Pro Activ Skin Lightening Lotion

3.2

20 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2.0%. Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), octyldodecanol, cyclopentasiloxane, hexylene glycol, glycolic acid, polyquaternium-37, propylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, cyclohexasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, ascorbyl palmitate, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, glyceryl dilaurate, glyceryl stearate, PPG-1 trideceth-6, PEG-100 stearate, PEG-40 stearate, propylene glycol, sodium sulfite, sodium metabisulfite, sodium hydroxide, disodium EDTA, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).


on 6/15/2014 10:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I have been using this tube for 4 days, in the morning and at night right after a warm shower. From reading about the dangers of hydroquinone, I know im risking my health for the sake of beauty but this soon, I notice some old acne marks (that didn't go away since last December) are finally clearing. Overall my skin is starting to look more even. Mind you, I'm being VERY careful with what I mix this with on my face. I'm not wearing any makeup at any time of the day bc there's so few studies on the combination of hydroquinone and the other ingredients in my makeup. When I wear sunscreen, I do not combine (the reason why I wear the dark spot corrector in morning and at night). The only facial wash I'm using atm is Giovanni purifying facial cleanser and scrub Overall I am seeing improvement with my old pimple scars lightening. If I continue seeing improvement then I'll buy more.



on 3/20/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So this was a free gift that came with the second shipment of my proactiv. I was really excited to use this because my first shipment of Proactiv cleared everything but I was left with a few dark spots. Nothing to be completely embarrassed or devastated about, makeup covered them for the most part but I'd seen commercials for this stuff. That same night, I did the 3 step program like I do every other night and put a little dot of this lightening lotion of the few dark marks. I woke up the next morning to find LARGE cystic acne bumps of the spots where I applied it. I was shocked. I didn't think that was going to happen, let along THE NEXT DAY. I had spent the last month or so clearing up my skin and I was stuck walking around with 4 huge bumps on my face for a few days. Like a dummy, about a week later, when the bumps shrunk, I TRIED IT AGAIN, thinking maybe it was something that I ate that day or something. Same thing happened. I will never use this stuff again. I am so happy that my skin is finally clear that I will just deal with the few marks I have a cover them with makeup until they eventually fade. I should've read reviews on this first. Desireesbeautyblog.Blogspot.com


on 7/29/2012 2:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Please do not fall for the advertisements on tv for this stuff. It is TOTAL CRAP!!!!! I had a couple pigmentation marks I wanted to get rid of way back when from Tarte's foundation and all this lotion did was give me blackheads in the spot where I applied it. I never saw any change in the marks and after 1 1/2 I had to quit because the blackheads were driving me crazy. Poor quality. I swear Proactiv's products are so hit or miss its not even funny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2012 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So I'm going to assume that the "lightening lotion" refers to the Dark Spot Corrector. I purchased the dark spot corrector a few months ago without having read reviews... bad idea! I thought the worst that could happen is that it won't do anything and I can give it to someone else so they try it. Well when I first applied this to my face I noticed that it was oily, but I didn't worry because it was supposed to be oil-free, well I woke up the next morning with acne on my face!! I thought that it might have been from
something else since I do break out occasionally so I kept using it every night for about 2 weeks. It sucked, it did not lighten up my dark spots and it just clogged up my pores. I then remembered why I stopped using Proactiv when I was a teenager, because their products are garbage. I gave them a second chance but they disappointed again.


on 6/30/2010 3:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This product was HORRIFIC. After using it for less than a week on two tiny pimple scars I'd had for several months, my skin on and around the area turned scaly red and rough to the touch. It also contains hydroquinone, a very harmful product. I'm throwing out the rest of this awful product and I will not be repurchasing (obviously)


on 9/26/2009 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

This product is the best !!!!!!!! i have had sooo many spots on my face and this this the only thing that clears up my dark spots fast . you can put this over lotion, wear it under makeup .. its sooo great . Give it like 3 weeks to see results , trust me you wont be mad , i have brought this about 4 times already and i loveeeeeeeeee it .. the only downfall is that its 30 bucks .. yea kinda expensive but it worth the money . Plus I have oily skin and this does not make my skin oiler

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2009 7:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I do not have acne...however I was given a small sample bottle and had high hopes of it helping get rid of some small brown age spots I had.....that is until I read up on hydroquinine.....in the garabage it went. I would rather keep my age spots then risk my health.


on 3/22/2009 7:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This cream works for acne blemishes, but you must use consistenly. It works very well with the other Proactiv line cleansers, etc. I only use Proactiv, so this is a lifesaver for me if I want a blemish mark to fade quicker than nature allows...thank you Proactiv!!!


on 12/26/2008 4:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I stand corrected. Thanks Smudgie :)


on 8/9/2008 6:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this was the first lightening product that I have ever used and I loved it! it noticably lightened the brown spots left by acne over time. for me, the most resistent brown spots disappeared by a month! However, I won't be purchasing this product again. After hearing and reading about the health dangers of hydroquinone (this product mainly consist of hydroquinone), I threw my Pro Activ Skin lightening bottle away. So use at your own risk!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top