Dove • Extra Volume Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.3(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mellern on 3/19/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by mellern

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is literally the most basic and generic shampoo you can get - the ingredients do a good job of cleansing well, and don't cause any build-up. I'm not really sure what other reviewers are complaining about since this formula (sodium laureth sulfate + coco betaine) is literally in thousands of shampoos. They didn't add any moisturizers to this one, so perhaps people with dryer hair need something more hydrating. Shampoo is meant to clean your hair and scalp; if you find your hair dry after using a shampoo it's likely that your hair length (not hair near the scalp) is dry and needs conditioner. If you use a shampoo that leaves the length of your hair moisturized it may be too rich for your scalp. I really like this shampoo because it's bare-bones, cleans my oily hair thoroughly, and smells nice. Since most shampoo formulas are laughingly similar and cost about 50 cents to manufacture, I don't see myself paying for the same ingredients in a different bottle for $30.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LauraJM on 2/4/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by LauraJM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Simple -it just dosent do anything, thats all it does ..lol lol! :) Just dont waste your money x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rope on 9/7/2012 10:27:00 AM more reviews by rope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Sucks, smells bad causes breakouts ... ect ect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 andhearts on 4/10/2012 11:35:00 PM more reviews by andhearts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo dried out my naturally oily, moisturized, hair to the point of no return. And seriously NOTHING dries my hair out. I had to use a deep condition for five minutes a day for a week to get my hair back to normal. I stopped using this because of the damage it caused me. I'm never going to get rid of all the babyhairs this shampoo gave me...
I didn't even get any volume from it! I had super flat hair!

if your considering this product, I would advise you to look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeupfanatic77 on 6/24/2011 10:01:00 AM more reviews by makeupfanatic77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo because I love dove body washes. I figured the shampoo had to be as good. I was so wrong! I used this shampoo for a week, and noticed my hair falling out like crazy. It also doesn't really clean that good, and my scalp will not stop itching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frostythesnowman81 on 8/15/2010 1:57:00 PM more reviews by frostythesnowman81

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This made my hair really frizzy :( I like the smell though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 prettybird98 on 7/27/2008 9:56:00 PM more reviews by prettybird98

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is wavy/curly, fine, but I have a lot of hair. This dried my hair out terribly, even though I paired with Nexxus Humectress AND a leave-in conditioner. I only used twice and am returning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jacquiesaur on 7/25/2008 1:21:00 AM more reviews by jacquiesaur

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Sooo dissapointed :[
I have very oily hair and I guess this was too much for me.. Incredibly drying & made my hair frizzy & dull..

Hope results will progress..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jackiehunter212 on 3/19/2008 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Jackiehunter212

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have long brown hair, and I have a lot of it, but as it turns out my hair is considered "fine" (thanks a lot genetics!).


My hair is always weighed down, but since using this shampoo and conditioner it looks amazing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cinderellie on 1/28/2008 11:51:00 PM more reviews by cinderellie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is probably one of the worst shampoos/conditioners that i have ever bought. this product did absolutely nothing good to my hair. it made my hair dull, dry, and flat! it smells gross too...like old lady or something! not good at all. i will never buy this product or any other dove hair product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Shampoo products