Maybelline • Line Works Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(44 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 hannahps on 1/15/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the better drugstore liquid eyeliners out there. I prefer this kind to the normal felt tip liner, as those usually seem to dry out faster. I have had this liner for three months and will definitely be repurchasing! I wear it in black and it's easy to apply in a thin line or a thicker one. A cat eye is a little more challenging because of the shape of the brush, but the ease of application makes this one of my favourite eyeliners!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceybaby8 on 12/30/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to wear this eyeliner religiously in university.... And then maybelline changed the formula. When I purchased it, the packaging stated "new and improved formula!" Well this new and improved liner left red angry lines where I had applied my liquid liner. It looked like someone with a very fine whip attacked my eyes and left 2 fine welts right above my eyelashes. Went back to my SA at shoppers drug mart (in Canada) and showed her what happened... She told me I must be allergic to something in the new ingredient list. :(

Anyways I now use my stila stay all day or Kat Von d trooper waterproof liquid eyeliners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ChellBell on 7/10/2012 3:41:00 AM more reviews by ChellBell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason i ever used this was because i was looking for a cheaper liquid liner to use for awhile and i found what i wanted...but i would have been better off not buying anything. The color it applies is watery, thin, and practically invisible! i expected alot better from this product, but i was highly disappointed. The only positive remark i have is that the felt tip was ok, but I don't recommend this for anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amanda23 on 7/3/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great basic black liquid liner, what's not to like? It's richly pigmented, has an easy to use brush, stays put. It doesn't run on me ever but I'm not sure if it's 100% waterproof as I haven't swam with it on or anything. I really don't expect any eye makeup to be 100% waterproof but that's just me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vaigai on 6/10/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by vaigai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I rotate between a few liquid liners, but this is my HG. I used to use liquid liner almost every day - broke the habit while I was living in a tiny Ghanaian village for four months, but I still LOVE liquid liner.
I'm also a dancer in a touring company: we do all of our makeup and this has been our go-to product for over 12 years!!

The formula is thick, opaque (a single stroke will not have "bald" patches or see through areas), applies beautifully over other makeup or on its own, has >18 hour lasting power (I'm a doctor.. I wear this stuff on call!), is basically waterproof, and the felt tip makes it easy to apply a thin or thick line. You can build the thickness and even draw some simple designs. Packaging doesn't leak or break and this stuff lasts (with daily use) at least 2 months.

Also I'm a contact lens wearer and its fairly non-irritating, doesn't flake or crumble off, and comes off easily with soap and water.

CONS:
-maybe not the best for first time liquid liner users because it doesn't wipe off that easily if you make a mistake
-MAYBELLINE TESTS ON ANIMALS AND THIS IS SUCKS!!!!

Summary:
-I will buy this product again, and again and again. BUT: I'm actively on the lookout for an eyeliner this good from a company with better ethics, and when I find that eyeliner.. I'm bailing! Meanwhile, gonna keep writing Maybelline letters...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mikirulez on 6/1/2012 6:05:00 PM more reviews by Mikirulez

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

OMG! BEST EYELINER EVER!!!! Put it on my top lid, no primer or anything, and it never budges all day through gym class or anything!I rub my eyes alot, so I usually have to reapply it midway through the day, but now I look at my liner and want to cry tears of happiness! IT STAYS! Cheap too! I used to have to binge-buy at sephora to find liquid liner that lasts, and now I can finally save my cash and look great! BUY IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrsEdgewood on 2/21/2012 1:21:00 PM more reviews by MrsEdgewood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! The tip makes it easy to apply, producing great defined lines without smudging. The small bottle made me skeptical in purchasing the liner, but so far, it has lasted me a good 6 months and I use it every day. It is easy to control. It can wear off after awhile, but I always apply a pencil liner over it, too. Also, little bristles can flake off the liner, but that is not a big deal. I just wipe them off. No flaking occurs after applying eyeshadow or dabbing it with my fingertips. I will repurchase this liner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 2/2/2012 11:37:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this liquid eyeliner! This is my favorite & I've been using this faithfully for 5-6 years. The felt tip makes this eyeliner glide on smoothly. This never irritates my eyes, never flakes or smudges, & stays put all day. What more can you ask for? This is perfect. This is the one thing in my makeup bag that I can always rely on to work exactly the way I want it to. I couldn't ask for more or anything better. I have this in black, & it is very black, so there are no problems with the intensity of the color whatsoever. One thing I will say though, is that this isn't completely waterproof. Yes, this does stay on all day long without any problems. But, this also comes off easily with water, which I don't really mind because I never get water by my eyes anyway, & it stays put when I cry, so I don't find that to be a problem. And since it's so easy to come off with makeup remover, I don't have to scrub my delicate eyes to get this off. The formula is perfect, not too wet or dry. & this dries instantly! This is $5, & the first time I bought this I was feeling like I was getting ripped off for the little bottle. Don't let the little bottle fool you, this lasts you forever. I use this every single day, & I only repurchase this once a year. So that $5 goes a lonnnng way, it takes you further than most things take you with this economy. This is honestly the best thing Maybelline makes in my opinion. I can't find one thing wrong with this eyeliner. Go get it! You won't regret it.


*Don't get the Ultra Liner, that one is terrible.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ambersmiles on 1/17/2012 4:57:00 PM more reviews by ambersmiles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good inexpensive liquid eyeliner. The felt tip allows easy application. It does wear off after many hours of wearing it, but for a cheap product it was no surprise to me. Either re-apply or, in my case, I simply use a black khol liner over top of it when I first apply it.

I will definitely continue buying this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kuroyuki on 6/5/2009 12:26:00 AM more reviews by kuroyuki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was my first liquid liner, and i think it can be a great starter for anyone. the firm felt tip is easy to control, and the pointed end is perfect for thin lines, but you can easily build it up to draw on a thicker line.

i have this in grey, i guess i mistook it for black when i bought it haha, but it's a really dark gray that could actually pass for black, so i have no problems with it.

i took off a lippie, because it wasn't really waterproof for me. but i would still repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products