Avene • Soothing Eye Contour Cream • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.8(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 butteryfingers on 11/8/2014 11:03:00 AM more reviews by butteryfingers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking around for an eye cream when the SA recommended that I try the Avène Soothing Eye Contour Cream. It was relatively cheap (got it at the airport duty free), and I needed something small for my trip so I decided to give it a shot!

According to Avène, the eye cream has been specially formulated to gently protect the most delicate part of the face. Its suppose to calm irritation and relive hypersensitive eyelids.

But after using it for the first time, I regretted my decision to buy it. According to Avène, it is suppose to be for sensitive skin and it is suppose to calm irritation. However, it immediately stung my eye and I started tearing when I applied it on the outer corner of my eye. I think some of the cream got in my eye when I blinked - but I'm sure it happens to everyone so I don't understand why it stung my eye when it is suppose to be for sensitive skin etc.

On to the good points: The eye cream absorbed relatively quickly, and it does feel quite moisturising. I'm not sure if it does anything else other that moisturise/hydrate. The packaging is great because you are able to control how much product you want.

I am still using the eye cream (alternating between this and another one I have). I just have to be extra careful to make sure that this eye cream doesn't get into my eye. I'm pretty disappointed that it stings. I don't think I'll be purchasing this again, but...maybe the moisturising/hydrating effect in the long run will change my mind...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suyumbike on 7/16/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by suyumbike

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this eye cream in the hope that it would soothe irritated skin. Last winter was exceptionally harsh on my eyelids - the skin became red and itchy, and attempts to cover the area with various creams invariably resulted in scaling. My usual facial creams seemed to worsen the symptoms and I feared that I was developing an allergy. The Avène Soothing Eye Contour Cream, while being unreasonably expensive (in Finland) and containing ingredients such as mineral oil and cyclomethicone, actually fulfilled its main promise and produced a soothing effect. The irritated area disappeared.
I would repurchase this product, but not in my country. I have seen it on discount in France for a much better price, and will buy it the next time I go there, before the dreaded winter returns.
Edit: The packaging is also a plus, in my book. The little plastic squeeze tube is easy to bring along when travelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* composure on 7/6/2014 1:32:00 PM more reviews by composure

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was my 3rd recommendation for my sensitive, dry and flakey eyelids. Avene is known to be super gentle on sensitive skin. I was hopeful. I thought this did a bit better than its predecessors, but I continue to experience a slight sting upon application and lingering dryness. I'm starting to think it's not dry skin, maybe an allergic reaction to something. Petroleum jelly, you are my last resort.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girlraven on 5/21/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoyed this eye cream, it is hydrating , non irritating and non greasy. The tube it comes in looks a little small but a very tiny little piece goes really far. I used it morning and night after shower it soaks into the skin really we'll, then I use the avene moisturiser afterward which is also a great product. I will be repurchasing this when it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 5/18/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice, gentle eye cream. I don't notice any scent. It comes in a great squeeze tube packaging. The only reason I'm rating it only 4 is because I find it too thick. I need to use more than I would like in order to be able to spread it evenly over my eyes. I wish it was lighter in texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 4/19/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I would say this is a good eye cream by any standards, but I purchased it because I am concerned about sensitivity. I have tried so many eye creams over the years I couldn't count them, and for long periods I just haven't used any. Most have caused my eyes to become puffy, and the worst have caused redness and stinging. This one doesn't cause any irritation and it's hydrating. I'm not interested in de-puffing or circles, just hydration, and for that it works beautifully. It sticks in place very well without being too thick, which means it's great under make-up. It offers great value for the price, and the little tube is much better than a pot or pump style bottle, in terms of getting all the product out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ultrasensitive888 on 3/29/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by ultrasensitive888

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the Verite Special Care (VSC) Eye Cream from Estee Lauder for many years inspite its high price because I have ultra sensitive eyes and could not use anything else without having puffiness, pink eyes, itchiness or other allergic reactions. When this VSC eye cream was discontinued, I was reluctant but tried the Avene soothing eye contour cream because I heard positive comments about it. First few times, I had minor breakout but it went away. I kept on using it because it was the closest to VSC eye cream without the $60 price for 15 ml and Avene often has 25%-30% sale at London Drugs or Shoppers Drug Mart. After two weeks, I'm still using this eye cream and I like it; It is actually more hydrating than VSC eye cream and doesn't cause any allergic reaction. I'm so happy I can use it and have found a replacement for the VSC eye cream. This is a surprisingly decent cream that is worth trying. Thanks Avene!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egilsdottir on 3/4/2014 6:39:00 AM more reviews by egilsdottir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pink eye!

That's what the vast majority of the eye creams I've tried over the years have made me look like.

I have super sensitive skin, allergies and live in frigid Chicago, where the cold and wind often make my eyes tear up. As a result, the skin around my eyes gets dry and irritated.

I think this moisturizer was sent from heaven. It moisturizes and doesn't irritate my eyes. I can't even count how many tubes of this I have purchased, and hope they never discontinue it.

The tube size is quite small, but I've found that a small amount of product goes a long way. I use this twice daily in the winter time (once in the morning, and once at night) and once a day in the summer (mornings only).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 treedy on 2/23/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by treedy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Eczema: This is the only product that's ever helped the eczema on my eye lids. Highly highly recommend this product over anything else for eczema around the eyes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candybum on 12/3/2013 7:25:00 AM more reviews by candybum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This eye cream is amazing. I had a bad reaction to a strong anti wrinkle cream I had tried, which left my under eye area very dry, almost scaly. My regular face cream wasn't even softening it up, so I tried this. After one use, things had dramatically improved. After a few uses, my under eye area is moisturized and looking great! This cream is great for providing gentle moisture, which is what I needed. It also works well under makeup, no balling up. I use this twice a day regularly now, and will continue to do so!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Treatments (Eye) products