MAC Select Sheer Pressed Powder

4.0

337 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Octyldodecyl lactate, Silica, Nylon-12, Isononyl isononanoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl palmitate, Lecithin, Polyperfluoroethoxymethoxy difluoroethyl PEG Phosphate, Zein, Tetrasodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Potassium sorbate, [ /- Mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, Carmine, chromium oxide greens, ferric ferrocyanide, manganese violet, red 6 Lake, red 7 Lake, read 30 Lake, yellow 5 Lake, ultra marines] (as of 7/2015)


on 8/2/2015 8:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

If you get the proper color match for you, this looks nice dusted over foundation. It's a good setting powder. It doesn't give you the coverage of a powder foundation such as MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus, but deposits a little color. However, it doesn't control shine like Blot Powder, and that's why I'd rather have translucent Blot Powder. If you don't have oily skin, this might work for you.

Ingredients

Talc, Silica, Octyldodecyl Lactate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Nylon-12, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Lecithin, Aluminum Sulfate, Zeolite, Zein Perfluoropolymethylisopropyl Ether, BHT, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sorbic Acid, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben [+/- (May Contain): Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ferric Ferrocyanid, Ultramarines]



on 12/26/2014 12:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this powder for more than a year now. It doesn't do something extraordinary but it's lightweight with a little color in it sets makeup beautifully and doesn't break me out. It doesn't stay for long neither control my oilier zones that well but it's still a descent enough product


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I liked how this powder is not cakey, natural looking and the colour is great. Doesn't stay on that long though and doesn't really make my skin feel silky smooth. Hence, one lippie off. The price is expensive for what it does, therefore, will not buy again.


on 9/3/2014 1:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a really good powder. If you have oily skin, have bad acne scars or want a flawless finish, then this is your go to powder. I'm NC45 for ref.

I don't use this in my morning makeup routine because I think this provides too much coverage even if I'm using my tinted moisturizer. This is really good to touch up on afternoons when my foundation begins to break down. This helps to make my face appear less oily and fresh. It is a bit creamy for a powder and it clings to the skin instead of looking powdery.

I like how the shade matches nicely with my skin. It does not look white, red or yellow. I prefer a light hand with this as it may look cakey and settle into lines. When this powder is paired with the Studio Fix, I get an orange oxidized look at the end of the day. There is no such issue when I use this powder by itself and with other foundations,

This is the most coverage I've experienced with a powder. This is some heavy duty stuff. I even use this to blend out my eyeshadow sometimes. If you're not into the heavy coverage or have dry skin may be you should try another powder.

I prefer to go with sheer to medium coverage makeup but I like having this for variety, in case of an emergency, for formal occasions and pictures.

If you're a makeup fan like me, this is a must have. I really think this is a useful powder that would never go to waste and serves too many functions for me to be without it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2014 5:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this powder. It's sheer and hold oil at bay. I'm not a huge pressed powder fan but this is one of the best pressed powders I've found.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recently broke my Blot powder, which I liked for controlling oil, but didn't like the finish. So, I decided to try a different powder. I read a lot of reviews for different powders and decided to go with this one. I ordered it online and just chose the same color that I am in the Studio Fix powder..so I was taking a gamble. When I received it I was really impressed! The color matched perfectly, it was really silky, I loved the finish it gave, it controlled oil, and it didn't break me out. I never like to break makeup..but in this case I was fine with it, because I actually like this powder better than Blot. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2014 8:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I usually wear BareMineral's Ready Touch up Veil in Transulcent as setting powder in the mornings after foundation or BB-cream application and then apply again 2 times a day for shine and oil control.

Now, I wanted to test something new and also with colour to match my Summer tan skin. Since I seldom use foundation or BB-cream during Summer time, I also wanted something with a sheer coverage.

In the Winter time I'm normally an NC20. For this powder I choose NC40. The saleswoman first suggested a quite dark NW (red based) colour. That one matched my tanned skin tone perfectly. However, with a reddish bronzing powder also applied it looked better with a slightly lighter NC (yellow based) colour. I also think it will last longer. I'm back at work now and in three weeks time I will turn grey again;)

The mattifying quality is about the same as the BM powder. Could be better and if it was only for this I would give the Sheer Select Pressed Powder only 4 points. But...

To my surprise it also helped minimizing my pores and it gave me the best sheer coverage and flawless finish ever! For that I give it 5 points!

No problem with spending 260 SEK on this excellent powder.

Plus for mirror and buff in the package. However, I use a brush for application in the mornings.

I will probably buy a lighter colour of this in the Autumn and skip foundation and BB-cream from now on. A primer and this powder on top will be enough.


on 7/11/2014 3:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The lady at MAC recommended this for me because I purchased the Studio Fix plus and that is full coverage.

Pros- feels nice and smooth, keeps me matte for more than 4 hours

Cons- pricey, I want a more matte finish


on 7/2/2014 2:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ehhh. Disappointing and expensive. I have really oily skin. After using this in the beginning of the day my skin would be oily about 40 minutes later. Towards the end of the day when I reapply it, it doesn't blot oil away at all

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 1:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

PACKAGING
MAC Select Sheer Pressed Powder comes in a compact case. I have dropped it onto a tiled floor before (by accident) and the product remained intact. It is easily portable, so I keep one in my handbag.

APPLICATION
This product applies amazingly well! I use a large, soft, bamboo-bristled powder brush, which picks up the powder with ease. I use a pressing motion to apply the powder to my face, as not to pull or tear my skin. It leaves no lines, blending flawlessly with the foundation underneath.

WEAR
This powder has a matte finish, which works well with my oily T-zone. However, I find after a few hours I need to reapply powder to my nose, as it looks a little shiny. Other than that, it stays well over the course of my work day, without caking. It sets my make-up beautifully with my skin looks flawless upon application.

PROS
Compact packaging - great for portibility
Easy to apply - remember to use a large, soft-bristled brush
Matte finish - compliments normal/oily skin

CONS
Expensive - but worth every cent!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top