Garnier • Color treated or permed hair • Shampoo

rated 2.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.2.2
Would buy this product again.27%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 6/30/2011 11:48:00 AM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros: Cheap

Con: Makes your scalp itch and causes build up. Did not make colored hair soft and shiny, didn't preserve color that I could tell. Has a horrid fake fruity fragrance. Bottle was hard to open when wet.

Forget this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maggiemm on 11/20/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by maggiemm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product didn't do anything to protect my dyed hair - my colour faded very quickly. I won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katnattoo on 6/4/2010 11:07:00 AM more reviews by katnattoo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Within a week of using this product, my head started itching like crazy and I have pimples all over my scalp and the back of my neck. It does smell good, but the shampoo does not lather well. I haven't really noticed any fading of my color, but definitely would not purchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lekmolly on 1/24/2010 4:49:00 AM more reviews by lekmolly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the Garnier Fructis "Color Shield," which I'm assuming is the same thing...

I hated this shampoo. I have medium-length, blonde colored hair (I'm naturally blonde but have been lightening it at-home for the past year or so. Also some experimenting with strawberry blonde).

This shampoo and conditioner weighed down my hair so much and didn't protect from fading AT ALL. In fact it may have even made my color fade faster, or at least turn brassy.

I got my hair cut after a couple weeks of using this and my stylist commented that I had a ton of build-up. Not surprising. This made my hair feel heavy, greasy and gross, and didn't help at all for retaining color. Do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BayBayFay on 8/12/2009 1:33:00 AM more reviews by BayBayFay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: no longer using it./ I went to my long time hair dresser who asked 'what product I had in my hair that was weighing it down do heavily?' I wasn't using anything. She then asked what shampoo I was using and when I told her Garnier- she said it was leaving a film on my hair that was weighing it down. And I am someone who rinses really well. So bye Garnier
------------------------------------------------------------------------------


For years I have been using higher end/salon/premium shampoos such as Aveda and Alterna. One of my cutbacks this year is shampoo. I read a beauty insider report and it named Garnier as top rated.

I just used it and I think it's fantastic for the price. The shampoo is creamy and had a nice fragrance. My hair is not color treated but I thought this might be a gentler options. It lathered well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vogue5853 on 8/8/2009 6:20:00 PM more reviews by vogue5853

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

first off, this product really faded my hair. i died my hair close to black, but it faded only four days later to a lightish brown, which was really outraging. i dont get the clean feel of this product, and the only things i like is the size, cheap price, and how you can open it. i dont recomend to color treated hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gabriel679 on 11/6/2008 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Gabriel679

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this shampoo!

I really feel bad that some people have had a negative experience - this is my go-to shampoo (with the matching conditioner and deep conditioner) and it costs next to nothing compared to some of the other brands I've used.

I have dark brown colored hair (I over highlighted and then had to use color to get back to my natural color, and now I love the color so much, I am still doing it - go figure) and this keeps the color fresh and lovely for 8-12 weeks. And my hair is the healthiest it's ever been - shiny, soft, never greasy or weighed down - and the ends look fantastic, too.

I do have a sensitive scalp and this doesn't make me itch or have other issues.

Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VanillaT on 4/8/2008 9:12:00 PM more reviews by VanillaT

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't get the bad reveiws/overall rating for this. I alternate between this and L'Oreal Pro ColorVive for regular hair as my shampoo. IMO the L'Oreal is a bit more gentle than this one, but sometimes if I have been using a lot of styling products I prefer this one (Garnier). It gets my hair and scalp clean without feeling like I stripped the heck out of my hair and skin. I also love the smell of Garnier's Fructis line. When I do use this shampoo I use it in conjuction with the Fructis Strength & Repair conditioner (my favorite out of all of the Fructis conditioners- it has a reconstructive polymer in it that most of the other ones do not).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gswitch on 11/11/2007 3:40:00 PM more reviews by gswitch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, I cannot recommend this product to anyone. It did smell nice and clean my hair. Unfortunately, it dried my hair and my scalp. My hair felt like dry straw and my scalp became so dry that I had to switch over to a dandruff shampoo to help fix the damage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 junefever on 3/31/2007 4:24:00 PM more reviews by junefever

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

it didnt do anything for my hair except making it clean. It smells really good, but it doesn't last. I think it's an ok product, I wouldn't buy it again because I know there are much better ones out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Shampoo products