Ole Henriksen Invigorating Night Gel

3.5

142 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Glycolic Acid, Lactic Acid, Algae Extract, Glycerin, Calcium Ascorbate, Sorbitol, Tocopherol, Vaccinium Myrtilus Extract, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Auranium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Xanthan Gum, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Propylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Hydroxide, Fragrance (Parfum).


on 7/20/2015 11:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The invigorating night treatment was the first AHA I've tried and I think my skin likes it. At first it burned a bit but after using it a couple times a week for a few weeks it burned or "tingled" less. I feel like my skin always felt noticeably smoother the next day and maybe even brighter and more even complexioned, but that may have been wishful thinking. I think I would try this again but I've just learned about the world of AHAs so I'm going to try out a few others first.



on 7/14/2015 5:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I use the 3 set kit and have also used the other kits containing this treatment for over half a decade. I always go back to Ole Henriksen. These products make a difference and improve my skin texture and radiance with continued use. I actually have asphyxiated skin, which means it's primarily oily yet a layer of skin builds on top of it and I can't penetrate the lower levels of skin with products until I am able to remove these layers, and often times I have to go to a professional. I also deal with a lot of clogged pores. This product helps me save money and time by peeling for me and not having to get facial treatments every few weeks! It does the job perfectly and yes, I notice a huge difference! I use a clarisonic religiously and also exfoliate when necessary but it is never enough so I always return to these Ole products and within a couple days I feel so much more supple. No more flakey dry skin or breakouts! The problem is after this product does the job for me I think I'm "healed" and return to other products, sometimes for a year or more, but over time I realize it's primarily this kit that is resurfacing my skin. I should know better by now.

This is basically a very mild peel for your skin and I have been sensitive to this product before in the past, especially after my skin had resurfaced because of using it, so after a couple days or weeks I may or may not use this night gel every night. Tingling is expected with peels of any kind. I believe these are not harsh chemicals but rather more natural alternatives and that is a huge plus for me! I don't know why other reviewers are commenting about perhaps using this "Night Gel" during the day under makeup. That is not the purpose, and yes, it is a little tacky but I don't mind that while I sleep.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this gel sometimes as part of the Three Little Wonders trio. It is a decently functional set that treats areas of concern to an acceptable level. Though, the gel alone, I am not the most fond of. It makes my skin sensitive and feels thick but still leaves my face feeling somewhat dry. Perhaps this is better for someone with more oil in their skin.


on 6/7/2015 1:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This serum is supposed to help with fine lines and improve cell turnover. First off, it smelled like glue, which takes a few minutes to go away. The serum looks thick, but it's quite liquidy. I didn't notice any difference in my skin and I couldn't actually use it for more than two months. It seemed like the more and more I used it, the more and more the smell would get to me. It also leaves a sticky after feel. I'm glad that you only had to put it on at night because I think that I if I had to put it on in the mornings too, my make up would NOT stay on. I can say this, despite it's sticky and heavy feel, it didn't clog my pores, as I didn't break out. For $56 CDN for 1.7oz, I can't justify the price tag for no results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 11:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in a sample trio at sephora. I couldn't tell you if this worked or not. I saw no difference in my skin whatsoever. I'm looking for a regime that will make my skin look good without makeup and this wasn't it. I didn't break out or anything negative, just nothing innately positive either. I will not buy this again.


on 4/26/2015 1:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Recently purchased Ole Henriksens' INVIGORATING NIGHT TREATMENT. One of many anti-aging treatments I've been testing on my face and neck area. I can't believe what I'm experiencing with this serum on my neck which I only use at bedtime. The lines on my neck aren't deep but they are certainly there. I'm surprised at how the lines are on the side of my neck have soften. To the front, it's working there too. Not a LIFT in my neck area of course, but a transformation just the same. Happily so. Use moisturizer after this serum if you have sensitive skin. Very pleased to have discovered this product now. Be patient, it's not an overnight miracle. For me, it's taken a month and I will continue with my work in progress !


on 4/25/2015 9:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is simply not moisturizing enough to get the job done. I always have to layer this under another product and for the price, I think it should be a more complete product. Additionally, there are many other superior AHA products out there, such as REN Skincare products or the Body Deli products, that do a phenomenal job, offer a larger quantity of product and better results.


on 2/27/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like Ole's products and thought I would give this a try after success with other AHA based products, but this is unfortunately a miss for me.

The gel is a nice consistency and I quite like the smell, but as others have said it is tacky. This makes it difficult to apply additional products on top of it, such as a nourishing night cream (which I love as a last step). I did try it without anything on top, and although it didn't dry my skin out I still didn't see any real benefit.

PROS: No breakouts/ rashes etc. (Although it does sting for a few seconds, different to the normal AHA 'tingle'. This contains glycolic acid and lactic acid (although unsure about the percentages and PH?!) and NO alcohol.
CONS: Nothing magical happened for me, and I do question how long the active ingredients survive in a jar? (This was the 15 ml size from the three little wonders set.)

So so formula, but without results I won't repurchase this when it runs out. (There are better AHAs out there for the same price.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 2:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought a kit with 7 small items. Not having used Ole Henriksen products before, I have done research and found pretty good reviews. Good enough to make me want to try the set. I like the fact that you get 7 products to try out, it's a nice concept.

Onto the invigorating night gel... I only used it twice. I could not use it any longer. First night it was fine. It burned a little, but nothing too bad. Second night (last night), it burned quite a bit on my chin and upper lip (I have a few breakouts on my chin). It was quite bad, so I eventually washed it off my chin and upper lip area. This morning my skin was sensitive... After cleansing with the cleanser that came in the set (African tea foaming cleanser) my skin looked red on my forehead! I never looked red on my forehead. My skin still burned during the day and right now it still burns a little on my chin... I only used a tiny bit so I was not expecting it to be this uncomfortable.

However, I didn't feel the tackiness others reported. I guess this is because I only used a tiny bit. I believe you really need to be shy when using this considering it's a treatment and not a moisturiser.

I think this product is too strong. It put me off before I can use it long enough to see any (positive) effects. I used it as instructed (under the Sheer transformation which is also in the set) but no luck: it irritated my skin and made me feel like it's burning my skin. 1 lippie because it absorbed easily...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 10:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Since I have very oily skin, this product ended up being a great choice for me. It wasn't too heavy at all, and my skin always felt soft in the mornings. The scent wasn't particularly memorable, and I'm guessing that's a good thing. On the other hand, for people with dry skin, I'm not sure this product would be moisturizing enough. I bought this as part of the "3 Little Wonders" set, and the night gel complimented the Truth Serum well (I didn't end up using the Sheer Transformation Creme much since it made my skin too greasy).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top