Garnier Color treated or permed hair

2.2

36 reviews

27% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 6/30/2011 11:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Pros: Cheap

Con: Makes your scalp itch and causes build up. Did not make colored hair soft and shiny, didn't preserve color that I could tell. Has a horrid fake fruity fragrance. Bottle was hard to open when wet.

Forget this one.



on 11/20/2010 6:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product didn't do anything to protect my dyed hair - my colour faded very quickly. I won't buy it again.


on 6/4/2010 11:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Within a week of using this product, my head started itching like crazy and I have pimples all over my scalp and the back of my neck. It does smell good, but the shampoo does not lather well. I haven't really noticed any fading of my color, but definitely would not purchase again!


on 1/24/2010 4:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Garnier Fructis "Color Shield," which I'm assuming is the same thing...

I hated this shampoo. I have medium-length, blonde colored hair (I'm naturally blonde but have been lightening it at-home for the past year or so. Also some experimenting with strawberry blonde).

This shampoo and conditioner weighed down my hair so much and didn't protect from fading AT ALL. In fact it may have even made my color fade faster, or at least turn brassy.

I got my hair cut after a couple weeks of using this and my stylist commented that I had a ton of build-up. Not surprising. This made my hair feel heavy, greasy and gross, and didn't help at all for retaining color. Do not recommend.


on 8/12/2009 1:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: no longer using it./ I went to my long time hair dresser who asked 'what product I had in my hair that was weighing it down do heavily?' I wasn't using anything. She then asked what shampoo I was using and when I told her Garnier- she said it was leaving a film on my hair that was weighing it down. And I am someone who rinses really well. So bye Garnier
------------------------------------------------------------------------------


For years I have been using higher end/salon/premium shampoos such as Aveda and Alterna. One of my cutbacks this year is shampoo. I read a beauty insider report and it named Garnier as top rated.

I just used it and I think it's fantastic for the price. The shampoo is creamy and had a nice fragrance. My hair is not color treated but I thought this might be a gentler options. It lathered well


on 8/8/2009 6:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

first off, this product really faded my hair. i died my hair close to black, but it faded only four days later to a lightish brown, which was really outraging. i dont get the clean feel of this product, and the only things i like is the size, cheap price, and how you can open it. i dont recomend to color treated hair.


on 11/6/2008 10:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this shampoo!

I really feel bad that some people have had a negative experience - this is my go-to shampoo (with the matching conditioner and deep conditioner) and it costs next to nothing compared to some of the other brands I've used.

I have dark brown colored hair (I over highlighted and then had to use color to get back to my natural color, and now I love the color so much, I am still doing it - go figure) and this keeps the color fresh and lovely for 8-12 weeks. And my hair is the healthiest it's ever been - shiny, soft, never greasy or weighed down - and the ends look fantastic, too.

I do have a sensitive scalp and this doesn't make me itch or have other issues.

Highly recommended.


on 4/8/2008 9:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't get the bad reveiws/overall rating for this. I alternate between this and L'Oreal Pro ColorVive for regular hair as my shampoo. IMO the L'Oreal is a bit more gentle than this one, but sometimes if I have been using a lot of styling products I prefer this one (Garnier). It gets my hair and scalp clean without feeling like I stripped the heck out of my hair and skin. I also love the smell of Garnier's Fructis line. When I do use this shampoo I use it in conjuction with the Fructis Strength & Repair conditioner (my favorite out of all of the Fructis conditioners- it has a reconstructive polymer in it that most of the other ones do not).


on 11/11/2007 3:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sadly, I cannot recommend this product to anyone. It did smell nice and clean my hair. Unfortunately, it dried my hair and my scalp. My hair felt like dry straw and my scalp became so dry that I had to switch over to a dandruff shampoo to help fix the damage.


on 3/31/2007 4:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

it didnt do anything for my hair except making it clean. It smells really good, but it doesn't last. I think it's an ok product, I wouldn't buy it again because I know there are much better ones out there.


Back to Top