Dragonfly Blue • Mystic Gold • Fragrances

rated 4.0(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 KayBella on 12/10/2009 11:46:00 AM more reviews by KayBella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this! I was suprised, because it didn't seem like the kindof thing I would go for. I received a sample with my order for Nag Champa. I put it on after my shower (so I was scent free) to try it out. I found the buttery smell a little off putting at first. But as the fragrance develops, it is lovely. Soft, warm, comforting. Excellent sillage, and lasting power. I mixed in a little Amber the second time I wore it, and the results are EXCELLENT!



And yes, I would repurchase. As a matter of fact, I did. I ordered the 1/3 oz. roll on. I think it will be perfect for winter time. I am looking forward to receiving it, as well as a few more samples. Thank you MUA for helping me find this e-tailer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* traes on 1/23/2008 1:48:00 PM more reviews by traes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I received a nice little bottle of this as an extra in a swap and passed it on because I thought it was nothing special. Then I got another bottle as an extra and tried it yesterday. I really like it! Caramelly, yes! Warm, woody. Soft, yes. Comforting. Sillage is great. And lasting power? Incredible! I wore a small amount yesterday, and when I put my coat on today, I could still smell it. I've never smelled leftover fragrance on my coat! Warning -- if you're not sure you'll like it, test it in a *small* area. But I'm really enjoying it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Muartsy on 11/28/2006 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Muartsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Soft, warm and caramelly but not too foody & sweet. I like the woodsy note & I think I detect a bit of nuttiness. DFB perfume oils are very long-lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nancybridget02091979 on 2/24/2006 6:19:00 PM more reviews by nancybridget02091979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

What is this? I'm getting cocoa, vanilla, honey, and blossoms of some sort. Perhaps a sandalwood coriander base....also a hint of amber in the drydown. This is nice....just plain nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BasiaS on 1/12/2006 8:54:00 PM more reviews by BasiaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

On my skin this starts off with a fresh bergamot note, followed by a slightly sweet incense and dry sandalwood notes. The bergamot note saves this from becoming too woody and heavy, and the combo works really well on my skin. The oil has a tendency to turn into a musty mess on my skin, but I've noticed that DB's shea butters make a better alternative as solid perfume (the fragrance stays true). This etailer has excellent prices and customer service. Description: "Warm woods and resins, bergamot and frankincense dance together for a truly delightful scent."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyWilde on 9/6/2005 12:46:00 PM more reviews by LadyWilde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Strange. At first, it is incense with a hint of something sweet and citrus-y that *could* be bergamot. . .but certainly not real bergamot. Dries down to a very odd woody/cardboard-y/dusty/incensey smell that is truly unpleasant. My whole experience with Dragonfly Blue--despite their lightning-quick shipping and lovely packaging--has been an unfortunate lesson in "You get what you pay for." I hate to say it, but these oils are of poor quality. I'd rather spend the little money I have with which to indulge my perfume habit on a small quantity of something high-quality that I can really enjoy and appreciate, rather than waste it on enough cheap nasty oil to slather myself with for weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 8/1/2005 2:28:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Incense seems to be the dominant note. It's warm and kinda sweet, yet never too much in hot weather. The musk is never overpowering, and the vanilla doesn't have much of the unpleasant cardboard aspect other DFB vanillas develop on me in oil form (all the scents are true and lovely in shea butter form, though). I've tried this in the oil and spray and both are great from top notes to drydown; very long-lasting too. Edit, Winter 2009: Still like this one, year-round. Smells like Elemi (a piney-lemon scented resin), heliotrope (vanilla-almond scent), buttery vanilla, a white musk, some kind of wood (maybe amyris, which is sometimes used as a sandalwood substitute), and maybe a bit of Frankincense. Lovely, complex, warm & subtly sweet musk scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sbforwin on 6/4/2005 2:43:00 AM more reviews by sbforwin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

EEEK!
That was not my intended reaction to the perfume. In fact, I was lemming it pretty badly. I tried Calypso and fell in love with it, and based on reviews I thought I'd love it.
In the bottle, it seemed pretty harmless, in fact kind of lovely. It has a warm woody smell with a crisp and slightly spicy combination of bergamont and frankincense. However, the top notes evaporated very quickly, leaving a pungently stale heavy scent, not woodsy at all, but rather reminiscent of walking into a warehouse that has been sealed for years. This is one of the few perfumes I used that I had to rub off with alcohol right away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suzyqz on 4/20/2005 8:47:00 PM more reviews by suzyqz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot get enough of this scent and I never have felt this w/any scent before!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaterpillarGirl on 3/17/2005 5:00:00 PM more reviews by CaterpillarGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely adore this fragrance! On me it is a lovely mixture of vanilla, coconut, woodsy resin, and some other magical aromas I can't place. Just absolute heaven! Whenever I wear this I feel like a goddess, and that's saying something! =P

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dragonfly Blue products

More Fragrances products