Haven't even been tempted to try anything else!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moncli on 7/26/2008 5:47:00 PM more reviews by moncli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an HG contender for me, I haven't decided between it and the Carmindy foundation.

My favorite trick with this foundation is that I can change the coverage easily...if I apply it with a damp sponge before moisturizer is completely dry, it's a little more sheer but still great coverage. If I dab it on and "buff" with a kabuki, it's definitely more coverage. That can be good or bad but I love having the option. It leaves me looking very even toned and does not settle into pores or fine lines. Stays put for the better part of my day.

I'm NW25 and bought this in Buff.

Shake before using, and be prepared, it is more liquidy than I expected and I've wasted a few squirts that way.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butterflygirl on 1/12/2008 9:29:00 AM more reviews by butterflygirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation I have been using this for a very long time. I use bamboo in the summer and cream in the winter. It has enough coverage and it tones down the red. It looks very natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcaroline on 3/9/2003 2:45:00 PM more reviews by sweetcaroline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on sale at Target, and when I first pumped some out, water came! This product is highly watery, and it took me a while to get used to it (I also spilled half on my vanilla-colored carpet so sad!). But it applies flawlessly and doesn't make my skin look fake or mask-like. I like how this foundation doesn't 'sit' on my skin like most. I just use a thin layer and add some concealor and I look great. I even bought another one, that's how much I liked it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sonia Kashuk products

More Foundations products