Laura Mercier • Courtisane • Lipstick

rated 4.2(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 EmilyRaymond on 1/19/2014 6:43:00 AM more reviews by EmilyRaymond

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I fell in love with this mostly because of the name I must admit (hello moulin rouge) not to mention the gorgeous colour so I splurged and spent the 28$CAD. I was so excited to get this on my lips that I put it on as soon as I walked out of sephora. Gorgeous!! It was a rose-peach colour on my lips with a gorgeous shimmer. But within 5 minutes of applying this I had a stingy tickle in the back of my throat and I couldn't stop coughing. The scent was making me have an allergic reaction! Every time I breathed in I could feel the scent irritating my throat. Needless to say, back to the store it went. It really was a gorgeous sheer colour, but I wasn't willing to hold my breath just to wear it! I'm sure this works for many people and the scent doesn't bother them, but it was a huge problem for me. I'm reluctant to trust any laura mercier lip products now and have stayed completely loyal to MAC since then.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lwpcolonel on 2/21/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by lwpcolonel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Courtisane is a natural, albeit frosted/metallic, shade which subtly enhances natural lip color. It is neither too cool or too warm, sort of a NARS Orgasm for the lips. I would call it a golden-peachy rose shade. The formula has a pleasant scent and the product is quite moisturizing, although not long-lasting. It is color-changer similar to MAC "O", but it is not quite as dark and has a better "feel" in my opinion. Great for instant polish, day or night. Would purchase again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bestscreennameever on 12/26/2012 6:33:00 PM more reviews by bestscreennameever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Courtisane is one of LM's Stickgloss lip colors. Let me say that the picture and description for Courtisane on the LM website are completely inaccurate ("mauve-rose-pink"). Courtisane is a very complex and shimmery color with hints of pink, red, coral, gold, and copper. It applies sheerly and feels moisturizing and lightweight, but the shimmer makes it look more opaque than it really is. You can make it look even more opaque, of course, by layering it. I am very fair (NW10ish) with cool tones, and I have a hard time deciding if this looks more warm or more cool on me, due to the shimmer. I don't often wear lipstick with shimmer/pearl/frost/etc., so I feel a little more glamorous and sophisticated when I apply this product. That being said, it isn't inappropriate for daily wear. You could definitely wear it to work or glam it up for an evening look. I think this color would work on most skintones. However, I would recommend you try at Sephora or the LM counter before purchasing as there are hints of so many colors within the product that you need to see which ones are pulled out prominently with your own skintone to see if it is a good lipcolor for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lightgirl on 5/16/2012 2:38:00 PM more reviews by lightgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful mixture of rose/coral/pink with a gold frost. It's light weight and brings a fresh brightening moisture to the lips. I have cool undertones, but this looks fabulous!! My l/s has no smell. I am wondering if those whose smell bad were contaminated with bacteria and they should replace them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ltnla on 3/28/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by ltnla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Works really well on me. It just makes me look a bit brighter and happier, if that makes sense. I think the color has been well described by others and so I won't confuse anyone with more description and words here. I think it's a bit similar to MAC Lustre Honey Flower (discontinued) which I also have. MAC's is more neutral/golden toned whereas Courtisane is a bit brighter coral pink, and a tad shinier. The texture is also a bit creamier than MAC Lustre. This can work as a neutral color for work, and can certainly be sexed up if you want. Will definitely buy if/when run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noseofblue on 3/24/2012 2:39:00 PM more reviews by noseofblue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I can't believe my initial reaction was to return this--the light must have been bad. Courtisane is a stick gloss in a sheer, shiny gorgeous muted pink/red that I can't imagine looking bad on anyone. If I lined up all my dozens of lipsticks and glosses and could only save one, this would be it. Nuff said.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hansa4 on 1/22/2011 11:51:00 AM more reviews by hansa4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A friend bought this color to wear on her wedding day, as she is not one who wears lipsticks on a daily basis. I fell in love with the color and how it feels. I have pretty pigmented lips and feel that this adds just a touch of red/pink and a but of shine. Like my lips but better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wanshan on 11/26/2010 7:11:00 PM more reviews by wanshan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing this color for years from my 20's to 30's and it's my go to lip for quick natural, polished look or can go with smokey eyes. The color appears to me on my slightly pigmented light brown colored lips as pink-peach with copper metallic undertones.
It is a stick gloss therefore do not expect it to last long, however, it's a good alternative if you want some shine with the convenience in a stick formulation.

My skin tone is neutral with yellowish, some pinkish under tone, I wear b/w a SC3-4 depending on the season.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shellpox on 9/22/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by shellpox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this in my makeup kit for a few years...I used it quite a bit when I bought it and then just forgot about it, I suppose. I recently re-tried it and I still love it! For me, it's like my natural lip color but better. Shiny but not too glossy, it helps me look polished without that "lipstick" feel. I love the shimmery flecks in it, very subtle. It feels creamy, smooth and light on my lips. I can always count on Laura Mercier to have really wearable lip color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellewoodsin916 on 5/1/2009 12:25:00 AM more reviews by ellewoodsin916

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I stopped dead in my tracks when walking by the LM counter as soon as I saw this color gleaming out at me under the Nordstrom lights. It's one of those universally flattering colors. I've never used a stick gloss before, but I was sold on the concept after using this. Unlike others, I haven't noticed any smell, good or bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Lipstick products