Maybelline • volum express washable mascara curved brush • Mascara

rated 3.6(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 nabs07 on 3/29/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Decent Mascara! I have full lashes and use an eye lash curler before any application -- this does a great job at separating my lashes, and the wand helps to keep the curve without clumping. I use it as a basic mascara to achieve an everyday natural look (with no spider affect - thank goodness) but it does not have the 'oomph' or extra volume for a night out -- nor does it claim to do so anyway, so if that's what you're looking for, you wont get it! Plus It was on sale for $4! One lippie off because I have noticed it that it flakes and it doesn't hold a curl for very long & it weighs my lashes down as the day goes on..Also, I find it doesn`t work as well after 2-3 months and clumps like crazy! so I probably won't repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coeco7 on 7/23/2010 1:52:00 PM more reviews by coeco7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this Mascara! I have repurchased multiple times. I have tried the high end brands and none of them give me the coverage and length that I wanted. I have pretty full eyelashes to begin with, but they are very blonde. This mascara covers each lash, without clumping and the curved brush helps give me a cat-eye look. Worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 michyy on 7/23/2010 5:31:00 AM more reviews by michyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There's nothing special about this mascara. & I don't undersand why it claims that it's curved and all, my mascara was barely a curved wand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mascara12345 on 5/17/2010 7:34:00 PM more reviews by mascara12345

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

ok i have thin straight lashes that dont hold a curl so i apply waterproof mascara first, then volumizing mascara. i still havent found the perfect volumizing mascara yet so i tryed this one. it wasnt the brush that i didnt like about this mascara, it was the way it looked. you know how when mascara gets old and starts looking dull and stuff? well thats how this one looked after i used it once. sooooo i did not like it so much......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 illislune on 8/8/2009 1:52:00 AM more reviews by illislune

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a huge make-up person, so this works really well for me! The curved brush helps during application, and since I don't apply many coats, I have no problem with clumping. It definitely helps brighten up my eyes, but it doesn't give you that star look some other brands do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxpuppetxx on 8/7/2009 2:12:00 AM more reviews by xxpuppetxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

my hg mascara,been purchasing for 6 years now

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kirad on 7/28/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by kirad

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So far it's great! No flaking, no clumping, and it doesn't make my eyes burn. Easy to remove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sirene on 5/13/2009 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Sirene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The brush is too big to reach all the lashes, but love that it's curved. Yeah it does flake and weighs down the curl a little, at first it does look nice though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KristaniA on 5/1/2009 12:53:00 PM more reviews by KristaniA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hahaha..I like the review before me.
I also have asian lashes, so I know what she's talking about.
The formula of this mascara is either too wet or it doesn't dry fast enough.
I curled my lashes and put this on, IT BROUGHT THE CURL BACK TO MY STRAIGHT-POINTING DOWN LASHES!
what the heck, right?
so I curled my lashes again (with the mascara on them), obviously the formula stuck on my curler.
I had to re-apply, and it did the same thing!
Good gracious! this would NEVER work on my lashes!
I tried taking off some of the mascara from the brush using a tissue to prevent massive clumping and spider legs and it still didn't work :(

I'm going to put this on my swap list because clearly, it still works on some people (just NOT me).
no more Maybelline mascaras for me!

UPDATE: I tried this product for the 3rd time. I cleaned the brush with a kleenex to make it (A LOT) less wet, leave it alone for 2-3 mins to dry up a bit, then put it on my lashes. STILL DIDN'T WORK. I watched my freshly curled lashes falling down back to their original shape after I put on the mascara. BUT, it worked for my lower lashes. Definitely added some volume to my barely existing lower lashes. So I'm going to keep using the product JUST ON MY LOWER LASHES. But I still won't repurchase the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kirikireii on 3/5/2009 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Kirikireii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the fact it comes in a chubby tube. I think it's cute.
I like how it's got a curved wand as well.
However, if you apply 3 coats or more, it clumps a lot. I use an eyelash comb, but to get almost non-clump lashes, I must brush after every coat, which is extremely time consuming.

Doesn't give the best lift because I have ASIAN eyelashes. The brush is too big to run through all of my eyelashes, but it gives it enough curve, I suppose. (There are better ones though)

I like it, and I still use it. It's just a little time consuming to use, which I don't really like.

However, apart from the clumps and the lack of definite curve, it's fine. I usually just brush two coats of this, use an eyelash comb, then put lengthening mascara on. That just about does the trick.

Overall, I recommend it. (Especially if you're not Asian, lol.) I have a friend who's Canadian, she put some on her eyes and they looked FANTASTIC!

No racism intended. Enjoy this review. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products