Essie • Wicked • Polishes

rated 4.4(147 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Yvetteski on 8/24/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Yvetteski

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Very rich, deep blackish-brown with a burgundy hue too. Great for pedicures as it covers completely my omnipresent bruises. Wears well but I've never had it on my fingernails, so I don't know. I think it might be too garish on all but short, chic nails on youngish hands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moonblooms on 5/25/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by Moonblooms

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Get it. Period. Ever since I picked this polish up in 2007 I've had it either on my fingers or toes. It goes on like a dream and dries super quick. Not to mention it's insanely sexy ;) It's the smoky eye for your nails. Wicked is far and away my all time favorite nail polish.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 5/9/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If you like the look of dark vampy polish but a little afraid of black this could be the color for you. This Deep Deep burgundy/with a touch of black polish gives the dark look but when it catches the light the red pops through. I find most Essie formulas to be a bit thin so you may need 3 coats to get a complete application. Use a good base coat and let it thoroughly dry before applying the color. I get such complements on this color. I prefer it for the fall/winter months verses the spring and summer because the color is more intense and dark and it actually goes well as a neutral color for your nails it goes with a lot!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CrescendoMyLife on 4/12/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by CrescendoMyLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Violet    

I bought this on sale. I love dark red colors or black or nude. I put one coat and it's opaque. the second coat makes it extremely dark. it's a very pretty hard color but not black. I also noticed it dries extremely quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rosebud222 on 3/1/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by rosebud222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the color, a dark and deep black red. A great color when you're in the mood for something dark and dangerous. However, I had a hard time with the application. On some nails I had no issue, but then on other nails it would clump and become a big frustrating mess. For this reason, I'm not sure I'd repurchase. Needs 2 coats for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beaner on 11/11/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by Beaner

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do love the look of Wicked - a dark vampy red that should look good on just about every skin tone. My only complaint is the application. I always apply two coats of most polishes and Wicked is no different. One coat is just a streaky mess and another coat evens out the color. However, I do three coats for complete coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 11/11/2013 1:25:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm becoming hooked on Essie nail polishes and I now understand why this brand gets so much love. The formula applies so beautifully and evenly without streaking and the wear is great! The colour selection can't be beat and Essie is usually with the trends in nail colour.
I got Wicked because I'm in a 'vamp' phase as of late and I wanted a rich dark blood red colour (almost black) reminiscent of Chanel's Rouge Noir.
Wicked didn't disappoint. It looks black from a distance but up close it's that deep vampy colour that's perfect for this time of the year.
Love, love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WaterQueene77 on 9/15/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by WaterQueene77

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This polish is fantastic! I had a pedicure yesterday and everyone - even the nail technicians - were remarking about the richness of this color. Essie Wicked is a dark blood-red that can look black in some lighting but has just enough color to keep it from being completely goth. I have slapped one coat of this on in the case of a yoga class emergency and it looks fantastic! One coat of this polish is a deep cranberry color; two coats turns it darker but it still maintains a hint of red. I have repurchased about four times already and I will always have a bottle of Essie Wicked in my very selective polish collection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 azcohn on 8/15/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by azcohn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My usual manicurist only carries a house brand, which isn't a particularly good product. But I just got my nails done at a different place that carries Essie and I went straight for Wicked. This shade - very VERY dark red, bordering on black/brown - is my go-to shade but this Essie version is extra gorgeous and seems to be longer lasting, too. Every time I try to branch out into different, lighter shades I always end up coming back to this type of hue and Wicked is the best of this goth-style genre. A winner!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SwampThing on 8/7/2013 1:47:00 AM more reviews by SwampThing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Wicked! Its a beautiful deep vampy red color. It looks great against my skin color (very pale with yellow undertones). A lot of colors simply do not look good on me. I tend to go for darker shades and this one (in my opinion), is a must have. I was able to get a few days of this being on my nails (with no top coat) before seeing any noticeable chipping. Despite other reviews, I have had no application issues (I do tend to do multiple coats with every nailpolish I own though, so this may be why). I will definitely repurchase if I ever run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products