The Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

3.3

191 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Cyclomethicone (Emollient), Glycerin (Humectant), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (Absorbent/Anticaking Agent), Polysorbate 60 (Surfactant), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Carbomer (Stabiliser/Viscosity Modifier), Tocopheryl Acetate (Antioxidant), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Dimethicone (Skin Conditioning Agent), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Butylene Glycol (Humectant), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Methylparaben (Preservative), Fragrance (Fragrance), Zinc Gluconate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Hydrolyzed Algin (Soothing agent), Zinc Sulphate (Cosmetic Astringent), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack) Extract (Skin Conditioning Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Propylene Glycol Alginate (Binder), Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Sodium Stearate (Surfactant), Propylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Algae Extract (Natural Additive), Acacia Senegal Gum (Film Former), Serine (Skin Conditioning Agent), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Benzyl Salicylate (Fragrance Ingredient), Citronellol (Fragrance Ingredient), Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone (Fragrance Ingredient), Tocopherol (Antioxidant).


on 3/14/2015 12:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Mattifying? Yes.

Moisturizing? No.

This cream is super drying that I couldn't even use it without it drying my skin. I expected it to moisturize and dry to like a powder finish but no.

It feels like a cream with a lot of alcohol and I think everyone by now, knows how drying that can be.



on 2/19/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I've tried Garnier Moisture Rescue Cream and Clean and Clear Dual Action Moisturizer and this is the best moisturizer I have used. I have acne-prone skin and I used to never use a moisturizer because it only made things worse. I've updated my skin-care routine and I'm glad that this moisturizer doesn't seem to make me break out and is moisturizing enough to counteract the drying effects of acne treatment products. It's so light and feels like you have put nothing on. It's absolutely amazing.


on 10/28/2014 8:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this day cream. It doesn't feel heavy on my skin like a lot of moisturisers do and it does have a mattifying effect on my skin. My skin tone has become a lot more even and my skin is brighter and healthier since I started the sea weed range. I would recommend this for anyone with combination skin like myself!


on 10/27/2014 8:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this moisturiser! It is a little on the pricier side for me personally, so I recently tried a cheaper line, but I will be switching back to this one. It's perfect for my skin - leaves it soft & hydrated but matte, oil-free & has a lovely soft scent.


on 10/16/2014 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

While I love the matching face wash, this day cream leaves a lot to be desired. After application I still feel the need to apply a moisturizer, that defeats the purpose of this product.


on 10/12/2014 6:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Great moisturiser if you need something light but still hydrating. Would much prefer different packaging, like a pump or tube. Also it has fragrance, so might not be the best for sensitive skin.


on 9/13/2014 8:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My experiences with moisturisers prior to this product were fleeting and left much to be desired. After trying Body Shop's Vitamin E moisturiser (not the best choice for oily skin) I decided that my skin was too oily for moisturisers and that they were best left to my drier skinned friends.

However, a year ago I got a gift set of the seaweed products from my mother and I fell in love. I noticed that my skin was less oily, brighter, and I had less acne (though it is worth noting that this might have just been from adding a skincare routine in general).

I met my first problem with the moisturiser when I went to repurchase and it was a little too pricy for me, so I went and bought a drugstore moisturiser that just didn't do the job. I waited it out until the Body Shop's big sale and bought four at once at the lower price.

My second gripe about the product is that it's in a tub rather than a squeeze tube or pump. Though you do get more product out of it, it's a little less hygienic (I make it work for me by making sure that I'm either fresh out of the shower when I put it on or have just washed my hands).

TL;DR: My absolute HG moisturiser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2014 10:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I've had success with the Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash. So I thought I wld expand usage of this line. (tea tree range has been great too, but NOT the vit E range) Got a small sample tub, thank god. I'm acne-prone esp on cheeks, it scares me to put anything that cld trigger the dreaded cystic acne. First day of usage : the usual midday shine is non-existent. It leaves my face nicely matte & makeup stays put not streaky from my the blottings. Second day : enjoying the same nice effects. In short, thought I wld welcome a new member to my essentials line-up. End of second day : I found around 3 or more cystic acne forming on cheeks, nose, forehead. TRAGIC. I frantically try to remedy the situation with a torrent of my 'anti-acne brigade'. What was seemingly an oil-control measure, possibly just pushes back oil into my pores & it was a clogfest manifest. Other than the acne, some parts on my cheeks had the tiny clogged-up bumps. I didn't change anything in my make-up regime except for this, ie Culprit-Alert! Sorry this would be great if the acne reaction didn't happen. Byebye tub.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 12:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this product especially in the summer which is usually all year round where i live but may not so much it cooler places! It suits my oily T-zone and my occasional dry cheeks. I would put this before my foundation and it absorbs very well, smells very soothing, and is very mattifying indeed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

'The Body Shop Seaweed Mattiffying Day Cream' would have been a perfect solution to shine and greasiness of oily skin people..It has non-oily gel based texture that feels smooth, absorbs quickly into the skin. Read this article to know why it does not fit in my skin care regimen : L’Oreal The Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream Review, Swatch


Back to Top