Avene • Soothing Eye Contour Cream • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.9(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 4/19/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I would say this is a good eye cream by any standards, but I purchased it because I am concerned about sensitivity. I have tried so many eye creams over the years I couldn't count them, and for long periods I just haven't used any. Most have caused my eyes to become puffy, and the worst have caused redness and stinging. This one doesn't cause any irritation and it's hydrating. I'm not interested in de-puffing or circles, just hydration, and for that it works beautifully. It sticks in place very well without being too thick, which means it's great under make-up. It offers great value for the price, and the little tube is much better than a pot or pump style bottle, in terms of getting all the product out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ultrasensitive888 on 3/29/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by ultrasensitive888

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the Verite Special Care (VSC) Eye Cream from Estee Lauder for many years inspite its high price because I have ultra sensitive eyes and could not use anything else without having puffiness, pink eyes, itchiness or other allergic reactions. When this VSC eye cream was discontinued, I was reluctant but tried the Avene soothing eye contour cream because I heard positive comments about it. First few times, I had minor breakout but it went away. I kept on using it because it was the closest to VSC eye cream without the $60 price for 15 ml and Avene often has 25%-30% sale at London Drugs or Shoppers Drug Mart. After two weeks, I'm still using this eye cream and I like it; It is actually more hydrating than VSC eye cream and doesn't cause any allergic reaction. I'm so happy I can use it and have found a replacement for the VSC eye cream. This is a surprisingly decent cream that is worth trying. Thanks Avene!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egilsdottir on 3/4/2014 6:39:00 AM more reviews by egilsdottir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pink eye!

That's what the vast majority of the eye creams I've tried over the years have made me look like.

I have super sensitive skin, allergies and live in frigid Chicago, where the cold and wind often make my eyes tear up. As a result, the skin around my eyes gets dry and irritated.

I think this moisturizer was sent from heaven. It moisturizes and doesn't irritate my eyes. I can't even count how many tubes of this I have purchased, and hope they never discontinue it.

The tube size is quite small, but I've found that a small amount of product goes a long way. I use this twice daily in the winter time (once in the morning, and once at night) and once a day in the summer (mornings only).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 treedy on 2/23/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by treedy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Eczema: This is the only product that's ever helped the eczema on my eye lids. Highly highly recommend this product over anything else for eczema around the eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candybum on 12/3/2013 7:25:00 AM more reviews by candybum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This eye cream is amazing. I had a bad reaction to a strong anti wrinkle cream I had tried, which left my under eye area very dry, almost scaly. My regular face cream wasn't even softening it up, so I tried this. After one use, things had dramatically improved. After a few uses, my under eye area is moisturized and looking great! This cream is great for providing gentle moisture, which is what I needed. It also works well under makeup, no balling up. I use this twice a day regularly now, and will continue to do so!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jaded81 on 9/16/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Jaded81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I highly recommend this eye cream if you have sensitive eyes or if you are suffering from any kind of irritation/allergic reaction around the eye area. The texture is light, creamy, non-greasy and comes in a tube with thin nozzle.

However, those who are trying to avoid or are allegic to mineral oil and silicones might want to avoid this product - Mineral oil (parraffidum liquidum) is the 2nd ingredient on the list and silicones (Cyclomethicone) the 4th ingredient.

Ingredients: Avene Thermal Spring Water, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Capric/Caprylic Stearic Triglyceride, Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Sucrose Stearate, PEG-12, Sucrose Distearate, Triethanolamine, Batyl Alcohol, Bisabolol (L-Alpha), Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Carbomer, Dextran Sulfate, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hyaronate, Tocopheryl Glucoside

I purchased this 2 weeks ago as I had been suffering from dry sore eyelids (I was later diagnosed with Blepharitis). It does wonders in soothing and hydrating the eye area without any irritation to the skin or the eye itself - either gently tap the cream on until totally absorbed, or if your skin is sensitive and sore to the touch, just gently glide it on. I now only apply this to the upper eyelid area (including the actual eyelids) as I think the high mineral content caused the milia under my eyes to be more pronounced.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chick123 on 1/27/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by Chick123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is a good general moisturizer for under eye area. As name suggest, it is a soothing cream especially when I have these eczema attacks. It is good cream to use under the eye concealer. However, it doesn't help with the tiny wrinkles that I have developed due to my eczema ! I wish I could find something that sooth away this eczema ! Overall, it is a good soothing cream ! Would re-buy it for sure !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jwyl on 1/1/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by jwyl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A light, simple moisturiser. It absorbs well into the skin and is unfragranced and non-irritating. I have very dry skin and this product hasn't left me with any dry patches around my eyes, which is nice. It's not a miracle product, but it doesn't claim to be. It won't reverse any signs of aging, but it should prevent fine lines from forming due to dehydration. Rather expensive for what it is, but I'll re-buy until I need/find something better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skatax2 on 12/17/2012 5:24:00 AM more reviews by Skatax2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my daily eye moisturizer for the past 9 years.. I've been using samples from various products now and then but I was always coming back to this. I'm almost in my 30s now and my eye area looks wrinklefree and I think I owe this to this product. It does a great job in keeping my eye area well moisturized without any oil residue. I also like the fact that this cream has no smell, it's not expensive and can be used on the eyelid appart from the undereye area. Will keep rebying for sure..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/8/2012 5:20:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just finished my second tube. There's not much to say, it's fine if you want a basic gentle moisturizer for daily use and you don't expect to reduce dark circles or lines. It's just fine but nothing amazing, time to try a new one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Treatments (Eye) products