Ole Henriksen • Invigorating Night Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tabitha75 on 9/11/2014 11:12:00 PM more reviews by tabitha75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this off and on for about 3 years now. Like so many products, I think it has a lifespan in that it works best when I haven't used it in a while. For a time it was an HG product in my regimen and then my skin acclimatized to it. I like to repurchase after several months of not using it.

That said, I've probably purchased it 4 times in 3 years. I see that they've recently repackaged it into a pump, which is AWESOME. My complaint with the packaging is that it's in a tub, so now they've corrected that.

The consistency is gel-like and it dries a bit tacky. I use it at night only and always finish with a light moisturizer. When I wake up in the AM my skin is brighter, smoother, more even-toned, and small blemishes are diminished. It's no miracle worker on its own, but it's a good one to use alongside a great serum and moisturizer at night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Hibiscusaddict on 9/6/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by Hibiscusaddict

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for little over 6 months and I'll just start by saying I don't like it. It claims to "brighten and tighten" skin but I haven't seen any noticeable changes. I use this about 4 nights a weeks and I dread putting it on everytime. A little goes a long way. But the texture to me is very thick and it doesn't absorb into my skin. It kinda just sits on top of my skin leaving a super tacky, heavy, thick feeling that leaves a tingle and always makes my nose itch. Yes weird. And when I wash my face the next morning it feels like a slug trail all over my face, and I don't see any "brightning or tightning". I wouldn't mind the slug trail feeling if at least I noticed a difference in my skin. But this product is an all around no for me. Plus the packaging is an open glass jar which is unsanitary in my opinion and will break if it falls. Why don't higher end companies use squeeze tubes or pumps with their products? ugh super irrahs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 francophile88 on 8/8/2014 6:26:00 AM more reviews by francophile88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for just under week as part of the Three Little Wonders set. I wanted to add my review to say I have REALLY acne prone skin, and contrary to some other reviewers this has not broken me out at all. In fact, I have been seriously impressed by the effect the three products are having on my skin - I'm not sure which is the real hero or if they all work together, but my under-skin congestion is definitely less, burgeoning blemishes have gone down and my acne scars have improved by about 30% already. I'm definitely going to continue using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SophMcD on 8/3/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by SophMcD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a sample from sephora that was forced in me by a chick telling me it will help my pores and de congest my skin and it broke me out over night! I was devastated! Didn't work for me might for you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Euphrosyne on 7/27/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Euphrosyne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Iíve been using Ole Henriksenís Invigorating Night Gel every day for half a year. For the first three months, I used it at night like the product was intended. Eventually, I started using this during the day because it was pretty gentle. I didnít experience any sensitivity despite the acids. In fact, the product didnít change my skin whatsoever. Having used prescription acne creams all my life, this gel just wasnít strong enough. It neither worsened or improved my pore, acne, or pigmentation issues. I felt like I was rubbing viscous vinegar on my face. At $54 CAD a jar, this was pretty disappointing.

[Overall rating 1.0 | Price 1.0 | Packaging 1.0 | NO, I will not repurchase]

Iíve since started experimenting with Paulaís Choice AHA and BHA products and like them much better. Theyíre half the price and come in a pump bottle which helps keep the ingredients stable. My skin is definitely smoother and my cheeks glow. Will continue playing around with their different lines to find the % that works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rubytree on 7/25/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Rubytree

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Other reviews have described the product texture, ingredients, price & packaging in sufficient detail so I won't recap all that, instead I'll focus on my experience alone.
I have been using the Invigorating Night Gel for a couple of weeks now and so far I am very impressed. I use it two/three times a week, making sure never to use it two nights in a row. Application is simple and easy, I haven't had any problems with product balling up or flaking and I always follow it up with moisturizer - sometimes the recommended Sheer Transformation or any other simple moisturizer that is lying around. Here are the pros and cons, in my experience:
PRO: Easy to apply, not greasy, doesn't cause breakouts on my normal-dry, 38 year old skin. I wake up the next morning with smooth and shockingly clear skin. I have other skin problems that this product can't solve but it does everything it promises - "smoothing and refining the surface texture for noticeably firmer and smoother skin"
CON: The product causes noticeable 'tingling' soon after application and it lasts for up to five minutes at least. It might irritate my skin if I used it every night so I make sure to use it only every other day or even once every three days. The tingling might be intense for extremely sensitive skin but nothing that normal skin can't handle.
As long as I continue to see results, I will buy this product. It is more expensive than a lot of other exfoliating products but the fact that I can actually see results, makes it worth the price to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kkvh5132 on 7/4/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by kkvh5132

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is seriously the best product I have used in ten years or so. Despite being a beauty product junkie and hooked on Makeupally I never write reviews. I struggle with extremely clog prone skin which is oily but also tends to get very dehydrated. I've played with acids in the past, e.g. Peter Thomas Roth glycolic moisturizer, mandelic acid from GOW etc, glycolic acid masks and cleansers but somehow nothing really did it (probably also because finding a daytime moisturizer/sunscreen that doesn't break me out is very difficult). Anyways, I have been using this for 10 days or so and it makes a tremendous difference. I could feel a difference already in two days; skin was more clear and soft. Of course there are still some blackheads and whiteheads, but they don't pop up in a day like they used to. Also, I don't find this drying at all; I use it on its own, with no added moisturizer, and that's fine. I am so happy I found this! It is also a lot of product so will last a while. (By the way, for those with similar skin I have found that Clinique's new Superdefense in the oily formulation does not break me out, I also feel a big difference when using that and not something else).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lsjoy on 6/26/2014 9:53:00 AM more reviews by lsjoy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. It does what it claims to do. How many products can you say that about? My face is glowing in the morning and my pores are reduced. It truly helps reduce acne overnight. The only issue I have is with the clear glass container. I wish it was in an opaque jar with a pump. So you must be really careful about contamination, light exposure, and breakage. Otherwise, for anyone who is sensitive, acne-prone, with combination to oily skin this product is an excellent night time treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JillyBalboa on 4/12/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by JillyBalboa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am absolutely smitten with this product!! Nothing has made my skin look this amazing in years! I use it before bed along with the sheer transformation. (Make sure you apply this first - let it dry and then apply the sheer transformation last). I wake up to luminous, clear, healthy looking skin!! I used to be prone to a lot of breakouts and am happy to say not the case anymore. I honestly think if I am getting a breakout this prevents it or clears it up almost over night. My only regret is that it didn't buy it sooner.. I also have a few noticeable dark spots on my face from previous blemishes and am happy to say after only a week of using this (along with the truth serum and sheer transformation) are almost gone!! My skin looks almost perfect again. I am hoping after a few more weeks they are completely gone. :) ! I have heard other people complain about the packaging (glass jars) but personally I like it! I can control how much I put on and will be able to use the entire jar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tbraun on 4/12/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by tbraun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this stuff! It is the best stuff ever! Anytime I try something new and I breakout I just put this on at night and by morning my face has started the healing process...no redness and my pimples are almost all gone...(A few stragglers here and there) but it's amazing!!! I love the feel of it on my face it is refreshing and doesn't feel the least bit greasy...I had been using a sample I had received but finally broke down and bought a full size and it is worth every penny!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ole Henriksen products

More Treatments (Face) products