Mario Badescu buttermilk moisturizer

3.6

79 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/13/2014 1:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Light-weight moisturiser (just be sure not to use too much- a little goes a long way). Would def buy again as it hasn't broken out my dry/combination sensitive skin. Great for am & pm. Love it!!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product is so great for sensitive skin! I have combination skin so I do not use it every single night or it would make me too oily but I do use it every other night and it has worked wonders for me! I recommend this to all of my friends all of the time! Mario Badescu never makes a bad product!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2013 6:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am surprised this stuff has such bad reviews! Then again, I do not use it every night, only about two nights a week immediately after exfoliating (I use Philosophy's Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash) because it is really nice and moisturizing. You do not have to use too much of this lotion because a little goes a long way, and I have found out when I use too much, my face stays greasy for hours. I only use this at night because I would hate to see my makeup sliding off my face, but at night, this stuff really works. I just use it about thirty minutes to an hour before I lay down so I don't get it all over my pillow giving it adequate time to adsorb, and I wake up in the morning and my face is silky smooth. It is so nice (This might have something to do with the fact that I combine it with Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil when I am applying it, but whatever it is, I really love the effect on my skin). I also don't find the smell all that bad, its not too strong or even all that noticeable really. I prefer this lotion to Mario Badescu's Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin which is a bit runnier and does not absorb AT ALL.

Packaging wise, this really works for toners, but not for lotions. I hate how the little spout thing gets clogged, it is such a pain. It is more sanitary than jars, yet I think that I would prefer jars to cleaning this and wasting so much product every couple days. Price wise, I got this from Ulta once I had finished the sample sent after completing the Mario Badescu skin care questionnaire for about $18 USD for two ounces. I don't think that is too bad since most moisturizers are significantly more.

The only reason that I would not repurchase is because while this is a nice basic moisturizer, I have others that I enjoy more that I do not have to do so much work (cleaning out the top) to use, and that can be used for both day or night if I chose to do so.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My skin loves oil, and is oily in its own right! I actually really enjoy using this moisturiser, you only need a LITTLE bit, because a little bit goes along way.

In saying that, my skin felt lovely and moisturised for a couple of hours, then just didn't. So, my skin just decided it was time to oil itself up... Not so fun at midday while at work! I had originally thought it was my foundation that was causing the problem, but I've switched foundations and still had the same problem.

Sometimes the cream gets stuck in the bottle nozzle too, and as you're lightly squeezing, BAM! All the moisturiser! But it's easily scooped back into the bottle itself, I just think the top needs a stopper, or put it in a jar.


on 10/11/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As I write this, I am suffering from the worst breakout that I have had in years. I ran out of the AHA and Ceramide moisturizer from MB and decided to try the Buttermilk Moisturizer. Big mistake. It left my skin dry and within a couple of days my forehead began to break out horribly! My forehead is the one place that I NEVER get even one pimple, so this is huge. Would not recommend to anyone. Needless to say, I immediately ran out and purchased the AHA again and will stick with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 6:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I ordered a huge shipment of MB stuff based on the profile I had filled out on their website. I used the samples they provided me with for about ten days and my skin was actually starting to look a lot better. Then I started to get little red pimples and narrowed it down to the buttermilk lotion. It does moisturize well, a little goes a long way, but I found that I was also getting oily after a few hours (which may have contributed to the zits). I've got combination/oily t-zone with a tendency to get deep blackheads in my chin and nose. This is seriously one of the first creams I've tried that has irritated my skin.


on 5/5/2012 9:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first experience with this product was terrible.
My skin broke out, my skin was irritably red and it also felt greasy.
I put off the moisturizer for about a week before giving it another try.
This time, I decided to only use a pea size amount for my whole face.
Wow.... my face remained moisturized for the whole day and most of the redness in my face disappeared!

I guess I just used too much in the beginning!

Great product for dry/combo skin!
And remember to only use a small amount!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2011 2:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Once I stopped using the Buttermilk moisturizer, my skin calmed down and stopped breaking out. Would not suggest this product to those with combo/sensitive/acne-prone skin.


on 5/23/2011 8:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: Have unfortunately narrowed the (sometimes severe) clogging in my cheeks (blackheads/whiteheads) down to this moisturiser Ive swapped to Ultraceuticals Ultra Hydrating Gel which really hydrates instead of just sitting on top of the skin my skin is now practically flawless!

This is the only moisturiser that a) doesn't break me out b) doesn't flare up my mild roseacea and c) makes my skin smooth and glowy overnight.
Definitely a staple in my skincare regime.
Only gripes are the price and the bottle which I have to cut open to get at the remaining product (there's usually a heap stuck to the sides).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2011 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have combination/sensitive/acne prone skin. I am using this at night on my dry areas (cheeks and forehead). I wake up with moisturized super soft, dewey healthy looking skin. I havent put it on my chin area because im breakout prone there and scared to try it there. But on the rest of my face it has not caused breakouts.
I use their AHA & ceramide moisturizer during the day as its oil free, loving that one too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1265 Reviews
Strobe Cream
427 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top