Prestige • Lip Concentrate - Longwearing Color • Lips

rated 3.4(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SoleilBaisant on 7/31/2009 7:47:00 AM more reviews by SoleilBaisant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Orchid is a nice YLBB shade that's pretty safe for various skin tones.
It is somewhat like a cross between Chai and Jasmine. It is a nude shade, but not as pale and brown as Chai. It is a taupe-ish shade, but without the lilac cold undertone of Jasmine. Orchid is a nude shade with pinkish-peach undertones, but not too warm. Its colour is similar to Blistex Liptint, with 1 degree of pink removed and half a degree of Rosette shade, but slightly warmer and stronger.

As for the texture, it does not have solidifying bits like Revlon's Colorstay. In fact, it is a little runny, but not too much. It is just runny enough to be spread evenly over the lips. You can leave it like that if you just want it as a stain. If you want it to last, you have to let it dry for 1-2 minutes before applying the top coat. This also lessens the contamination of the top coat. If you put the topcoat too hastily, you do not get the long-lasting result, and most of the color stays on the wand and mixes with the clear topcoat. Yuck.

In general, long-wearing lip products tend to dry your lips. So I don't use products like this very often. I prefer the effort of re-applying and having naturally great-looking lips, than having a full-time colour and chapped, Easter Island stone head lips. If I had to wear long-lasting lippies for some reason, a tube of Prestige is not a bad idead because it is inexpensive and has a safe, decent shade like Orchid.
Prestige lip products don't smell as great as other brands, but they are not that bad. If you get one that has an off-putting odour &/or taste, then you most likely got an expired tube. Or a tube that has been opened and tried/contaminated.

Pros : Dirt cheap, long-lasting, decent colour, easy to apply
Cons : Saps moisture a bit, doe-foot wand is not very sturdy

I'd give 2 or 3 lippies for other colours. But since this one is a nice colour, I upped it. And for the dirt cheap price, you can't really loose :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verybecca on 3/11/2006 5:19:00 PM more reviews by verybecca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love the shade Java - a great stay on lipstick in a great brownish red - perfect for my med yellow/olive tone. I wear this when I go out dancing so I only have to reapply gloss. It does dry out the lips but not for every day use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 12/4/2005 10:33:00 PM more reviews by DKER

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in Tahiti, which goes on a plummy-brown color on me. Quite flattering to my blue eyes, brown hair, and LLL coloring. It wears like most other long wearing lipsticks, possibly a bit less drying than CG. I like using it under a balm sometimes for a less high-gloss finish, but this of course makes it wear like a regular lipstick and not like a long wearing one. Will definetly repurchase next summer: this is not a color I like to use in wintertime

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PoisonedIvy on 12/5/2003 5:31:00 PM more reviews by PoisonedIvy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

If this came in a color I liked, it might be worth it. I have Indochine, which is a bubblegum pink that clashes with my coloring (but might look pretty on a blonde), and Tahiti, a darker sort of plummy but neutral. I like Tahiti better, but it still just looks... weird. The double ended color/gloss thing is nice, I hate packing around 2 lip things like Outlast for example. But the gloss is so thick and goopy, I might as well just use a lipgloss. For some reason the thick gloss stuff annoys me, in long wearing lipsticks. I don't want my long wearing lipstick to goop on stuff. If I wanted that, I'd pick a gloss. Plus, the gloss makes the lip color bleed, which defeats the whole point. I might fuss with it if there were more tempting colors. But for now, no. Though, I might use the clear gloss seperately. It's as good as clear lipglass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sabine on 10/3/2003 5:22:00 PM more reviews by sabine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i tried two of these - in chai and jasmine. chai is a very neutral brownish shade with pink undertones (maybe?), and jasmine is just as described above.

i didn't like either color on me. ohterwise, i personally did think they stayed on quite well (are you guys below using it correctly? you have to make sure hte color is COMPLETELY DRY before putting the gloss on. completely. otherwise it won't work). i kissed my husband a million times, ate soup, wiped my mouth, and it was still on. just didn't like the colors on me (NW43/DDD)...did nothing for me. i basically really want a darker shade of 'chai', which i don't think exists. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 moosejuice on 6/16/2003 2:06:00 PM more reviews by moosejuice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This was my first Long Lasting Lipstick that I tried. I usually don't wear lipstick because I don't like the feel, but I decided to give this one a try because it had a gloss end. The color I got was Seychelle, which is a pinkish-purpleish-gold color. When I put on the color, it soaked into my lips, and it had a smell that bothered me. And it looked like I had purple lipstick on. When I put on the gloss, it turned the wand purple. Plus the smell bothered me...it reminded me of a burnt cookie. It was really thick and sticky, which I did not like at all. And, it did not last long at all. It came off on everything. Overall, I did not like this product. It is making me hesitant on trying other long lasting products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Redrosie on 4/25/2003 4:35:00 AM more reviews by Redrosie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like these the best of the long wearing lipsticks I have tried, such as Lipfinity ( returned that one) or Lip Ink ( returned that one) . The colors go on very smooth and don't immediately dry/set so you can blend a little with your fingers or a brush. The gloss part smells lovely, very vanilla-y and is thick and shiny. The bad thing is the lipcolor smells chemically , tho once it dries the vanilla of the gloss overpowers that. ( What are all these chemicals doing to us? Ohwell ,looks pretty!!)
The color stays pretty long but it is drying. I have 3 and would buy another color. My mom is a junkie too and tried it and loves it. I do recommend it, esp for the low price! ( Under 6.00)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Crabtwix on 4/14/2003 5:11:00 PM more reviews by Crabtwix

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is Prestige's venture into the long-wear game.

The packaging is much like Revlon's Overtime - with the color on one end and the gloss on the other. It is stylish - and you do get more gloss than color. I am having some trouble with the gloss "backing-up" on the wand. It's pretty sticky NICE!) and it clings to the wand, enabling gloss to get everywhere if not very careful and steady.

The texture is light and doesn't seem as drying as the other long-wears I have tried (Max Factor's Infinity, CG Outlast & Revlon's Overtime), but it doesn't last as long either. HOWEVER - maybe it's that I have a light color - but it doesn't wear off funny either.


The color I purchased is "Jasmine" - a very neutral cool beige, about the same depth of color as a natural liptone, but without the pink. It does have a hint of pearl to the finish - not quite a shimmer. And it's something between opaque and sheer. There isn't a huge color selection (I think 8?) and there were more warm than cool tones.

I paid $5.89 at CVS.

I will buy this again - try a darker color and see how that does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Prestige products

More Lips products