The Body Shop • Perfume Oil - Vanilla • Fragrances

rated 3.9(107 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Caish on 2/4/2014 8:26:00 AM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love vanilla and the body shop offer a nice affordable oil with a strong scent that lasts a decent amount of time, especially if put on the spots on your body that heat up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 8/28/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My review is for the original Body Shop Vanilla Oil with the black cap. It was a dark oil that was strongly scented. I went through many bottles of it back in the 1990's and still have one left. Now on Ebay they are asking exorbitant dollar amounts for this original delectable scent and there is a reason why. If you were privy to it and remember it, there is nothing comparable to the original. I have searched since then for another vanilla and have not found anything anywhere near it yet.
The Vanilla Oil was a deep, scintillating gourmand that heightened people's awareness of what a true vanilla was without other notes mixed in. It didn't have any cloying sweetness to it. Nor did it have any florals that would interfere and mix with the scent. Its drydown would come and you would simply smell a warm, delicious slightly burnt vanilla that hinted of caramel, maybe of buttercream, but nevertheless, the amber kept the sweetness creamy and mellow. It was pure vanilla extract. It was a sexy vanilla, not a youngster's vanilla. It was almost a dangerous perfume to some men when applied. The sillage was strong and it lasted just about until you showered it off. It was a perfume that seemed to meld into your own skin.
One time, I was walking into my Doctor's office. He was holding the door for me, and as I walked past him, he sniffed the air and said, "Ahhh...there's the scent I crave so much." I turned and looked at him with surprise. I think he surprised himself when he said that, and stuttered, "I meant...is somebody baking cupcakes?" And then kind of laughed. That's when I knew the scent had some type of power. Needless to say, I never wore it again to that Doctor's office. It was that type of perfume tho. It made people sit up and take notice and comment. They would inhale and make some type of remark. It's one of the few perfumes I own that always garnered remarks.
Such a shame times have changed and they had to reformulate it. It was a beauty and I treasure the miniscule amount I have left of the original. The 2nd and 3rd versions are nothing like the original Body Shop Vanilla. I would only buy a vintage original Body Shop Vanilla again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tirje980 on 5/13/2012 3:10:00 AM more reviews by Tirje980

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a big fan of vanilla scent and this vanilla oil smells so good and delicious. I am expecting more staying power from a scented oil thou. And the packaging is kinda annoying to use esp after i broke the wand..sigh.. I am so over the fence whether i will repurchase or not.. It is a really good warm comforting scent and also reasonably priced. I will repurchase if i didnt find a better vanilla scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunnyfuusunflower on 5/13/2012 2:00:00 AM more reviews by sunnyfuusunflower

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this fragrance. It's light and sweet, and has staying power. My only complaint is the wand used to apply the fragrance with. This makes it kind of annoying to apply. I wish it came in a roll-on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Romanticide on 4/12/2012 5:58:00 AM more reviews by Romanticide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Pros:
- long lasting (oil)

Cons:
- smells floral and sharp = not vanilla at all
- gives headache
- reformulated, old version is sorely missed by many.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristyc on 2/1/2012 1:26:00 AM more reviews by kristyc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I do so love Body Shop's perfume oils.. the old black-capped ones used to last forever and only required a little smear over the skin for loads of scent - so I was over the moon when I saw Vanilla back on the shelves.

Unfortunately, whilst it smells nice and I wanted this to be my signature scent, it barely lasts for 2 hours. Its a good thing its small enough to carry around for repeated applications or else I'd be completely scentless by the end of the day.

Disappointed by this "watered down" version. If you see a black-cap TBS perfume oil anywhere, I'd snag it immediately. As it is now, I doubt I'd ever buy another white-cap oil from them again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LauraElisa on 1/18/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by LauraElisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this oil, but it's a bit too sweet for me. I prefer making my own vanilla oil, but I will continue to use this until I'm done with my bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nanders19 on 1/13/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by Nanders19

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just love this vanilla oil. I was looking for a sent that was of pure natural vanilla, and everything I was finding hade a spicy note, or amber in it. I asked for this particular vanilla oil for Christmas hoping it would be it. Well it was! I love the smell, and it's staying power. If you are looking for a true vanilla perfume that lasts this is it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sumptergal on 12/30/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by Sumptergal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

What happened to this oil, I use to be able to put it on and it stayed all day....amd smelled divine.....The one I just purchased from the Body Shop is watered down, doesn't even stay an hour....what a dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christinaking on 11/19/2011 9:56:00 AM more reviews by christinaking

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this product was discontinued, then I went into the Body Shop and there it was! I cannot describe how happy I was. For me, it smells like a spicy, smooth, creamy vanilla. Absolutely beautiful. This may be my absolute favorite smell in the world, along with Dyptique's candle Feu de Bois. And it is the absolute best for xmastime...for me, it smells of christmas, with the fireplace, cookies in the oven and beautiful candles all over. I usually wear Coco Mademoiselle but I really do prefer this perfume. I will be getting Bois Farine for xmas, and I have a feeling that it will layer quite well with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Fragrances products