Shu Uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil Balancer

4.1

156 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

mineral oil, corn germ oil, polysorbate 85, safflower seed oil , sorbitan trioleate , ethylhexyl stearate, jojoba seed oil, avocado oil , sea water, glycerin, tocopherol , limonene, canola oil, linalool, c12-15 alkyl benzoate , dicaprylyl carbonate, isopropyl myristate, ethyl oleate, rapeseed seed oil, butylphenyl methylpropional, bitter orange peel extract, tomato extract , capsicum fruit extract, fragrance


on 2/4/2015 7:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

REVIEW AND HOW TO USE PROPERLY: I started using this cleanser in 1997 when all the models were switching from dissolving their eye makeup with baby oil, and started using the Shu Umeura cleansing oil. I've tested nearly every other cleansing oil in the last near 20 years and none have been up to par...(That said, I do love the Shu Umeura Ultime8 also). I go through 1 large 400ml bottle per year and use 350 days of the year at night.

There is no better make up removal product on the market, end of story.

And I say that as somebody who came through the modelling industry and worked on television through the 90s and the 2000s, when makeup changed from the thick and cake Max Factor pancake bases thro,ugh to the silicone and mineral and HD airbrush technologies we now have today. Two thirds of one pump of this will take off the thickest waterproof stage makeup in seconds.

I understand a lot of people don't really understand how to use cleansing oils. They are technically meant as the first step in a two part cleansing ritual.

HOW BEST TO USE: You pump into your clean hands and start working into the face with you finger pads and dissolving the makeup. Using your middle finger you work it it's gently down your lids and with your thumb as a stationary horizontal base underneath your lashes, very gently massage your lashes until all traces of mascara have been shifted. You keep massaging into your face until all the makeup feels dissolved and your face, no doubt, a brown, hot mess.

If your make up is very heavy, you then wet your hands and start allowing the water soluble oils to break down and wash off - you do keep working into your face though at this point. Then after another 5 to 10 seconds of dissolving, you take water and splash the remaining off you face. Using a damp microfibre cloth, wipe/pat the remainder off your face very gently. Because the make up it was very heavy this time the cleansing oil was used solely as a make up remover. It is now time to take a very very gentle cleanser and actually cleans the skin. Nothing stripping nothing excessive, I like La Roche Posay Effeclar Gel Cleanser and wash it as normal. This entire process, the 2 cleansers, should take about one and a half minutes. Tops.

When your make-up is quite light, once I've done the Shu Umeura cleanse. I don't even stand at or wash it off over a sink, I just sit down with my Bioderma and some cotton pads, and use the Bioderma to wipe off the Cleansing Oil. For me, two pads back and front are enough to get most of the Oil off, plus another 2 pads for a second cleanse - and my skin is completely clean sitting in front of the TV.

I read a lot of reviews where people understand that abrasive cleansers are terrible for them but still want a very effective make up remover and cleansing product all in one. With lots of make up on, and the contouring lot of people are doing today, it's just not going to happen.

With very minimal makeup and removal with pads and micellar water, with Shu Umeura Oil, one cleanse is fine. But with heavy make up, there will always be residue... the point is doing it delicately won't harm your skin in the long term but requires a thorough cleanes - albeit a quick one. You can do it in one though... but it will be considerably less effective, leaving skin clogged and irritated and it will be abrasive and harm your dermal layer in the long run.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil is my holy grail makeup remover.

Top 3 Reasons for Loving it
1. 100% Perfect Cleansing
2. Non-drying
3. Save on Facial Cotton

Check out full review and tips on how to get it cheap at: http://bit.ly/shuoil


on 7/28/2014 9:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily/combi skin and never considered purchasing a cleansing oil until I visited the shu uemura beauty counter for eyebrow grooming and the staff recommended me the new Porefinist cleansing oil.

From the first usage I could feel small bits of gunk being removed from my face! My nose is a blackhead minefield and I was honestly over the moon because I thought I finally found my miracle product. However, there has not been any drastic improvements in my blackheads. BUT! I believe that using this cleansing oil will help to prevent my blackheads from worsening. Furthermore, it is a great makeup remover.

It is quite expensive where I live but if you purchase it while in Taiwan/Japan, you will find that it is much cheaper there.


on 6/23/2014 9:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This oil cleanser is simply the best in the market. I have tried other brands (Kanebo, Nude, Sulwhasoo, and DHC) but none of them are comparable. Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil is the quintessential cleanser. It removes makeup and pollutants thoroughly and gently, and imparts a beautiful and supple finish. My complexion has significantly improved after using this cleanser for a short time. I no longer suffer from irritation, dry patches or pimples. I have the cleanser in every formula and alternate among them: Advanced Formula, Whitefficient Clear Brightening, Ultime8 Sublime, Porefine Ant-Shine, and Anti Oxi Skin Refining. Each one has a wonderful scent. The large bottle lasts over 7 months. This cleanser is an investment to great skin, and the first step to a simple beauty regiment each night. I absolutely love it!


on 5/19/2013 3:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first cleansing oil I ever bought and used. I loved it at first, because of the novelty (way back many years). It heats up slightly as you spread across the face and it smells great too. However, after a few washes, my pores began to clog and I panicked. At first I thought it wasn't anything to do with the oil and even bought a second bottle. But I then decided to change to a normal cleansing fluid and then the pores emptied out slowly.

I've heard that mineral oil clogs pores, I'm not too sure about that. My pores became a victim of that. I then switched to Fancl Cleansing Oil and it's been great ever since.
The oil is really pricey too but not so in Japan.


on 12/10/2011 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great cleanser. I have combination skin with red patches round the cheeks, nose, temple. I'm always looking for a cleanser to take the aforementioned and this has been great! As dubious as I was, you know "can oil really clean like a foaming cleanser?" the amount of good press this gets it tipped me over th edge and it does live up to it. I use the green one; two pumps on damp hands and the I massage into my face for 2 mins and rinse. Follow-up with toner etc etc. highly recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2011 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Basically, my main aim to the Shu Uemura counter was to purchase the UV Under Base Fluid SPF20 PA+ - Beige and the girl was raving all about this product.

She tried abit of the product on my hand and my hands looked so much whiter that I decided to try it.

The Oil sadly was quite a put off for me at first, but I was AMAZED by how they dissolve and is nowhere near OILY when in contact with water!

They completely leave any traces of make up off my face!!
I do a counter check with my toner after wards and found that the cotton pad was completely clean as compared to other products!

As I'm a MUA who have to wear thick foundation, this is the product for me!

Pleasant enough! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2011 7:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got a sample of this with this month's beauty box, but I didn't really expect to like it. Having combo/oily skin the thought of putting oil on my face was just blech.

I was pleasantly suprised! This rinses clean away and doesn't leave any oily residue and it's great for removing waterproof mascara and long-wearing makeup. I generally dislike spending a lot of money on cleansers so I can't see myself purchasing the full size any time soon, but perhaps I will if I'm feeling extravagant ;)


on 7/31/2011 7:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My night cleanser for the past ten plus years. Love the fact that I can apply it to dry skin, then rinse off with warm water without the product foaming up. Leaves my skin very receptive to night cream. This is one product where I disagree with Paula, who finds it very standard; for me, it's any but in terms of being effective, gentle, and pleasurable to use. Although it seems very expensive, a little goes a long way -- I use maybe two bottles per year. I nearly freaked out when this product disappeared from stores, until I learned that US distribution is now entirely through the web. I first tried SU in Japan, and might just fly back there to buy more if it came to that!


on 1/17/2011 8:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleansing oil works well for my skin. My skin is normal, no major problems and this works as my pre cleanser. I rarely use it alone so I don't feel any film on my skin but I like that it takes off all of my makeup very quickly, almost melting it away with very little trouble, even waterproof stuff very quickly. My skin has never reacted badly to this and i have never broken out. I've gone through one large bottle and am halfway through my second and it's been about 4 years since I started using the product. So a little goes a long way. It doesn't go bad of lose potency because it's an oil so that's awesome. But now that it's not available in stores in the u.s. I might look for a cleansing oil that doesn't have mineral oil once I'm done with this one.


Back to Top